14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for a dinner party. Simple as it is, I was quite confident I wouldn't go wrong with a recipe by French Tart even though it was the first time I made it. Big hit!

I used the minimum amount of sugar for the fruit and bought unsweetened frozen mixed berries. One chain grocery store had only sweetened berries, so I went to another one and got unsweetened ones.

Our hostess commented that often crumble toppings are either slightly burnt or undercooked, and said this was perfect. Everyone liked the tartness of the berries and not-too-sweet shortbread topping. We served it with vanilla ice cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamelad August 31, 2010

Yum! I had only strawberries to hand and, with 1.5 tablespoons of soft brown sugar it was lovely. Next time I will make it with even more shortbread topping.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amena April 23, 2010

My husband was looking for a "fruit crisp" from his childhood days (w/o oats) but I deduced it was really a crumble. I halved the recipe using an 8x8 glass baking dish. This is the first time I used my food processor for pastry. Super simple to do and the raw dough even tasted great :). I used a blend of frozen raspberries, blueberries and marionberries. Thanks a bunch French Tart for this wonderful treat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour August 16, 2009

Considering how many smoothies I make, I NEVER have left over frozen fruit around, but nevertheless I combined a nice variety here, including blueberries & strawberries (that I'd frozen), along with blackberries & raspberries, then included some FRESH cherries, all for A VERY OUTSTANDING DESSERT that went down very nicely with a bit of frozen vanilla yogurt! Very much a keeper recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed as a special tag just for you, FT, in Every Day Is a Holiday!]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 06, 2009

I love recipes that can be whipped up so easily and quickly and still tastes this great. I didn't have any frozen fruit on hand so I had to go to the store to buy some. I found a frozen berry mix that consisted of strawberries, blackberries, raspberries and blueberries. I topped it off with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Yummy! Thanks for a great recipe, FT. Made for June, 2009 Aussie/NZ Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 June 14, 2009

Easy and quick! This is a good recipe to have, especially in the winter time when fresh fruit is not readily available. Thank you for sharing!<br/><br/>I had to convert grams to cups as I didn't have a scale to measure. I also doubled the recipe. Here's what I used:<br/>60 ounces frozen fruit<br/>1.9 cups flour<br/>14 tablespoons butter<br/>1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon superfine sugar

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MerelyMarie July 09, 2013

Yum! This is very tasty and super easy to throw together, especially using a food processor to make the shortbread topping. I used blueberries, raspberries and blackberries and about 2 T sugar. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms March 06, 2011

One of our favorite recipes for fruit crumbles (because of the shortbread topping). We live in Portugal 6 months of the year and have had to get used to their flour which is much softer than ours. This is the recipe that works best and never fails. Thanks for a great dessert........

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 August 24, 2010

I used bing cherries for this dish. DH was in 7th heaven after tasting this easy but great classic crumble. The topping was buttery and to die for and one I will make often. Thanks Karen for another winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SueVM October 04, 2009

I have to say for such a simple dish this was very tasty! I made mine with a mix of blueberries and black raspberries. Topped with a dollop of whip cream, I was humming as I was eating which means I am one happy camper! Thank you for sharing this with us French Tart! It is now on my favorite desserts list for the future! Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen September 04, 2009
Summer Memories: Jumbleberry Crumble With Shortbread Topping