16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum, I loved this salad! I used less dressing than called for though (about half as much), and it was more than enough I thought. The bacon and shredded cheese pairs perfectly with the sweet dressing. I don't usually like American creamy salads like this one, but this recipe won me over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer July 09, 2013

Yum! Even my husband liked it...that's asking alot since he's usually not a fan of any creamy type salads. Definitely will make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xinawood July 24, 2009

I remember my mother making this recipe when I was kid. With the farmer's markets bursting with broccoli this is the only way that my kids currently want to eat it! Thanks for the stroll down memory lane and this time I can walk it with my kids enjoy every crunch of the fresh broccoli!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
It's Good to be Queen! July 29, 2008

this is one of my favorite ways to eat broccoli. i used frozen broccoli and steamed it and the onions, then cooled them. not a light salad, but great comfort food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gourmetmomma August 23, 2007

Although I did not try this myself, I had a picnic and several people asked for the recipe, so, to me, that is a hit! I used microwave bacon to save time, and I think that I preferred it since it kept the grease down. Thanks for a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tkclark624 July 01, 2007

I am of the opinion that anything tastes good when you add cheese and bacon to it, so naturally I found this delicious :) I'll probably be making this again, but not too often for the sake of my waistline...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryMama October 10, 2006

Wow! This was so good, even my kids ate it! I only used 1 Tbsp of sugar and mayo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassyt May 29, 2006

I love this salad! It's amazing for barbeques and pot-lucks. I also like to add raisins to mine. This is a summer-must!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarylandersKnowCrabs April 25, 2006

Very good -- I've had this before but couldn't remember all of the ingredients. It was a bit sweet for me though, I'll cut the sugar in 1/2 next time, or just use Miracle Whip. Also, I added sunflower seeds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlnjz April 19, 2006

Oh my goodness, this was so good. It has been several months since I tried this but I can remember that awesome flavor so well!! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Mama December 13, 2005
Summer Broccoli Salad