Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sue's Reuben Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sue's Reuben Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2002

      Sue, your sandwich was really filling and delicious...better than any famous deli or pub could make for me! But at 71.4 grams of fat I had to make a few changes...low fat thousand island... benecol to butter the bread...2 oz. of corned beef instead of 4oz...1 slice of deli swiss divided into 2 pieces. If it tasted this good with all the lower fat changes...I can only imagine what it tastes like fully loaded! I also appreciated your clear instructions on how to assemble the sandwich. I served the sandwiches with red seedless table grapes...never got to sit down...too many requests for more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      Sue I have never made my own Reuben sandwich and this was perfect! My daughter never had a Reuben sandwich and loved it. Thank you very much for the recipe. I made it exactly as written. My sister had given me a bunch of corn beef and it being St. Patrick's day I thought of Reuben sandwiches and couldn't of picked a better recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2002

      Another great recipe, Sue! I made these exactly as stated, and MAN! Awesome lunch for me, indeed! Thanks, Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      Wow! What a wonderful tasting sandwich. I made as instructed using caraway seeds and using Thousand Isalnd Dressing#394540 for the dressing...delicious. Definately a recipe to put in my Favorites of 2010 and use when we buy corn beef to cook up. Thank you Sue Lau for a wonderful recipe. Made for Think Pink Cancer Awareness tag game 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      OK Sue, so I'm all about the "layering" to make any kind of perfect sandwich~~so you had me sold on that! Delicious! I wanted to use sauerkraut with caraway seeds, but couldn't find it, and my DH forgot to get it, but that would be the final touch to perfection. I used both pastrami & lean corned beef as the lean corned beef was $12 a lb. Thanks for posting. This is a splurge meal that I'll use once a month!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      I love Reubens, they are my favorite sandwich--and this is a a good one! I did make one change, I made up the sandwiches and broiled them under the broiler as I was making a lot of them for lunch. These are an awesome football Sunday sandwich! Delicious, the perfect Reuben! Thanks, Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      First time making Reuben's myself, using leftover corned beef from St. Patrick's day. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      Liked especially the caraway or juniper berry addition in this classic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Hands down, the best reuben I have ever made. I used homemade Rye Buttermilk Bread which is amazing. Also used homemade Thousand Island Dressing which was outstanding. I simmered my sauerkraut with a few slices of apple to take away the bite. I then went with both juniper berries and caraway seeds. Hubby and I shared one HUGE sandwich. So good!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      Oh, boy, did I ever enjoy this sandwich! One of the best Reuben's I've ever had. In fact, I think I'll go and make another one! Thnx for sharing your recipe, Sue Lau. Made for the Voracious Vagabonds for ZWT6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      A HIT! This turned out the perfect Reuben. DH was very pleased. we used deli seeded rye bread and also added caraway seed before "toasting" on the stove. Will definitely use again! Thanks for sharing. Reviewed for ZWT6

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Extreme enjoyment, but must stop using my laptop as a tray. Made for ZWT #6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Wunderbar! A Ruben would have to be done really wrong for me not to give it five stars. I have loved them ever since I was a kid and next to the Philly cheesesteak it is my fave sandwich. Yet, in all the time I have been making them, I never thought to start with one slice of bread in the pan and build up from there. I always assemble and then put it in the pan. From now on I will be doing it that way because it made it much easier. Made for Zee Zany Zesty Cookz for ZWT6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Great sandwich!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      This is absolutely delicious and great to make when you want something quick and hearty to eat. The combination of ingredients go great together. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      yummy!! what a great sandwhich i used a rye/pumpernickel bread instead and i loved it. what a quick easy delicious lunch in fact i cant wait till lunchtime today so i can make another one. thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Tasted great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      Very tasty & easy, just gotta get the hang of flipping the unyieldy sandwich. I took Greg's suggestion and added some horseradish. I used a marbled rye/pumpernickel bread. Very nice. Served with my black bean soup. (And I discovered one must *really* squeeze sauerkraut to get it well drained.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      You've got a winner here! I used Boar's Head (highly recommended) sliced pastrami and, because I had it on hand, Monterey Jack cheese. I prepared my sandwiches with fresh extra-sour rye bread. I used caraway seed, and a little more butter on the bread to make sure I got the golden-brown grilled appearance I wanted. My only other addition was a tablespoon of horseradish to the sauce. The sandwich was absolutely perfect! Thank you, Sue! I served it with a very chilled dill pickle spear, but omitted the chips. Too many calories! Try adding lightly dressed Cole slaw or my cucumber salad to this meal. Please try it! I'm so glad I've had a chance to review your recipe and I hope my comments will be helpful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Perfect directions for making my favorite sandwich! Thank you:]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sue's Reuben Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 966.8
     
    Calories from Fat 638
    66%
    Total Fat 70.9 g
    109%
    Saturated Fat 33.5 g
    167%
    Cholesterol 230.6 mg
    76%
    Sodium 2539.1 mg
    105%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 42.2 g
    84%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    juniper berries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites