10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I don't think the icing recipe should be listed the way it was. I thought when I was supposed to add the sugar that I added all the sugar. It seemed weird but then I read through and where it said icing, it didn't mean to buy icing, it meant the ingredients listed below were for the icing. whoopsies!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Laura December 15, 2008

This dough was horrible to work with! It was really dry and crumbly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peck.amanda December 14, 2008

This is a fabulous sugar cookie recipe....I have to hide them in order to get them decorated

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerJC October 02, 2008

It was just what I needed. I also used all butter but they didn't get soft they stayed perfect. I thought they were nice even without frosting them. They were easy to shape as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv2cooktoomuch August 22, 2008

These cookies were sooo good - and easy! They turned out flawless and I didn't refrigerate the dough at all, nor did I roll it out with a roller. We simply flattened some dough out on the cookie sheet with our palms and used the rim of a glass to cut them into circles. (I did grease the cookie sheet). I cooked them for 7 minutes exactly at the recommended temp. Also, I used a different recipe for the icing (#64015)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nurse Morgan January 22, 2008

I also used all butter in the recipe for lack of shortening. I followed the author's instructions to bring the cookies out when they were just beginning to golden and it worked well. They stayed soft and pale- Perfect for decorating. Most of them I rolled and cut but I used a cookie press with the scraps and that was good, also.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamafabun March 16, 2007

I made these for Valentine's Day omitting the shortening and replacing it with butter as another rater did. These cookies were marvelous! Melt in your mouth delicious! They were easy, too. I am at high altitude yet I had no trouble using the dry ingredients as listed. Not only that, this is the 1st cookie recipe I ever made that yeilded the amount of cookies stated. The other sub I made was using almond extract (personal pref) in the icing, though I know vanilla would have been good too. Your a love to post this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Granny Moses February 17, 2007

Best sugar cookies ever!! I used 2/3 cup butter instead of butter and shortening, and these turned out thin and melt-in-your-mouth buttery. I may just enjoy them without the icing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay-t November 30, 2006

I've made this recipe several times since Christmas, meaning to review it...Everyone who has these loves them! They say they are the best cutouts ever! I usually make bigger cookies, so I get about two dozen out of the recipe. They are gone in a flash. Also, I've been using the OJ in the frosting, which is a nice touch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma Anderson February 23, 2006

I had dozens of sugar cookie recipes stacking up in my cookie recipe book as I searched for the perfect one. After making these, I tossed them all out and now have this one replacing them all. These are so good that I have to make at least two batches at a time for my family. Nobody wants frosting or icing on them they are so delicious.

I followed the recipe exactly, even though I live at a higher altitude of 5500 feet, and they always turn out perfect !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gayle gerber October 04, 2012
Sugar Cookies for Charishma