20 Reviews

I manually calculated the calories on this recipe as is and I came up with 184 calories and 19 carbs for 1/8 of pie (1 piece). I think recipezaar is not counting the pie shell correctly (A Philsbury deep dish shell is 90 calories & 11 carbs per 1/8th pie). Without the crust I came up with 94 calories and 8 carbs. I made it a little healthier by using 2% evaporate milk and egg beaters. That saved 32 calories (but it made no difference in carbs).

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nightfall20252 November 29, 2009

My family liked this better than the recipe on the back of the Libby pumpkin can, our standby forever. The first time I made it with the Splenda. The next time I substituted a squirt of liquid stevia for 1/2 of the Splenda since Stevia is better for my blood sugars than Splenda. Next time, I will use all Stevia. What a great recipe! Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mareee December 27, 2008

AWESOME! I have sugar issues and this was my first sf pumpkin pie. It was great! I took another reviewer's advice and prebaked my pie shell for about 10 minutes. Using my grandmother's trick, I used 1/2 C Splenda white and 1/4 C Splenda brown - not too sweet at all. I used both some nutmeg and cloves - just personal preferance. Highly recommend!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TransplantedHusker November 27, 2008

myfamily didn't know this was sugar free until I gave them the news.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shemarienp November 03, 2008

You couldn't tell this is sugar free and I don't like splenda! This was also incredibly easy. Thanks for helping make it a real thanksgiving for my diabetic family members.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy November 29, 2009

I made this pie and took it to my friends for Thanksgiving. I increased the spices, I admit, personal preference. My friends, who are also diabetic, kept asking in disbelief "are you sure this is sugar free?" Thank you very much!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J Kay December 24, 2008

This was a HUGE hit at the Christmas party and NO ONE knew it was Sugar free! My son and I are newly diagnosed diabetics and were happy happy happy we could have this!!!! I also left out the cloves and added nutmeg instead and a wee bit of vanilla. Huge hit!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gr8friends December 26, 2007

This recipe has way too much Splenda. I made it and had to pour it out. I might try it later and use less Splends

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
salwest July 01, 2008

My husband was feeling denied this Thanksgiving and wanted a pumpkin pie he could enjoy guilt-free. I made this recipe with the understanding that he would break in to the sugar-full pie if he didn't like the sugar-free version. He loved it and has announced that I need to make it all of the time. I followed the recipe exactly - adding only some decorative leaves to the top of the pie after the first 15 minutes of baking. Thanks for the excellent recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustFood November 23, 2007

I give this recipe a ZERO star rating for being a sugar free desert. Splenda is Sucralose, just another form of sugar. Factual studies have shown it does not decrease hunger nor keep blood sugar steady. Stevia may be a better choice, however stevia keeps active, ones cravings for sweetness. Aside from that ingredient in this recipe, there is evaporated milk, which contains Cane Sugar which is in fact SUGAR. In searching for a truly sugar free pumpkin pie recipe, I am highly disappointed in this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy V. August 16, 2015
Sugar Free Pumpkin Pie