Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Summer Oatmeal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Summer Oatmeal

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2003

      Fantastic! I added wheat flakes and some frozen berries as well. I really enjoy it as a dessert and breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2003

      I just tried this for breakfast. It was wonderful!! It wasn't what I expected, but then, I don't know what I quite expected. I like oatmeal but I get tired of the "same old thing" This is delightfully different and it lends itself to endless possibilities - different flavors of yogurt, different spices, etc. Thank you for a great new way to enjoy breakfast. I will be making this a lot more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      I'm loving this. I don't use the cinnamon or nuts, but I think that it would probably taste great with those as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Unexpected and yummy. I made it twice- once using strawberries, once blueberries. I like it using more yogurt than oatmeal. Thanks for a great recipe I would have never thought of myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Fantastic breakfast. I used mixed dried fruit, whole almonds, ground flax, and added more cinnamon. Also, because it was so thick in the morning, I added some 1% milk to make it creamy. Definitely something I will be making again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      Very good - tastes better than it looks. I've made this almost every morning for the past week and a half and really enjoy it. I make just one serving and have used several different flavours of yogurt (love them all so far) and usually use more than 1/4 cup of fruit. Using old fashioned or steel cut oats definetly makes this not too soggy (hubby tried it with instant - not as good). Thanks for posting yogabead

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      This is one of those "I can't believe I didn't think of this!" recipies. I usually cut the recipe by 1/4 right in a container I can take to work. I've been using apples but, now that berries are in season, have some new optons. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      I love the flavors in this, but like a couple of the others I had trouble with the texture. I find that if I let it sit for 30 minutes to an hour, the texture is much better for my tastes. It's also great with a spoonful of fruit preserves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      I loved the creamy texture of this oatmeal. I used my own homemade yogurt which is way less tangy than store bought. Also used 2 diced peach slices, 3 pecan halves chopped and a packet of splenda. A very satisfying, filling and healthy breakfast and one I will make again and again. Made this for one. So easy to put together the night before and have breakfast ready in the morning. I do not see why (other than nutritional value) that instant oatmeal could not be used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      I really like the ease of this. It makes for such a quick and easy breakfast the next morning and doesn't taste bad either! It's a nice change of pace from hot oatmeal and a different flavor sensation altogether. My kids and DH like this, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      I really wanted to like this but I also, couldn't get past the texture. Also, the yogurt's tanginess was too much for me. I tried it heated and it was a little more palatable, but there was still too much yogurt tang for my taste. I think this is one of those taste sensations that people will either love or hate. Thanks, for giving me something new to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      This sounded so good and I so looked forward to eating it. Unfortunately, I couldn't get past the texture either. It reminded me of sawdust mixed with yogurt. I love oatmeal, but I guess I'll have to stick to the cooked variety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      I am eating a bowl of this oatmeal right now. It is so good. It is thick but I kind of like it that way (just a personal preference I guess). I made it as written except I used about 1 1/4 cups of blueberries and 1/4 cup of slivered almonds. Next time I will put in even more fruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      I love this oatmeal! I cut it down to just one serving and I just love that I can make it the night before - with so little effort at that! Much easier than having to make oatmeal the old fashioned way, and I can have breakfast instantly the next day. I tried this with strawberries and it was just great. I can't wait to try this with different fruits, yogurts, nuts and more. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      I really liked this. I made it with plain yogurt and Splenda. I used frozen berries as the fruit. I'll be making it again. Thanks for an easy, make-ahead recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      I was looking for recipes to use up some oatmeal that I had. I am certainly glad I found this one. I used frozen fruit which was a mixture of four different berries. Can't wait to experiment with different fruits. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      Since my two most common breakfasts are oatmeal and yogurt, this was a natural for me. The first time I followed the directions and found it too thick and not very appetizing, but lots of potential. Have since made it with 2 parts yogurt to 1 part oatmeal and really enjoyed it. I can see making this frequently varying the yogurt flavors and fruits. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      I really wanted to love this...I really did. Like Tanya S I used nonfat plain yogurt. I added 3 tbsp. of splenda and about 1/2 tbsp of vanilla to try to make it more like vanilla yogurt. And I used frozen berries (1/2 rasberries 1/2 blueberries). But the texture was really hard for me to cope with. My husband kept saying it looked like spackle. It was so thick that I found that I almost gagged sometimes. I am so sorry. I wanted to love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      Yum! I could give this five stars before I even got it into the fridge. I made a batch of strawberry and a batch of raspberry, with nonfat plain yogurt to make it ww core. It's scrumptious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2004

      Yum! I prefer this oatmeal dish to the traditional! I really enjoyed it and it gave me such energy for the work day! I didn't have fresh fruit, subbed a spoonful of raspberry preserves. Can't wait to try again with maple syrup, brown sugars and raisins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Summer Oatmeal

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 229.8
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    25%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 15.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 58.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fruit

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes