16 Reviews

I reduced the cider vinegar by half and used 1 tablespoon of stevia instead of splenda and it worked out perfectly.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xrayeyes_4u January 17, 2010

I have been making this recipe since I bought the cookbook 2 years ago, & now I don't like store-bought ketchup at all. I follow the recipe exactly, except I simmer all the ingredients in a saucepan for about 5 minutes - seems to blend the flavors better. It keeps for a long time in the refrigerator. Fantastic on Boca cheeseburgers.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bevhouse January 15, 2010

This was wonderful!!!! We used stevia instead of splenda and less vinegar. I used Bragg's apple cider vinegar which was a bit overwhelming at first but after a day in the frig it was fine. The spice/flavor was much stronger than regular ketchup but that's because its not so watered down! You end up using a lot less so much more economical & time savy! Thanks so much for this one!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious July 29, 2010

This is delicious! I did substitue Splenda brown sugar instead of the regular Splenda and added another 6 ounces of tomato paste. The cider vinegar was a little too much. Next time I will just use 1/3 cup cider vinegar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcmin January 01, 2010

This is the best sugar free ketchup recipe I've found so far, I used the full amount of water and slightly less splenda though I did add in a bit of sugar free maple syrup (less than 2 tsp) which worked out well. The consistency was near exactly the same of the hienz ketchup i buy. Also left out the cloves and allspice which was fine. I started by barely mincing my onions though which meant a little extra blending but since I did it in the food processor it only took 5 minutes anyway.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coffmanj August 18, 2009

Wow.. I just made my very own ketchup! I'm still amazed at how easy it is to make ketchup. After reading some of the reviews, I changed the amounts slightly. I used less water and sugar overall. (Okay, I used brown sugar. I'm just not a Splenda person) I'd probably cut down the water even more, maybe use half the amount, as I found it a little thinner than I'd like. I didn't want to break out my blender either, so I used 1 tsp onion powder and 1 tsp garlic powder instead, and just whisked it all together. This was sooo tasty and I can't wait to experiment and add other flavours as well. I don't want to buy ketchup ever again now! Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu November 09, 2008

Very easy and tastes great. I used agave instead of a fake sugar chemical. Loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diane October 20, 2008

Excellent recipe, great flavor. I used 1/3 cup of erythritol instead of Splenda. It was not quite as thick as I like, so next time I'll just decrease the amount of water. Otherwise, this recipe is outstanding. Marcia in Massachusetts

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mperry48 August 02, 2007

I just made this, and was searching to see if it was on here to post it. So even though I didn't get the recipe from Zaar I thought I would post a review. I haven't really used it yet, just tasted it after it was made. I like it very much, but found it a bit vinegary...I'm hoping it will mellow a bit on keeping.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patchwork Dragon April 09, 2007

A really good tasting catsup without the cooking. I made Sloppy Chicken yesterday and I was out of my catsup so whipped up Chia's and it made just the 2 cups the recipe called for. Great flavor and an easy recipe. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando January 30, 2006
Sugar Free Ketchup