12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really liked this recipe but felt it was missing something - it tasted a little flat to me. Ate 1/2 and the other 1/2 are in the freezer, waiting for the next busy day. Will make again but will play with it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen June 20, 2010

this is closer to real sukiyaki than many of the recipes here but it definitely needed the mirin that I added plus a dash of sesame oil. I used beef broth instead of the water and added minced garlic. I used some firm tofu and yam noodles. Very enjoyable. Thanks for posting. Ivy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ivy Food Sleuth July 13, 2010

Excellent. I substituted brown sugar & used about 1/4c of rice vinegar & cooking wine. Skipped the water chestnuts & used sweet red pepper instead. One of my favorite Japanese dishes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MiaSumitra May 18, 2010

We enjoyed this. I would add more vegetables next time, maybe broccoli and peppers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenEyesCO October 25, 2008

Just wonderful! I made this for dinner tonight and am full up! I had to sadly not include the bean sprouts because I didn't have any time to get them, but this recipe was just great. My whole family really enjoyed it (Which is hard to come by..) and I'm sure I will make this again. I also gave some to my boyfriend who has been kind of sick lately and it really cheered him up ^^. Thanks so much for posting this. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The hockey lady July 22, 2008

Great recipe! I use canned mushrooms (personal preference) and omitted the bean sprouts. Good stirfry recipe. I did increase the garlic a lot and added some rice vinegar, again personal preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tinkmommy March 19, 2008

This is a wonderfully versatile recipe. I used the vegetables that I wanted to use up, and the cut of beef can actually be of anything that you want to use. If there is one thing that I did different, it was the addition of a little mirin, just to make this more authentic. Very nice. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids January 16, 2008

Excellent. I used just under 1 pound of beef and had to sub some of the veggies. I also used extra garlic and used cooking spray rather than butter or oil at the beginning. But this turned out flavorful and it's great that it doesn't use any less common ingredients. I served this with noodles (left over from another slightly Asian-flavored recipe) rather than rice and we really enjoyed it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith C-ville January 09, 2008

The smell of this as it was cooking was enough to give it 5 stars. When I told my roommate that it came from a butter website, he was convinced I was trying to kill him, because it was "14 sticks of butter" good! :) I am so glad I stashed some in the freezer . . .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout December 23, 2007

This was really quite good and easy to make. We found the sauce a little bit bland so I think I will increase the garlic and maybe add some pepper or Chinese Five Spice next time. I also increased the cornstarch and water at the end to make the sauce a little thicker. It was awesome though and did freeze well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyaos October 16, 2006
Sukiyaki Big Bowls