53 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A HIT! This turned out the perfect Reuben. DH was very pleased. we used deli seeded rye bread and also added caraway seed before "toasting" on the stove. Will definitely use again! Thanks for sharing. Reviewed for ZWT6

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvinlif2k May 26, 2010

Extreme enjoyment, but must stop using my laptop as a tray. Made for ZWT #6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 24, 2010

Wunderbar! A Ruben would have to be done really wrong for me not to give it five stars. I have loved them ever since I was a kid and next to the Philly cheesesteak it is my fave sandwich. Yet, in all the time I have been making them, I never thought to start with one slice of bread in the pan and build up from there. I always assemble and then put it in the pan. From now on I will be doing it that way because it made it much easier. Made for Zee Zany Zesty Cookz for ZWT6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne May 21, 2010

Great sandwich!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds March 17, 2010

This is absolutely delicious and great to make when you want something quick and hearty to eat. The combination of ingredients go great together. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Peacock August 08, 2009

yummy!! what a great sandwhich i used a rye/pumpernickel bread instead and i loved it. what a quick easy delicious lunch in fact i cant wait till lunchtime today so i can make another one. thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coco*marie July 08, 2009

Tasted great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
runningwild69 March 23, 2009

Very tasty & easy, just gotta get the hang of flipping the unyieldy sandwich. I took Greg's suggestion and added some horseradish. I used a marbled rye/pumpernickel bread. Very nice. Served with my black bean soup. (And I discovered one must *really* squeeze sauerkraut to get it well drained.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie November 07, 2008

You've got a winner here! I used Boar's Head (highly recommended) sliced pastrami and, because I had it on hand, Monterey Jack cheese. I prepared my sandwiches with fresh extra-sour rye bread. I used caraway seed, and a little more butter on the bread to make sure I got the golden-brown grilled appearance I wanted. My only other addition was a tablespoon of horseradish to the sauce. The sandwich was absolutely perfect! Thank you, Sue! I served it with a very chilled dill pickle spear, but omitted the chips. Too many calories! Try adding lightly dressed Cole slaw or my cucumber salad to this meal. Please try it! I'm so glad I've had a chance to review your recipe and I hope my comments will be helpful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GREG IN SAN DIEGO September 10, 2008

Perfect directions for making my favorite sandwich! Thank you:]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzy Q Z August 20, 2008
Sue's Reuben Sandwich