Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Game-Day Grub >

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Chili, Wings, Dogs & Beyond
    Jalapeno Poppers

    Jalapeno Poppers

    A Flavor Touchdown For Your Mouth
    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    Try One of These Sudsy Sippers
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sue's Reuben Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sue's Reuben Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2008

      My husband was one happy guy eating this for his lunch today! Really and truly (and he is a tough critic). I used Healthy Rye Bread to make this sandwich (which I highly recommend). Used Thousand Island Dressing for the dressing (also good) and did use the optional caraway seeds on the sandwich. Otherwise prepared as specified. Thanks for helping bring a smile to DH's face. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Great reuben! I made this as directed and did add both the juniper berries and the caraway seeds. Very simple and very good. Thanks Sue. Made for ZWT4 Family Picks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      I went back to being vegetarian a couple months ago. I picked this recipe for ZWT4, imagining that I would serve it to my family and I would have something else. I was sorely tempted and succombed! I just have to say if you are going to eat (or serve) a Reuben, this is the way to do it! My son liked them too. I only used about 2 oz of meat per sandwich.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      I totally love Reubens. Since I'm a vegetarian, when I order them at a restaurant I ask them to omit the corned beef. They are okay with that and so am I, but this time I substituted and vegetarian Canadian bacon product. I imagine they make vegetarian corned beef too. I also made my usual low-fat adjustments. Normally I put mustard on my Reubens but I used a fat free thousand island dressing this time. I must admit the thousand island dressing tastes better. I also used caraway seeds. This recipe was also good because everything got "pre-warmed" so it cooked and melted better. Thanks Sue!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      A GREAT SANDWICH & so easy to make! The rye & caraway (not optional for me!) added a great touch of flavor! Definitely a recipe I want to keep around! [Made & reviewed while touring Germany during Zaar's World Tour 4]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      This is great. It made a great lunch today for my DH and I. It was easy to make and tasted delicious. Made for Zaar World Tour 4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      YUM! Okay I love reubens, and this is a GREAT one. I left out the juniper berries (couldn't find them in the stores!) and the caraway seeds (used my last baking the rye bread for this!). My roommate is not fond of sauerkraut, but still thought this was good enough for 3 stars, so I split the difference. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      I LOVE this sandwich. I once thought that only my mom's reuben's were worth eating but since discovering this recipe, I now know differently. DH doesn't much care for reubens so I don't get to make these near as often as I'd like to. But when I can.... YUMMY!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      We love these sandwiches! Usually serve once a month. I like to serve the sauerkraut and dressing on the side. I grill these on my electric griddle so I can cook 5 or 6 at a time. We did not use the optional seasoning. Yum!!! Thanks for a great recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      Made this as a special treat for my mom (she loves reubens) during her latest visit. She and my husband raved about these sandwiches. My husband (who has never had a reuben before) was a little bit leary about eating it, but changed his mind after the first bite. I have made this with corned beef and also pastrami and used Thousand Island Dressing #100355. Husband declared it "phenomenal!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Made Saturday with leftover corned beef I had made earlier in the week. I made as written except didn't add the juniper berries or caraway seeds (didn't have). Rather tasty. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would! This has become one of our all-time favorite meals. I fix reubens all the time now. I like them best with Bavarian sauerkraut because it is slightly sweet and has caraway seeds in it. Thank you so much for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      Today is my birthday and for dinner I wanted a Reuben sandwich, the heck with the calories. I made these for dinner and I am very happy now. It was great! Thanks for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      This was just a great sandwich. We really enjoyed it. Thanx for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      My husband really liked this sandwich. For the 1000 Island dressing I used Just Like Kraft's Thousand Island Dressing. I forgot to use the caraway seeds but the sandwich tasted good without it. Easy sandwich to prepare. Thanks SueL. Bullwinkle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      To my taste these were just another Reuben Sandwich, nothing special or outstanding. I followed directions exactly, found no need to heat the sauerkraut, it gets hot enough on the sandwich while it's grilling. Also the caraway seeds added nothing to the taste at all. Would not make them again. Sorry but that's my honest opinion. I gave it three stars for ease of preparation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      excellent and very easy. I did substitute the corned beef with pastrami (in a package) but it was still very delicious! Thank you for a great and quick recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      This was a very good recipe. I don't care for reubens but I made these for my boyfriend and I thought they tasted wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly but omitted the juniper berries/caraway seeds. Thanks. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      This is better than my local restaurant sandwich, probably because I put quality stuff into it! Will make this again! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2004

      SueL I feel like you made me my favorite lunch! I love Reuben sandwiches and this one was delicious!!! Iused to go to this little corner restaraunt for them but now I will make them at home! Thanks...for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sue's Reuben Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 966.8
     
    Calories from Fat 638
    66%
    Total Fat 70.9 g
    109%
    Saturated Fat 33.5 g
    167%
    Cholesterol 230.6 mg
    76%
    Sodium 2539.1 mg
    105%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 42.2 g
    84%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    juniper berries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites