Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sue's Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sue's Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2003

      This is really good. Simplicity is the key - I cooked it in about 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2002

      You are right, Yogi! This IS good! I made this for Christmas morning breakfast on the spur of the moment. Couldn't imagine it would be all that wonderful considering the ingredients, but it is great! People couldn't stop eating it. It took about 10 minutes longer than the recipe says for it to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      fast, easy, moist and very delicious! this would be perfect for christmas morning...no hassle at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      This is a wonderful coffee cake!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This cake is very easy to make and quite tasty but does leave a strange aftertaste which baffles me a bit. Maybe it is the cinnamon? I took the advice of others and baked it for longer (an extra 8 mins or so). I also used butter as we don't get Crisco in the Netherlands (where I live). I also made it with a layer of mix then half the cinnamon etc. I'll try this again with a few changes because it was so easy and shows enormous potential. Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Wow, I love, love, love this cake!! I made it almost as written but used real butter instead of Crisco and added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. I also did what another reviewer suggested and put half the batter in my 8x8 pan then sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar then put the other half of the batter on top, baked for the 35 min. and spread the top with the butter and sprinkled with more cinnamon sugar. It is a nice little cake not to dense not to crumbly not to sweet, just a great cake to have with a cup of coffee, in fact my 8 year old had two piece as his breakfast. Thanks for the great little recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      I made this on 9/05/08 for the "Breakfast Anytime Challenge " in the Cooking Photo Forum. I used butter flavored crisco as suggested in the recipe.Other than that I followed the recipe as written, except when I got to the part about the margarine on the top. I didn't know if the margarine should be melted or not,so I just added it to the top and spread it around with the bottom of a spoon. It did however take 45 minutes for it to get done in the middle. The taste was just sweet enough to be very good with a cup of coffee or a glass of milk. This is "simplicity at it it best".Thanks for posting and, "Keep Smiling :)"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      I thought this batter was way too dry, so I added 1 cup drained pineapple chunks and topped a mixture of 2 tbsp margarine and 1/3 cup brown sugar. Baked 30 mins at 350 -- awesome flavour -- thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      This was good. It is pretty quick to make, but it's not very sophisticated. I want to play aroung with it to see if I can add some flair to it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      Definitely an easy coffee cake to make, and you are sure to find all the ingredients in your pantry. I agree with many other reviewers that this cake takes and additional 10 minutes to cook. Also, for my taste, this was a little too sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      Excellent, easy and fast - I added a bit more cinnamon/sugar and baked for 10 minutes longer and it was wonderful!!! Took it with us to the cabin and all our friends couldn't stop raving about the taste. Thanks Angieloo for the hint about layering the cinnamon/sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      high marks for ease and taste. excellent recipe. i love cinnamon and did add it to the batter for extra spice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      Everyone on the site has everything they need to make this cake right now in their kitchen--I'm sure of it! They should all go and make this modest, simple, little cake. I even messed with the recipe with success. I used 40% light butter for everywhere butter or margarine or Crisco is called for, half splenda, and all soy milk. It is just fantastic. Great, soft, moist consistency. It may need a bit more time in the oven, as others have said. I made it in a glass pie plate, a perfect size for it. A BIG winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2004

      This is a really good and easy coffee cake. My seven yr old son even ate it. Getting him to eat something with the word "coffee" in the title is amazing. He liked it so much that he wanted to take some with him to daycare for the other kids. My daycare provider said it must have been good because she didn't even get try it. I made it the second time around and put half of the batter in the pan and then sprinkled it with cinnamon/sugar and then added the rest of the batter and some more cinnamon/sugar on top. Gave it more of a streusel effect. It did take me about 35 minutes bake time to get it done. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      My kids love this recipe. It's one of the rare recipes they will get up early to make on sunday morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sue's Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (825 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2689.0
     
    Calories from Fat 862
    32%
    Total Fat 95.8 g
    147%
    Saturated Fat 46.8 g
    234%
    Cholesterol 156.2 mg
    52%
    Sodium 1759.2 mg
    73%
    Total Carbohydrate 429.5 g
    143%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 225.7 g
    902%
    Protein 34.3 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites