50 Reviews

I noticed that there were no measurements for the "packets" of gelatin and kool-aid, so I was a little wary of trying this out. I used 7g packets for the unflavored and 2 0.6oz (17g) packets of flavored, a 7"x11" glass dish. I did not use any kool-aid since I did not have any. They were pleasantly tangy without it, so no harm there. Worked wonderfully. My dad is a diabetic low-carber, and I am on a low calorie diet, so this was a great crowd pleaser. They weren't "gummy" but a very very tough jello, kind of melting in your mouth. Keep refrigerated.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi Panda August 17, 2010

OMG these are great!!! I used 4.5 tsp of sugar free pectin for fruit jams/jellies instead of sugar free gelatin and it worked like a charm! They held together well & were very flavorful. I'll definitely be making these again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef amfox December 01, 2009

Very good little wormy jello jigglers. I mixed it up with strawberry and lime, and boy was the lime sour. I used my pizza cutter to zip through them. My kids loved them. I mixed all the dry stuff before adding the water, just to make it easier. Made and Reviewed for Diabetic Awareness tag - Thanks! :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ November 21, 2008

These are SO good! I made them using orange kool ade and jell-o. The only thing I might suggest would be that you mix all the dry ingredients together before pouring it in the boiling water. I highly recommend this recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NetteGail February 02, 2004

I put the liquid into candy moulds using a turkey baster. I lightly sprayed the moulds with vegetable oil first and they came out very nicely. My kids had a lot of fun with these and thought they were a great treat. The consistency was more like a Jello jiggler than a gummy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shwltr78 October 20, 2008

What fun!! I made these with cherry jello and cherry Kool Aid mix and they were so addictive. And a whole pan has about 100 calories! Good because I could eat a whole batch... EDIT: I made a batch of lemon, let it set a bit, poured a batch of cherry over the top and swirled them together (in a jelly roll pan so they wouldn't come out too thick.) The two colors and the pairing of cherry and lemon make these taste more like real gummy worms. And, to answer RAZZY, these get very soft when left out and end up not very gummy. They taste more sugar free when at room temperature, as well, just like diet soda would. I keep mine cold.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoodnPlentiful February 29, 2008

The recipe is great! However, if you want to make it more like a gummy then a jiggler you need to mix the dry ingredients. Use one cup of cold water and sprinkle the gelatin mixture over it and allow to sit for 10 minutes. When the ten minutes is up turn on stove to medium and allow the gelatin to dissolve than pour into a glass baking dish or mold. Let cool at room temperature and then put in the fridge. This gives it more of a gummy feel.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dolphbio October 30, 2011

I made mine in straws. you just fill up a TALL cup (you worms can only be as tall as your cup) and then pour in the jello. If you want them to be more gummi-worm like you could roll them in sugar. Of course it would no longer be suger free, but you could also add in a little brown sugar for a different taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
milli3 August 11, 2010

I have to agree with one of the other reviewers, these taste more like solidified jelly than gummi worms. But that doesn't bother me, they're low-cal and edible and my daughter seems to enjoy them which is all that matters ;) Didn't use any Kool-Aid as I have no idea where to get the stuff in Australia, so no sourness for us unfortunately.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ByNDii October 13, 2009

These didn't seem sweet enough for me but considering the low- cal, no sugar there not that bad. The best part is that my kids love them and so now I have a sugar free treat for my kids which I think is great and why I rated 5 stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abangelbaby August 23, 2008
Sugar Free Gummy Worms