23 Reviews

Great cookies for frosting! They aren't very sweet, so the frosting doesn't kill you with sugar. I had trouble with them because I rolled them out too thin (about 1/4 inch) , and they came out dry and crunchy. Once I realized the problem and rolled them a little thicker, they were great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin' from scratch March 25, 2007

These made 50 beautiful Christmas cookies when iced with Christmas Cooking Icing by Junebug (64015). The dough was very workable and i did not even need to refrigerate it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Matthews December 06, 2010

I don't know where all these good reviews came from because these were horrible!! They had NO flavor at all. They were so bad that after trying one from the first batch I took the second batch out of the oven before they were done and threw them away!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rdailey August 28, 2010

Best sugar cookie yet that I have had. This year I went on a sugar cookie quest to find the one Everyone in my family liked. I have 5 boys from 10 to 2 and they all have different opinions. This one had everyone "MMM"ing. I did not have unsalted butter so I used salted butter and omitted the salt. Thank you sooooooo much Tracy. This will be my sugar cookie from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenBof6 December 27, 2004

These are absolutely delightful. I'm making them for my Christmas cookie tray and they will have a reserve seat for years to come. I used half almond and half vanilla extract and the flavor and texture were wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby December 21, 2004

Excellent sugar cookie recipe, especially for rolling and cutting. I baked them on parchment on a stainless sheet so the bottoms were the same color as the tops. Also, unlike some other recipes, these are done before golden color appears so are completely uniform in color, making them perfect for decorating. Completely delicious too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prettydiscdog December 30, 2015

Good for kids if you don't leave in fridge overnight... it was like a rock when I took them out. Had to husband roll them out... he added sprinkles of water. <br/><br/>Roll them out to thin and they make really hard dark, like crackers... Roll them out thicker they look lovely but makes hard chewy cookies... flavor not the best. Great for kids and would have marked higher (3 star) if this was geared toward children. I will not bring to an adult party. PS... use flour when cutting out... no oil on pan... Not sure why this is rated so high??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasons December 20, 2014

These came out wonderful. Light, fluffy, and tasty. They taste like sugar cookies and are good on their own or with icing. I loved them and so did the kids. I didn't use any almond extract, and I frosted them with 64015 which is a GREAT icing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roceliaj1118 March 29, 2014

These are good, not too sweet. Mine took about 8 mins. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo October 01, 2012

Decided to try out a new sugar cookie recipe this Christmas. These were wonderful. Chewy and had a perfect texture. 5 stars wasnt enough. I read the review by the person thinking they were horrible. I'm pretty sure she goofed the recipe somehow. These were amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful Disgrace December 27, 2010
Sugar Cookies