Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sugar Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sugar Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2009

      My Grandmother used to make this all the time when I was a kid! Thanks for posting. I forgot all about it. Brings back nice memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      OH MY GOSH.....My Grandmother taught me how to make this when I was really little....Then when my Mother asked where I learned how to make them Grandma Violet denied it! Thanks for bringing back a flood of memories from Grandma's kitchen! P.S. Have you ever tried a mayonnaise sandwich? Same concept, soft white bread with just mayo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      Oh, so this is a universal recipe. My grandmother, who I call Lola, made me these too. I think she made them out of convenience because the ingredients were always on hand and I was told I loved sugar when I was a kid. It's a great comfort food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      My closest aunt ( 2 years older than me) taught me to make this on a warm tortilla with a touch of cinnamon when I was 5! Great memories. I make it for my nieces and nephews now!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      I remember these from when I was younger. We used brown sugar. A great treat when you just need a little something sweet .

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      I love sugar sandwiches-they bring back fond childhood memories. I only started having them with butter only recently. My mom grew up in India, and they used to eat sugar sandwiches with ghee and castor sugar. So all of these years, I have been eating them with ghee! Anything goes and it all tastes great-thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      I had forgotten about these. Mom use to toast the bread in the oven and then apply the butter and sugar. Yum........

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      My mom made these when I was young, the best part it was made with home churned butter from my neighbors charlois cattle, we had a dairy, but the beef cattle made the best butter. Thankyou for bringing back some old memories.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      My mom use to make these for us all the time when I was a kid. She used softened butter. They are simple but heavenly! I wish my daughter would take a bite of one of these sandwiches, but she wont touch the stuff! For some reason she doesnt like anything sweet. Great anytime snack!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      Just as I used to eat when I was a kid. I forgot about them somehow. Can't wait to surprise my son with one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      This really brought back memories! My mom didn't let us have this very often (we used butter), but when she did I savored every bite! This is one of those recipes that horrify today's parents, but as kids we thoroughly enjoyed them without getting hyperactive, or overweight, or malnourished. Oh, for the good old days! I made this "healthy" by eating it on wheat bread. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      I haven't thought about sugar sandwiches in a million years! My father's mother used to make these for us when we were kids. I remember loving the salty-sweet combination, and the gritty sugar with the smooth margarine. I think I'll go have a snack right now...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      My mother used to fix these, occasionally, when I was much younger. She used the wonderful white bread that she made, with margarine & brown sugar, and sprinkled it with a wee bit of evaporated milk. They were good and did the trick if you had a sweet tooth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      This recipe brought back great memories from my youth, as my Dad use to make these for me. Any type of white bread works, however the only bread I had in the house was cinnamon swirl. I lathered on salted butter and the sugar as specified and it was as delicious as I remembered. In addition when shooting the photos, I showed them as open face sandwiches, and that is how I ate them as well. Made for Help A Naked Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      Try toasting the bread first, it is fantastic!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      I'm so happy to see this posted. It has been 50 years since I have tasted this treat. We always had this with butter, brown sugar and white bread. The best "comfort food" dessert a child can have. Try it, you'll like it, Kendra Jean

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      my mom woild do these on a flour tortila when we had leftover one oneo f my favs as a kid and still do it every once in a wile

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      This brings me back to when I was a small child...our neighbor used to make these sandwiches that I kept telling my mom I wished she would make for me...come to find out it was lard spread on a piece of bread then sprinkled with sugar...needless to say my mother did not want me eating them any more....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      When dining out w/ my grandparents when I was a little girl they always let me make these only w/ the saltine crackers and butter pats that were on the table at the mexican food cafe we went to in South Texas. I would spread the butter, pour on sugar and eat it ! I recently went back to the same cafe they used to take me to- nothing had changed and I immediatley thought about these. I know it is not a healthy snack- but I know when I have grandkids I will sneak them one every now and then ! Thanks for posting !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sugar Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (33 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 116.5
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    35%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 172.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites