Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sugared Jalapenos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sugared Jalapenos

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2010

      Loved these!!! I reduced the recipe, to a smaller jar (9 oz.) and the sugar, accordingly. After faithfully and dutifully shaking the jar for 5 days, I was rewarded with these green gems, glistening brightly, just calling for the cream cheese and crackers! I obliged! :) The sweet from the peppers is wonderful against the cream cheese, with the hint of the heat, at the end. I think that I'll be making these to include in the gift baskets I make for my friends around the holidays! Thanks so much for sharing, breezermom!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      Well, this was a bit of a treat. A friend and I got to talking, and I mentioned this recipe to her, and ended up making it. I used a small can of slivered jalapenos that were labeled "hot" marinated. They've actually been sitting around for about a week in the sugar. Just pulled some out with whipped cream cheese and crackers -really a nice treat. They are still quite not, but the sweet/hot taste works well with the cream cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      Finally, after waiting 5 long days, my jalapenos were ready for tasting. I have to admit that I might have tasted one or two along the way - hope that was not too much of a sin. They certainly do have a after-bite, but it is addicting. Can't wait to serve these with some cream cheese. I plan to keep a jar handy at all times. Thanks for the post! Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2011

      Really good jalpenos.Good in a bowl of ham and beans or with cream cheese and crackers or even by them selfs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      wonderful recipe. I was finally able to find a jar of jalapenos but a smaller jar probably 9 oz. I used only 1/2 cup of sugar with it. The first time I tasted it, I found it sweet but then the spicy taste of the jalapeno came through. It's so yummy. Sweet and spicy. Thanks Breezermom :) Made for PRMR tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      This is a great recipe. I've been doing this for a couple of years. It also makes a great relish if you process or grind the peppers in a food processor and return them to the jar. Great with cream cheese on a cracker. Thanks for posting !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Excellent little tasty nibbles of heat! We just loved these. I made a small jar to start off with (just in case) I didn't want to ruin my big 32oz jar of jalapeno peppers. The steps of equal amount are perfect. I used a small mayonnaise jar and alternated 1/4 cup of peppers and sugar for a total of 1/2 cup each. Well....during the shaking time I found the the sugar really liked to hang out at the bottom of the jar. So being the wimp I am I took a spoon to help mix it. By day 5 I washed the spoon :) (just kidding). DH and I took a test taste of the sugar vs the non sugar peppers. We found the non sugar had a lot more saltiness to them. My photo shows one lonely non sugar pepper with the delicious sugared ones. I served them on leftover Sweet and Smoky Barbecue Beans. YUM! Thanks for posting and these little guys are going in my best of 2010 cookbook. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      This is so wonderfully easy! I absolutely love this recipe. Thanks so much breezermom, for this definite keeper recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      My mouth, my mouth.....wants more! Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Oh yeah! I'm lovin' these peppers. Made a small, 'test' batch. They were at 5 days on Friday, so I've spent the weekend making random trips to the fridge to nibble on them all by themselves. Last night I served them as a topping for grilled steak. Love the sweetness just before the spicy bite of the hot jalapenos I used. They remind me just a little of 'pepper jelly'....I'm looking forward to having them as a snack with crackers and cream cheese. Thanks for a wonderful post. These are going to make a great addition to my holiday gift baskets this year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      easy, delicious and used on burgers and soft tacos!! update: making my second jar today. Forgot to mention i used a small jar, and it worked just as well as the large.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Oh yeah....these are FANTASTIC! Just love the combo of sweet and spicy, and so easy to make. Love'em on burgers with Swiss cheese and pineapple, and on crackers with cream cheese. Thanks for sharing this winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      These are such a treat if you like spicy & sweet. Very easy to make & can be used in many places. One of my favorites is with a smear of cream cheese on a wasa crisp. They are terrific on a relish tray too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      I used to make Cowboy Candy all the time but now I make these instead. They are so much easier! We have some in the fridge at all times to put on everything from eggs to nachos to burgers. We even use Splenda and it turns out great! Thanks for the recipe and saving me so much "slicing and cooking" time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sugared Jalapenos

    Serving Size: 1 (68 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    86%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 20.7 g
    83%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes