26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe first caught my frugal eye because it uses less butter than most--only 1/4 by volume in proportion to the flour. I also noticed that three people had posted this recipe--the primary difference being the flavor--vanilla, almond, or lemon--(see #76294 and #81367). I knew there had to be something special about these cookies! I added the last cup of flour as needed, because because the other posters only called for 3 3/4 c, and I'm at high altitude here. I also used both the vanilla and lemon to increase moisture--again because of the altitude (and of course the great flavor!) Delightful results! I used them to make Christmas paintbrush cookies with my kids (see recipe #1670859).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KunmingCook December 05, 2012

These are the worst cookies ever!!! 4 cups of flour?!? Who uses that much flour for good cookies! They we're all hard the next day the whole batch and everything I put into it was ruined DO NOT TRY THIS!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julian Pope May 10, 2010

I used my cookie scoop to get the perfect amount for drop cookies. They turned out perfect. They are chewy and so good. This was very easy to put together and didn't take up much time - my type of recipe. I will be saving this recipe for future use. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom April 14, 2009

These cookies were perfect to roll and cut into shapes once I added a bit more flour (they were very sticky initially). They also tasted delicious and everyone loved them. My one little complaint is they become extremely hard very quickly. If I was not serving these within the next couple of hours I'd freeze them and any extra leftover. I had the same result whether they were underbaked or not plus or minus some time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scancan December 28, 2008

These sugar cookies are delicious. I used only the vanilla instead of the lemon juice and zest. Yum Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori J - March 22, 2008

I love sugar cookies with fiends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dandy Sandy January 08, 2008

Used this recipe to make 'standing' cookies for Christmas. The texture was perfect for what we needed as we needed them to be hard enough to stand them up. We liked the taste better the second day. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker January 01, 2008

I made two recipes for decorating, one lemon and the other vanilla. They turned out great! Thanks for posting. Rachel Castle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Castle December 21, 2007

Very yummy! Did get a little hard after cooling on pan for a while. Not sure if it was because we overbaked them..? Who knows, but overall, yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelsey* December 09, 2007
Sugar Cookies