121 Reviews

This icing is very adaptable. For flavoring, I used 2 drops of clear vanilla, and 1 drop each of lemon and almond extract. I've thinned the icing with milk to make a glaze, thickened a bit with more powdered sugar to pipe, and used it as is to spread on cookies. I really like that it dries to a glossy finish instead of dull (and tasteless) like royal icing.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenMommy April 02, 2010

This frosting was just the right consistency when I used 3 tsp milk instead of 2. I have been looking for a beautiful frosting like this, it is a keeper! Thanks

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! April 01, 2010

What a great icing! This kept a beautiful sheen which looks great on the sugar cookies we iced with it. I did have to add much more corn syrup than the recipe said in order to get it to a spreading consistency.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdoe December 16, 2003

The frosting left a really nice glaze on the cookies and I liked that it was easy to adapt for my so who has multiple allergies (I only substituted the milk for soy). The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it did need about double the amt of milk to make it a spreadable consistency.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny November 26, 2010

This was great, easy to use and delicious! I made it thick for the edges and then thinned it a bit with some milk to fill in. I used a ketchup style bottle for the edges and just spooned in the center. I put it on kind of thick and it took almost two full days to completely dry but it turned out beautiful. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetySJD April 03, 2009

We doubled the recipe and used with sugar cookie recipe 81367 and it was perfect. I didnt have light corn syrup so used honey as a substition and it still worked great. The icing set up so nicely, hardened and was so shiney! will use everytime!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ecker.libby December 22, 2010

Super delicious! Icing was very easy to work with in decorating cookies. Dried really shiny & pretty! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly's Kravings May 03, 2010

This is the first time I've made a sugar cookie icing that looks professional, tastes good and hardens up the way it's supposed to. Thanks, Junebug. I could have used this recipe many sugar cookies ago.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers December 25, 2007

I love this recipe! I have always hated icing sugar cookies and just had to try this recipe when I saw that painting and dipping were ways you could use it. I tried dipping first and it worked, but made my hands too messy (and I was trying to do several things at once and kept having to wash them), so, I switched to painting them with a sponge paintbrush and got several dozen cookies finished in a very short amount of time! Now I can make sugar cookies more than just at Christmas and Easter! I did add a little more corn syrup and milk than the recipe called for to get it to a thinner consistency. Thanks for posting, Junebug!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~cbw~ December 19, 2003

Exactly as you said, "This recipe is quick, easy, dries hard and shiny and tastes good too". Just what I was looking for! Thanks June!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dottie5 December 09, 2003
Sugar Cookie Icing