Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Summer Memories: Jumbleberry Crumble With Shortbread Topping Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Summer Memories: Jumbleberry Crumble With Shortbread Topping

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2010

      I made this for a dinner party. Simple as it is, I was quite confident I wouldn't go wrong with a recipe by French Tart even though it was the first time I made it. Big hit!

      I used the minimum amount of sugar for the fruit and bought unsweetened frozen mixed berries. One chain grocery store had only sweetened berries, so I went to another one and got unsweetened ones.

      Our hostess commented that often crumble toppings are either slightly burnt or undercooked, and said this was perfect. Everyone liked the tartness of the berries and not-too-sweet shortbread topping. We served it with vanilla ice cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Yum! I had only strawberries to hand and, with 1.5 tablespoons of soft brown sugar it was lovely. Next time I will make it with even more shortbread topping.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      My husband was looking for a "fruit crisp" from his childhood days (w/o oats) but I deduced it was really a crumble. I halved the recipe using an 8x8 glass baking dish. This is the first time I used my food processor for pastry. Super simple to do and the raw dough even tasted great :). I used a blend of frozen raspberries, blueberries and marionberries. Thanks a bunch French Tart for this wonderful treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Considering how many smoothies I make, I NEVER have left over frozen fruit around, but nevertheless I combined a nice variety here, including blueberries & strawberries (that I'd frozen), along with blackberries & raspberries, then included some FRESH cherries, all for A VERY OUTSTANDING DESSERT that went down very nicely with a bit of frozen vanilla yogurt! Very much a keeper recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed as a special tag just for you, FT, in Every Day Is a Holiday!]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      I love recipes that can be whipped up so easily and quickly and still tastes this great. I didn't have any frozen fruit on hand so I had to go to the store to buy some. I found a frozen berry mix that consisted of strawberries, blackberries, raspberries and blueberries. I topped it off with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Yummy! Thanks for a great recipe, FT. Made for June, 2009 Aussie/NZ Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      Easy and quick! This is a good recipe to have, especially in the winter time when fresh fruit is not readily available. Thank you for sharing!<br/><br/>I had to convert grams to cups as I didn't have a scale to measure. I also doubled the recipe. Here's what I used:<br/>60 ounces frozen fruit<br/>1.9 cups flour<br/>14 tablespoons butter<br/>1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon superfine sugar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Yum! This is very tasty and super easy to throw together, especially using a food processor to make the shortbread topping. I used blueberries, raspberries and blackberries and about 2 T sugar. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      One of our favorite recipes for fruit crumbles (because of the shortbread topping). We live in Portugal 6 months of the year and have had to get used to their flour which is much softer than ours. This is the recipe that works best and never fails. Thanks for a great dessert........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      I used bing cherries for this dish. DH was in 7th heaven after tasting this easy but great classic crumble. The topping was buttery and to die for and one I will make often. Thanks Karen for another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      I have to say for such a simple dish this was very tasty! I made mine with a mix of blueberries and black raspberries. Topped with a dollop of whip cream, I was humming as I was eating which means I am one happy camper! Thank you for sharing this with us French Tart! It is now on my favorite desserts list for the future! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      If there is such a thing as poetic licence with recipes then i took it tonight and FT I hope you don't mind !! I unthawed fruit only to find it was peaches and apple. I added some strawberries and my jumble crumble was done and sooooo delicious. This was the first time I had done a crumble without oats and we just loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      What a delicious dessert! WIth a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the top we licked the plates clean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      We loved this nice and easy crumble,I used a half pkg. of mixed fruit and some frozen cranberries.So 10* or more from our house,loved the topping also will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      FrenchTart I wish I could give 10*'s for this little treasure. This simple little dish was incredible. It was quick and easy to put together and tasted like grandma made it. Incredible shortbread topping, light, crisp, buttery, sweet and tart fruit, in a delicious sauce. I used a combination of frozen fruit, bing cherries, blackberries, raspberries, blueberries and wild strawberries. It was so good. I served it with a scope of French Vanilla Ice Cream. Thank you for sharing a recipe that I will be making again and again. I can't wait for fresh currants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Summer Memories: Jumbleberry Crumble With Shortbread Topping

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 357.7
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    38%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 39.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 131.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 14.7 g
    58%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    frozen fruit

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes