Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Game-Day Grub >

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Chili, Wings, Dogs & Beyond
    Jalapeno Poppers

    Jalapeno Poppers

    A Flavor Touchdown For Your Mouth
    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    Try One of These Sudsy Sippers
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sue's Reuben Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sue's Reuben Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-53 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2004

      I was really in the mood for a reuben today, so I chose this great recipe for dinner and it really hit the spot.. Great Recipe! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2004

      I had a craving for a Reuben and went searching. This one looked so good! Believe me, I wasn't dissapointed! Oh, my, this is so good! I followed your directions with 2 Tbs 100 island and a very small pinch of caraway. Can't wait to have this again!! Thanks Sue!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2003

      I make this exact recipe, omitting the berries. They turn out great using my G. Foreman grill. Good sandwich!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2003

      Oh, my!! Pinch Me!! These are AWESOME!! I used seedless rye, and the only change I made was to mix the dressing with the sauerkraut. Added a little black pepper and garlic powder, and will never go back to a restaurant Reuben again!! (also omitted the caraway seed due to personal preference) Thanks for the recipe! Definite keeper! ~Manda

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2014

      Used freshly cooked corned beef and caraway seeds. Amazing!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2014

      DELICIOUS! I had some Jalapeno Jack cheese and Ranch dressing in my fridge, so I went ahead to switch the swiss cheese and thousand island sauce. The result was fantastic! Made it for dinner and my DH requested the same meal for lunch next day! Next time, I will follow the recipe exactly and make an update here! Thank you Sue for this awesome recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      I did not care for this as much as I thought I would. Maybe it was the brand of corned beef my deli gave me. Considering your instructions seemed right on I really think it was the corned beef. I will try again in the future with a better corned beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      Delicious!!! Made as the recipe stated with no changes. Just as good as you would get from a restaurant or deli!! Will definitely be making again! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      Very good. Love reubens so was excited about making them for my family at home. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      I was completely astonished when hubby requested Reuben sandwiches this week, since he is vehemently anti-sauerkraut. That being said, there are a handful of dishes that I can make with it, as long as I rinse the kraut really well. That takes away some of the tartness of it, which is what he has the biggest problem with. I don't like Thousand Island, but you really can't taste it in here. It just adds the tiniest bit of sweetness to the sandwich. I made these tonight, but I didn't follow recommendations for amounts or anything, just the order in which the ingredients were added. I didn't bring my meat and cheese to room temp, but when I put them in the skillet, I put the lid on it, to warm the entire thing. That worked just fine. When I rinsed the kraut in the colander, I did it with warm water, so that warmed it enough that I didn't have to warm it separately. Hubby asked for seconds, and both boys loved them too. Definite winner for us. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      I am well over 50 and have never had a Reuben before! I just couldn't get past the smell of the sauerkraut. Now I am sad that I have been missing out all of these years. This was delicious! I had a little bit of corned beef leftover and some rye bread so I decided to go for it. The kraut is stinky, but you really don't notice once it is in the sandwich. I couldn't find a small can of sauerkraut so now I will just have to make more sandwiches! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      Perfect! This is how I've always made my reubens. And if you are short on time, build the sandwich and then microwave it for about 20 seconds to hit up the inside and then grill. I served mine with pickles, chips and some potato chips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sue's Reuben Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 966.8
     
    Calories from Fat 638
    66%
    Total Fat 70.9 g
    109%
    Saturated Fat 33.5 g
    167%
    Cholesterol 230.6 mg
    76%
    Sodium 2539.1 mg
    105%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 42.2 g
    84%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    juniper berries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites