9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made the cheesecake as written with the one change of arrowroot flour for the cornstarch as both are starches. With the type of stevia she says to use in the recipe, the 1/4 teaspoon is perfect. There are many types of stevia and each is very different. This is the pure white powder that you would probably have to find at a natural foods store, not the other version that's mixed with FOS or another sugar. (Truvia, in the Raw, etc.) She said to taste it at one point and we did. For an orange flavor instead of lime (not a favorite here), I added fresh squeezed orange juice (2 T) and zest (1 tsp). Next time I'll use a little more zest. I also made the crust from brownies that came out too crunchy (new recipe) and just mixed the crushed brownies with a little melted butter. I think that next time I'll put a pan of water in the oven with the cheesecake to try to prevent the cracking in the top that occurred with this one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enjoyingglutenfreelife December 11, 2012

The recipe is correct if using liquid stevia. When using something like Stevia in the Raw or another dry stevia, use it as you would sugar - probably 1/4 - 1/2 cup. Hope this helps eliminate confusion!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BelovedRooster November 08, 2012

I made this for my friend who is pregnant with triplets and has gestational diabetes. She loves cheesecake but is on a very strict sugar free diet. It was a huge hit. Everybody loved it. I did have to use splenda because I could not find stevia and I used alot more than 1/4 tsp. I probably used almost 1/2 cup but I like a sweeter cheesecake. I toped it with chopped strawberries, peaches and blueberries that I mixed with a little splenda and about 2tbs of instant sugar free vanilla pudding powder mix. My favorite part was the crust. I think I will use this crust from now on with any cheesecake I make. Wonderful recipe! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3Enchiladas April 06, 2008

This cheese cakevwas amazing, creamy and so fullbof flavor. For those who think the stevia amount is incorrect, it is not, they are using the pure stevia which you can find at local health foid store and even some big box grocery chains. I cooked mine in ramkins which were placed in a water bath. I put nuts in the bottom only, no butter or flour. I would bake these again at a lower temp to help eliminate cracking, perhaps 275. Thank you so much for this yummy cheesecake and for bringing back my favorite dessert which I have not had for a very long time :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 11, 2015

Made this yesterday and it was fantastic! I used 1/3 C Truvia baking blend because my family detects any full on sweeteners. I cluding other ingredients this brought the sugar content of the entire cake to 42 grams. I baked mine on 300 for 45 minutes, turned it off and opened the oven for 5 minutes and then closed it and kept the cake in there another 45 to slowly cool down. I love this recipe! Thanks for posting it. Nice no dealing with the water bath.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 06, 2015

I am new to baking with stevia and I had high hopes for this recipe. I was slightly let down. The crust was great but the filling was a bit off. The texture was crumbly not smooth; even the color of the cheese cake was different (more white). I will make this again but will play around with the ingredients in hopes of a better result. I did use three whole eggs but this even seems like not enough eggs when comparing to other cheesecake recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amarmstrong May 05, 2013

This came out really well. I used stevialite, about two or three teaspoons, but I may try the liquid stevia next time because the stevialite had a little bit of an aftertaste. I didn't make the crust, I just laid pecans on the bottom of the pan and they served as a crust. Just laziness on my part but it worked out fine. I added a sour cream topping after the cheesecake had cooled overnight. Just mix sour cream and splenda/stevia/etc. to taste. Five stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bondem777 March 11, 2013

There is definitely a misprint in this recipe. Maybe the amount of stevia should be 1/4 cup, not 1/4 tsp. I tried this recipe tonight including the lime. The cheesecake was absolutely beautiful and completely inedible. I'll try it again another time. A similar recipe called for 20 packets of stevia, so I'll try that quantity next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kegaket1 October 21, 2012

Its very good, but i have NuStevia, which I should've added more of.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
matttm July 03, 2011
Sugar Free New York Style Cheesecake (Stevia)