Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sugar Cookie Frosting

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2012

      Very good! Not quite as tasty as a butter-cream type frosting, but this one can travel/stack! I didn't have corn syrup, so I substituted honey and it worked fine...maybe not super-glossy, but they had a nice sheen and looked fine for my purposes. I only got 10 large cookies frosted with this recipe amount, but I do tend to spread it thick. That may also be why they took over an hour to set completely in our humid climate. Overall a great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      This turned out great! It was super easy and delicious. I did 2 batches for 2 different colors, and they looked beautiful and tasted great! thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Super easy and good taste as well. This glaze dries quickly and holds color very well. I used for pumpkin shaped sugar cookies to take to a neighborhood Halloween event. I was looking for a recipe that would allow me to stack them- this recipe was a great fit. I used regular vanilla and it did not affect color. Great recipe! I will use again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      I love this frosting. Not only do I use it on my sugar cookies, I use it on my cupcakes too. Though the top solidifys a bit, it is still soft to eat and not nearly as messy as other frostings I've tried (which is perfect for a classful of pre-schoolers & b-day parties)! This is now my go-to frosting recipe. Thanks for sharing, wyojess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      This frosting was great on my sugar cookies this year! Shiny and not sticky and still tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Very easy to work with and perfect for sugar cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      This glaze works so great for sugar cookies. Very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      This Glaze is perfect. Quick and easy. My kids loved that they could see the indents of the Patern on the cookies through the icing because we decorated them even more with buttercream piping tips to outline the faces. This made it very easy to do for my 6 little creative mess makers to follow the outlines. Very good and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Made this frosting for sugar cookies. The taste is good and drying time is quick. This turned out to be more like a glaze for me. Worked well. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      We used this frosting on our gingerbread cookies this year. We choose to use almond extract, but will go with vanilla next time. The drying time was very quick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This frosting is wonderful. Love the almond extract. A little bit of frosting can go a long way, so spread it fairly thin and lay flat until dry to icing doesn't run. This made pretty shiny cookies. I would have posted a photo, but the kids ate the cookies as fast as they could decorate them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This recipe delivers! I'm not a frosting lover but after using this I may change my mind. It was a dream to work with and set up beautifully. I will definitely use this recipe for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      It was delicious and set up very nicely. It smoothes itself to make a uniform glaze over the cookies. I will use this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      OH Man! THIS is what I have been looking for!! Ive tried quite a few sugar cookie glazes and hated how hard they got. This was used on sweet little ducky cookies for my baby shower and let me tell you not only were they glossy, and cute as heck, they were so tasty that there wasnt even ONE left to take home after the party! THANK YOU!! This is my new frosting staple for christmas too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      This recipe is awesome. I love that it dries so you can stack. It turned out fantastic and taste great. (I used the almond extract). Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      This frosting was just what I was looking for. I don't understand how it could possibly be "too chemically" as it doesn't contain any chemicals except maybe the food coloring. It is more of a heavy glaze than an actual frosting, but that was what I really wanted. I thought it was great! Just for everyone's informaiton, it took about an hour to 'dry' entirely. I used Wilton's Icing Colors, which are more like a gel and better for more vivid colors. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      to me this tasted very chemical in flavor. i threw it out and made butter frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I had to throw out my first batch and start over, it just wasnt coming together right. The second batch I had to keep adding extra sugar. I finally got it right and it worked very well for my sugar cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      The sheen on these was just wonderful and the frosting hardened up without fuss. I used lemon juice in place of water to frost some lemon cookies and topped with yellow sprinkles. Very pretty and a great addition to my holiday trays. If you are worried about lumps, sift the sugar first and the icing will be trouble-free. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sugar Cookie Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (9 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 32.3
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites