Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sumi Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sumi Salad

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2002

      This salad was so easy and inexpensive to make. I needed something quick to make for a small get together and this salad was perfect. Everyone loved it, I will definetly be making this salad for family picnics this year. It is a sure win!!! S.Jones

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2002

      Oh, did we ever love this salad!! This is so easy to make. The crunchy ramen noodles and almonds are teriffic. The dressing is out of this world!! I used canola oil in the dressing. This is very good, thanks Tara!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      Tara, what an interesting looking recipe, and what a great tasting dish!! I made this for our church picnic. Made it on Saturday afternoon, and it was so eash to put together. I made it exactly as you said, and it tasted wonderful. DH was my second taster, and he agreed. I had a few cashews I needed to use up, so I tossed those in too. My big bowl came home empty. Nary an sesamee seed left!! Thanks for sharing this recipe with Zaar Land! Ann

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2002

      I thoroughly enjoyed this salad, a very unique taste. It's one of those rare recipes that receives many compliments, you know the kind I'm talking about!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2002

      I was disappointed to see that the Accent Seasoning was MSG...no thanks - did the salad without it... also for the salad oil DO NOT USE Olive oil... I actually have this recipe from a friend and it did specify that - thought folks should know before they whip it up...this is a quick and easy recipe that taste good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2002

      This coleslaw made an interesting addition to my Canada Day bbq buffet dinner. I quite enjoyed it, but it received mixed reviews from my dinner guests (all family, with fairly conservative tastes). My only complaint was that it was too salty for me; next time I will cut back on the seasoning salt (and try it out on a different crowd LOL). I loved the nuts and sesame seeds. It was very easy to prepare, but do make sure you completely break up the ramen noodles; any chunks won't soften properly. I made this 24 hours ahead -- checked it in the morning and had to break up some chunks that I thought had been small enough but weren't -- and it was the perfect texture and consistency at dinner time. Thanks for this recipe; I'll definitely try it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      exceptional....it's served daily at the local sushi buffets Thank you...!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      My friend Catalina gave me a similar recipe years ago and I've loved it since. Couldn't find it tonight so I searched for something similar and found this one - the only changes I made were Albertson's Angel hair cabbage (for some reason this tastes best to me), 8 tablespoons sugar instead of 4 and 8 tablespoons rice wine vinegar / seasoned or plain - doesn't really matter, whatever you have on hand. I toast the almonds and sesame seeds in a pan but don't take your eyes off 'em so you don't burn 'em - I suppose it doesn't matter, oven or pan as long as you toast 'em, the flavor is worth the hassle. You can find large size containers of sesame seeds (sometimes you can find toasted but its much nicer when you toast them yourself) at Smart & Final. Henry's has large bags of slivered almonds that are pretty inexpensive as well. Love this salad. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      My husband loved it!!! So easy to make and so good! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      Very, very good. My whole family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      This was quite the popular item when I served it. I used 2 pkgs of broccoli slaw and 1 of coleslaw. I doubled the dressing ingredients. I will DEFINITELY lessen the amount of oil next time as I felt it was just a little too oily. I doubled the dressing ingredients and used 4 pkgs of noodles ( I would use 3 next time). I took out 2T. of the oil and subbed sesame oil for that. And used only 1T of accent and added 2T of lite soy sauce for a more asian taste along with the sesame oil. It was really loved by all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2006

      Thanks for answering my post in the Recipe Request Forum, Dancing Cook! I made two batches of this for my son to take on a three day sports trip. I used broccoli slaw to slow down its wilting. I toasted my nuts, noodles first, omitted the Accent, and added dried cranberries for color. I think the kids will love it! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2004

      Love this salad! I made it for a party, and everyone loved it. I used 3 packages of crushed ramen noodles, reduced the oil to 3/4 cup, substituted 2 packets of the noodle flavoring for the Accent, & added about 1/4 cup roasted/salted sunflower nuts. Next time I may add a handful of raisins for a little extra sweetness. This recipe does make a lot ... and luckily I have some leftovers to take to work for my lunches next week - may add some cooked chicken breast to make it a meal. Will make this again; thanks for posting! -M :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2004

      Comment: I've seen a variation for this recipe that suggests toasting the broken noodles in the oven along with the sliced almonds and sesame seeds. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2004

      Terrific recipe. I actually have made this before (an ex-bf's mom gave me the recipe) and I always LOVED it. A few changes: I didn't have any Accent seasoning so I used the flavoring packets from the Ramen. Also, I used broccoli cole slaw instead of cabbage cole slaw. Just a little different--and as someone else said, NO OLIVE OIL! That would ruin the taste. Also, I don't really like the noodles to be TOTALLY mushy, so I made this about 6 hours ahead. Everyone loved it!! Thanks for reminding me of this recipe, Tara!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      I love this salad! I didn't have Accent, so went without it. Love the toasted seeds. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sumi Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (48 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 308.8
     
    Calories from Fat 207
    67%
    Total Fat 23.0 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 612.9 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    packaged coleslaw mix

    Accent seasoning

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites