17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! I had only 2 very ripe bananas so I used them and cut the oats to 1 1/2 cups and only used 1/4 cup corn oil. Sprinkled with cinnamon and popped them into the oven. The look more like drops or mounds than cookies since they didn't flatten out like cookies do. My kids loved them but I had to stop them from eating more because I am bringing these to a friend's house tonight! Thanks for a great (and healthy) recipe that was so easy and quick to make!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala October 13, 2005

I absolutely loved these. Not only were they quick and easy, they tasted amazing. I have a fibromyalgia (so no sugar or potatoes), I also have celiac disease and a bunch of other food allergies (restrictions) so this was a great recipe for me. Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
G00DEating March 27, 2013

Fantastic! I made these for my sister, who is diabetic, and was thrilled that I loved them too. Thanks for a delicious and very easy-to-make recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stormee February 13, 2012

These were very good. I'm on a gluten free, wheat free, sugar free lifestyle diet. So this fit the bill perfectly. The bananas have their own natural sweetness to these cookies. The only thing I did differently was add a pinch of cinnamon and subbed the rasins for crasins. Next time I will omit the crasins all together, otherwise I think these are a good light cookie without the guilt. Awesome post!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrissyVas80 December 29, 2011

Without modifications, this recipe is a 3 or a 4: something I might make again if I needed to use the same ingredients (4), maybe (3). Plain, it tastes like it needs a pinch of salt, maybe something else. However, I nudged it upwards because it uses so few ingredients (and uses up bananas that the Toddler doesn't eat in time since he goes through food phases!) and because it's so amenable to changes that I know I will make it again and again. My additions: 1 tsp ground cinnamon (I love cinnamon), 1/4 tsp ground cloves, a very scant 1/2 cup chocolate chips (yum, yum!), and 1/2 cup sliced almonds coarsely crushed. I made these in silicone muffin cups (18), and since I added more dry ingredients, I had to press down REALLY HARD to get them to hold together (as I expected). I love oats in cookies, too! With my sweet tooth always trying to get the better of my waistline, this is a keeper! Fast to make, 5 common ingredients, sweet enough to be a tasty dessert WITHOUT REFINED SUGAR, quick to bake, easy to vary it up: my favorite kind of recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nethope December 27, 2008

I have been on a kick with trying to find lighter desserts for the kids to enjoy, and this one was perfect. I subbed 1/2 cup applesauce for the oil and Craisins for the raisins. I then made half sprinkled with cinnamon and the other half with a small dollop of peanut butter on top. They're nothing special, but my 2-year-old went crazy for them! I'll definitely be making them often. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Cook/Hate2Clean:) March 04, 2008

This recipe is amazing. It's the best sugarless cookie recipe I have ever made. I used coconut oil instead of veg oil and it was great. I actually added a touch less then the recipe called for and a bit less raisins which was perfect for us! Would recommend to anyone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
genevievegingrich April 21, 2015

Love this! Easy, and yummy! My kids loved helping too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjm2love3 January 28, 2013

I modified this recipe and the result was terrific, and my 3 year old snarfed up several. I added a little bit of molasses, perhaps a tsp or two, and added cinnamon, but omitted the raisins. I was hoping to make these into bars instead of drop cookies, so I added some Bisquick to thicken the batter. I didn't measure, but looked like about a half cup or so. Then I poured the batter into my "Perfect Brownie" bakeware and cooked for the same time/temp to start, which was still correct for my version. Came out like a hybrid between a banana-oat muffin and cookie as far as consistency, just the right amount of light sweetness and spice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GestalCasey September 03, 2011

This was very tasty and very easy to make. I followed the recipe only adding a tiny pinch of salt (due to what the other reviews said) and changing the baking time for my oven.

They didn't last the night. I will so make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mizgrimalkin August 24, 2011
Sugar-Free Oatmeal Banana Raisin Cookies