12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have never made sufganiyot before and I wasn't sure that I could pull it off. We had friends over for a Hanukkah party. This made about 30 doughnuts and they were gone before I finished frying them up. So delicious!! Thank you so much for the awesome recipe!! I will be making them again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
singn8 December 30, 2011

*Edit* I have no idea what I did wrong last time. This batch was light and fluffy, just like your standard jelly doughnut. Still an awesome recipe! *End edit*<br/>I have never had sufganiyot before, apparently. The Jelly doughnuts we have here in California are lighter, sweeter and usually heavily glazed. With these, the dough was almost like a bagel, which I suppose is fitting for jew-food :)<br/><br/>I liked these a lot :) They were easier than I thought they'd be, though I ended up adding a LOT more flour to get the dough to set into a ball. I also added a splash of vanilla to the dough. <br/><br/>Oil temp is important! My first few weren't properly cooked and I had to move from the pot on my stove top to my deep fryer, which had exact temps. I was sad when I discovered the centers of my first few were still raw. The deep fryer fixed that.<br/><br/>A neat lil trick I learned while filling my doughnuts was that if you pinch the hole as you're pulling out the injector, your jelly won't leak back out (most of the time, anyway, lol)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VelcrowMistress February 04, 2014

Made these twice, and both times were a winner. I highly recommend doing steps 1-4 using the dough setting on your breadmaker machine - so much easier!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyMidget December 16, 2013

these were absolutely AMAZING! so easy to make and they look great! would definately give more stars if i could :):)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
^RoSe^ November 05, 2009

Wonderful! I've never made doughnuts before, and these were easy and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, and ended up adding about another cup of AP flour to get a nice dough. I used a 2" cutter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan O January 02, 2009

I made these this year for our families first Hanukkah! My husband, son,and I made them and then made them again 3 days later. We gave them to our neighbors and rolled some in cinnamon and sugar! Thanks! Yummn

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracie Altland January 01, 2009

WOW!!! I made this recipe for a Hannukah party here is Israel (I am an American living abroad) and every person at the party asked me for the recipe. You made me look REALLY good (almost as good as the donuts!) Thank You.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisa December 27, 2008

Excellent recipe. Light; just the right amount of sweetness. Half were gone before the last of the batch was out. Highly recommend!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy #9 December 25, 2008

Wow!! These are so easy and so-o-o good. We'll keep this recipe around to make these often. Thanks for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colorado Lauralee December 20, 2008

My goodness these are really great. Mine turned out perfectly -- just like the picture. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I will most definitely be making these again and again. =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wahffle February 08, 2008
Sufganiyot (Jelly Doughnuts)