18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love this Frosting!!! Perfect!! I had a cookie frosting party at my home with my son and my nieces and nephews. This was easy to spread and was so Yummy!! I did not want to use a recipie that had shortning in it, its always so waxy and bland when you use shortning. This is so creamy and tasty!
I also found a new teqnique for decorating frosted cookies. I used to buy colored sugars to decorate with but they are so expensive! I searched on the web and found out how to make my own, and it is so easy! All you do is take granulated sugar, (I used 1/2 cup), put it in a ziplock sandwich size baggie, add a few drops of food coloring, let out some air, then seal the bag and mash it , shake it, mash some more, until the desired color is achieved! You have to mash it around alot to press the color in. I had made a bag of every color of the rainbow! It was fun and easy, and our cookies look like the nothern lights! Very vibrant and full of colors! The kids were so happy to have more then just red & green this year, and it was so easy to make!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherRB December 04, 2010

I have been looking hi & lo for a good cookie frosting recipe to go with my favorite cookie recipe and I have found it!! Taste is fabulous, texture is great and very easy to work with - sets up enough that cookies can be stored without a mess. I did use every bit of the 1/2 cup of whipping cream and could have used a little more even. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spicy234 February 16, 2010

perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saramae21 December 27, 2009

I have been using this recipe for the past couple of years now and it is the best sugar cookie frosting! I try to use the whipping cream, but if I don't have it, milk works fine too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks January 04, 2015

This is awesome, spreads very easily and hardens up so you can stack cookies without the mess. Thanks for sharing this

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherry__lynn December 19, 2012

This is the best sugar cookie frosting because it tastes great and is easy to spread on the cookies. I loved it! Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
earlybird255 February 14, 2012

I have a fabulous go to recipe I always use that calls for half shortening, half butter, and milk, but I was out of shortening and milk so I thought this recipe would be perfect, boy was I wrong. I desperately WANTED to like this frosting, but unfortunately myself and my family did not like it at all. I followed the recipe exactly and to be blunt, the taste was quite unsatisfactory.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bizlas December 07, 2011

Perfect - just like my grandma makes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI January 31, 2011

I just made this frosting today and it tastes absolutely delicious! It was a bit thick so in a separate bowl I took another 1/4 cup of whipping cream and whisked it until it was fluffy and added to the frosting. It still had some thickness to it ,but it was a little more manageable.Im glad I found this recipe :D thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YepperzBoss December 21, 2009

Very good frosting. It was fluffy and still dried, so the cookies could be stored. We used vanilla extract and heavy cream instead of whipping cream as they is all we had. I will use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gruenes January 15, 2009
Sugar Cookie Frosting