15 Reviews

This is really good. Simplicity is the key - I cooked it in about 30 minutes.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie March 22, 2003

You are right, Yogi! This IS good! I made this for Christmas morning breakfast on the spur of the moment. Couldn't imagine it would be all that wonderful considering the ingredients, but it is great! People couldn't stop eating it. It took about 10 minutes longer than the recipe says for it to bake.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
srobin December 25, 2002

fast, easy, moist and very delicious! this would be perfect for christmas morning...no hassle at all!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sallyabreak November 06, 2003

This is a wonderful coffee cake!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hlthayer February 16, 2013

This cake is very easy to make and quite tasty but does leave a strange aftertaste which baffles me a bit. Maybe it is the cinnamon? I took the advice of others and baked it for longer (an extra 8 mins or so). I also used butter as we don't get Crisco in the Netherlands (where I live). I also made it with a layer of mix then half the cinnamon etc. I'll try this again with a few changes because it was so easy and shows enormous potential. Thank you

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dimensionally transcendental September 14, 2008

Wow, I love, love, love this cake!! I made it almost as written but used real butter instead of Crisco and added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. I also did what another reviewer suggested and put half the batter in my 8x8 pan then sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar then put the other half of the batter on top, baked for the 35 min. and spread the top with the butter and sprinkled with more cinnamon sugar. It is a nice little cake not to dense not to crumbly not to sweet, just a great cake to have with a cup of coffee, in fact my 8 year old had two piece as his breakfast. Thanks for the great little recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria September 06, 2008

I made this on 9/05/08 for the "Breakfast Anytime Challenge " in the Cooking Photo Forum. I used butter flavored crisco as suggested in the recipe.Other than that I followed the recipe as written, except when I got to the part about the margarine on the top. I didn't know if the margarine should be melted or not,so I just added it to the top and spread it around with the bottom of a spoon. It did however take 45 minutes for it to get done in the middle. The taste was just sweet enough to be very good with a cup of coffee or a glass of milk. This is "simplicity at it it best".Thanks for posting and, "Keep Smiling :)"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � September 05, 2008

I thought this batter was way too dry, so I added 1 cup drained pineapple chunks and topped a mixture of 2 tbsp margarine and 1/3 cup brown sugar. Baked 30 mins at 350 -- awesome flavour -- thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slb2008 May 19, 2007

This was good. It is pretty quick to make, but it's not very sophisticated. I want to play aroung with it to see if I can add some flair to it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
latinmargarita April 26, 2006

Definitely an easy coffee cake to make, and you are sure to find all the ingredients in your pantry. I agree with many other reviewers that this cake takes and additional 10 minutes to cook. Also, for my taste, this was a little too sweet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy October 15, 2005
Sue's Coffee Cake