Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sugar Grilled Asparagus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sugar Grilled Asparagus

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2007

      Delicious! What a great way to eat asparagus. The flavor was fantastic. I didn't even use the orange zest. I used an indoor grill pan and it worked just fine. I would suggest buying the bigger asparagus stalks so you don't burn these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      Amazing! I absolutely loved it and may have a new way to make asparagus for now on. I didn't add the zest but I can see how it would be great too. Thinking maybe some balsamic or a little heat next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

    • on June 19, 2008

      This recipe is fantastic. I used splenda for baking instead of sugar and it worked just fine. I also used lemon zest instead of orange. I plan on making this for my 4th of July cookout. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      WOW! Flavor sensation! I just bought some baby tender asparagus and was going to boil it up. Then I remembered this receipe! I cut the cook time in half, for these tender young spears and waited for the carmelization. Thank you wicked noodle for a fine recipe that will be used over and over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Asparagus is my favorite veggie and this was a great new twist. Instead of orange zest, I used lemon, but I will try it again with the orange.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      Perfect!! I usually roast my asaparagus but did not want to turn on the oven. I had seen Rory make this...she deserved to win!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      I had to improvise a bit with these. I can't believe I was out of sugar, but that's what happens with 2 teenage boys in the house that drink a gallon of Kool-Aid a day. Anyway, after a thorough dousing of olive oil, I used turbinado sugar and Maldon sea salt. The asparagus was actually done in 3-4 minutes, not 10. Perhaps our spears were thinner than the ones for the recipe. I must say there are distinguishable flavor waves in this dish that I was not expecting. First is the earthiness of the asparagus itself, combine with a slight smokiness from the grill. Then the sweetness of the sugar coats your tongue, and finally the aroma and flavor of the orange zest refreshes your palate so that you may start the process over again with a new bite. I wouldn't want to eat asparagus this way every time, but it certainly was a pleasant change of pace.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      I loved this!!! Mine only took a few minutes, cuz my asparagus was pencil-thin. Next time I won't use the zest...I don't think it needed it!! Also, I didn't measure anything...just eyeballed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sugar Grilled Asparagus

    Serving Size: 1 (213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 323.3
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    51%
    Total Fat 18.3 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 604.4 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 35.3 g
    141%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes