Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sugared Asparagus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sugared Asparagus

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2002

      Very tasty! I used chicken stock and only had a small bunch of asparagus, but it worked fine. Love the sweet sauce and poured that over the baked chicken we had as well as the asparagus. Will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      Debster, this is really good. I love asparagus, but I'm not a tender crisp person I like my veggies mushy (OK I'm different) but still wonderful. Love the brown sugar. I must tell you this story. My husband will not eat anything green except green beans. He went to a dart tournament so I left supper on the stove for when he got home. Next day, he said honey the green beans were wonderful but a little soggy. He ate the rest of the pan (which was quite a bit). I got up the next day noticed the entire pan was empty, asked him did you eat all this, YES. I had to tell him it wasn't green beans but your asparagus! LOL. He won't eat it now but he sure did then (I'm pretty sure alcohol was involved ). Love this recipe thanks! -- Nina

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Wow! Very good! The sugar gives the asparagus a slight sweetness that makes it excellent! My boyfriend doesn't usually like sweet with veggies but he also enjoyed it very much! We will be having again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      This was quite good! The asparagus cooked very nicely! And, the sauce was flavourful. The sweetness was a bit overwhelming - maybe I'll try it with a little less next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Asparagus is my favorite veggie and this recipe is different from anything else I have tried. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth and my asparagus was very thick and I only needed to cook it for about 5 minutes. I think 8-10 minutes is way too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      Great recipe. Easy to prepare. One of my favorite ways to cook asparagus now! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Nice way to serve asparagus. My asparagus was quite thick, but was still overcooked in 8 minutes. Other than that, it was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      This recipe is nothing short of amazing! Great taste, easy to make, and I was surprised that the asparagus did not taste overly sweet. Perfect! I raved about it to my mom and aunt so much they asked me to forward this to them . . . they're both so fussy and set in their ways . . . that in itself is high praise. Thanks so much for posting this recipe, Deb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      I thought this was so good. I don't have much of a sweet tooth and was hoping the sugar wouldn't spoil perfectly good asparagus and it didn't. The sauce was just right. I would cook the asparagus a bit less than 8 minutes as mine did end up a little less crisp than I like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      This has become one of our regular side dishes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      This was just OK. The sugar, in my opinion, ruined the fresh delicious taste of the asparagus. It's such a great flavor on its own. This might be great if you don't like the asparagus that much to start. If you love it, you might not be as happy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      I did everyting as the recipie suggested but I threw in some toasted sliced almonds just before pouring the sauce over the veggies and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      I'm used to just steaming asparagus until it's tender. This was a real change and I'll never just steam it again!! Didn't have any broth on hand so used two bullion cubes in a cup of water. Made with white asparagus. YUM!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      This was the first recipe that got my kids to eat asparagus. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      I must admit that I haven't tried this yet, but am cooking another Asparagus recipe this evening. This sounds soo yummy, and as Asparagus is so healthy, and in season, I will be making this in a few days:) Just sounds mouth watering:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      Haven't had asparagus in a while, but I'm pretty sure this is the best way I've had it in a long time! The earthiness of the asparagus wasn't at all overpowered by the sauce. Very nice recipe! I did tweak it though, I did not cook it for nearly 8 minutes, and I cooked the stems first then added the tops at the last minute. I like a little bit of crunch in my veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      This was a huge hit with my family. Very simple to make and the sauce works well with other vegetables. This Easter I substituted the asparagus for carrots and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      This was perfect..served with "applebee's honey salmon..everyone loved it..Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      Nice change from plain old steamed. I used homemade chicken stock. Just the right amount of sweetness, :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2005

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sugared Asparagus

    Serving Size: 1 (204 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.4
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    52%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 22.9 mg
    7%
    Sodium 259.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    19%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes