Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sufganiyot (Jelly Doughnuts) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sufganiyot (Jelly Doughnuts)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2011

      I have never made sufganiyot before and I wasn't sure that I could pull it off. We had friends over for a Hanukkah party. This made about 30 doughnuts and they were gone before I finished frying them up. So delicious!! Thank you so much for the awesome recipe!! I will be making them again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      *Edit* I have no idea what I did wrong last time. This batch was light and fluffy, just like your standard jelly doughnut. Still an awesome recipe! *End edit*<br/>I have never had sufganiyot before, apparently. The Jelly doughnuts we have here in California are lighter, sweeter and usually heavily glazed. With these, the dough was almost like a bagel, which I suppose is fitting for jew-food :)<br/><br/>I liked these a lot :) They were easier than I thought they'd be, though I ended up adding a LOT more flour to get the dough to set into a ball. I also added a splash of vanilla to the dough. <br/><br/>Oil temp is important! My first few weren't properly cooked and I had to move from the pot on my stove top to my deep fryer, which had exact temps. I was sad when I discovered the centers of my first few were still raw. The deep fryer fixed that.<br/><br/>A neat lil trick I learned while filling my doughnuts was that if you pinch the hole as you're pulling out the injector, your jelly won't leak back out (most of the time, anyway, lol)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      Made these twice, and both times were a winner. I highly recommend doing steps 1-4 using the dough setting on your breadmaker machine - so much easier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      these were absolutely AMAZING! so easy to make and they look great! would definately give more stars if i could :):)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Wonderful! I've never made doughnuts before, and these were easy and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, and ended up adding about another cup of AP flour to get a nice dough. I used a 2" cutter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I made these this year for our families first Hanukkah! My husband, son,and I made them and then made them again 3 days later. We gave them to our neighbors and rolled some in cinnamon and sugar! Thanks! Yummn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      WOW!!! I made this recipe for a Hannukah party here is Israel (I am an American living abroad) and every person at the party asked me for the recipe. You made me look REALLY good (almost as good as the donuts!) Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Excellent recipe. Light; just the right amount of sweetness. Half were gone before the last of the batch was out. Highly recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Wow!! These are so easy and so-o-o good. We'll keep this recipe around to make these often. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      My goodness these are really great. Mine turned out perfectly -- just like the picture. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I will most definitely be making these again and again. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      THESE are PURE HEAVEN!! OMG!!!! WOW!!!!!!!!! I only made half a batch, and that may be a mistake!! LOL!!! I'll be making these for the rest of my LIFE!!! Thank you so very much!!! Also should add, that these are very easy to make!! So don't be afraid to try them!! You'll be SOOOOO GLAD you did!!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      the taste was great and it was easy to make, the children loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sufganiyot (Jelly Doughnuts)

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.0
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    19%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 10.5 mg
    3%
    Sodium 69.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes