Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sue B's Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sue B's Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    136 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 136

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2003

      When I asked DH what he would like for desert for Thanksgiving, he told me that if he could have anything he wanted it would be a sour-milk chocolate cake like his mother used to make. After 36 years of marriage, this is the first time he has ever mentioned his mother's cake. This recipe was in answer to a request I posted. The cake was so very easy to make that I was surprised by the result. A lovely dark chocolate color with a very tender, very light and very moist texture. DH's Review: "I feel like a kid again and I feel 10 pounds heavier", this coming after eating 1/2 the cake in 24 hours. Thanks Mean Chef for giving DH a very special holiday gift.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      Not quite as chocolatey as I expected, but a fantastic chocolate cake! Next time I'll throw in some mini choco chips (just me though) My Fiance requested a 1 layer square chocolate cake for his friend's "leaving for a new job" lunch. So I made this in a 13x9, and baked about 40 minutes -perfecto! Frosted with chocolate whipped cream frosting (tastes like ice cream with your cake) He came home and actually used the word "phenomenal"!! His boss tried to steal the left overs and sneak home lol But I managed to get a piece. Used strong coffee for the water - that was my only alteration. For those who said the batter is thin - it's normal. I make several cupcake recipes this consistency. I had no troubles with rising and falling. All went great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      My nephew said this was the best chocolate cake he every had. This chocolate cake is moist and full of flavor without being overly sugary like a lot of box cake mixes. I have made it several times and it works great as 2 rounds and also as a 13"x9" or 12" round cake. I found that I didn't need to use the parchment paper. It slides out with just cooking spray/flour applied to the pan(s). Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      Oh my goodness, it's my cake recipe! I'm so happy to see all these reviews, and so happy so many people are enjoying it. I developed this recipe years ago for a woman (Sue B.) on the old Fine Cooking discussion boards. She had a recipe she kind of liked, but it had problems. I took it and reworked it for her, thus, Sue B.'s Chocolate Cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      I have made this cake several time now, and it is quite good. However, unlike the description, I would not consider it a "dense" cake. It is more dense than a box mix by a little, but not as dense as several other home made cake recipes I have tried over the years. It is very moist, and makes a HUGE cake. In fact, I now cut the recipe back to 2/3 of the original volume most of the time. I have also found it takes longer than 30 min to bake. Thanks for a good base recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I made this rich, chocolately cake for my son's 13th birthday. I am so glad I chose this recipe! The recipe calls for ingredients I generally have on hand. The recipe instructions are straightfoward enough that a rookie baker can make it with great success. I turned the cake into a 4 layer cake by slicing each round horizontally. I filled AND iced the cake with the chocolate butter cream recipe mentioned above. Thanks for sharing this delightful recipe! I will be sure to use it again. ~~~update~~~ Here we are, on my son's 15th birthday and this cake is STILL the one he requests every year. Thank you, again, for the best chocolate cake ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      Another great recipe. No wonder your name is Mean Chef. One of my best friends helped me bake this and she was a bit hesitant because it was a fairly runny batter. But they baked up beautifully. They were a nice, dark brown, and had a deep chocolate flavor. I made it for my little cousin's birthday party and everyone loved it. I was a little short on time, so I used the frosting idea from Chocolate Cherry Cake with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting. I'm so glad I had to level the cakes, otherwise I wouldn't have had any to snack on! Awesome, simple, delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2013

      Kaitie-Pie made this cake for my 32nd birthday. and boyyyy was it yummy! she got the baking powder/ baking soda mixed up and it still turned out great! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      This is absolutely the best chocolate cake I have ever had. I just started baking a few months ago and this was the first chocolate cake I have ever made (from scratch) in my life and it was super easy and delicious. I have gotten nothing but great reviews on how delicious it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      This cake was so delicious! Very moist and the perfect amount of chocolatey-ness. The batter seemed on the thin side as I was pouring it into the pans, so I originally thought something was wrong. However, it turned out fabulous! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      This recipe created a cake light, moist and fluffy exactly what I was looking for to create a special cake for my mother in law. I love that I didn't have to cream the butter etc and I just used a whisk for the whole lot. I reduced the sugar a quarter and the runniness worried me but it cooked perfectly. I changed the amounts to make 3 layers and they were quite thick. The centre of this cake rises so I sliced the tops off to make even layers. I'll be using this recipe again, it was a huge hit and got great comments. I won't need another chocolate cake recipe. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      Very good! My 9-year old and I made this for his birthday. We used regular milk as we didn't have buttermilk on hand and somehow we forgot the vanilla....but it still turned out fantastic! Will definitely be using this one again, it is a keeper, and seemingly fail proof!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      Not sure what I did wrong. The flavor wasn't as chocolatey as I thought it would be. I baked in 2 nine inch layers. They didn't rise at all and the texture was a little chewy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      I made this for my daughter's birthday. Absolutely loved it. Very moist and rich flavor. I used Kittencals Chocolate frosting with the cake. The combination was delicious. I liked the suggestion of adding mini-cholocate chips. Will try that next time. Can never get enough chocolate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      Delicious chocolate cake, and so easy to make. I'll be making this again, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      This cake was great! I used almond milk and vinegar instead of buttermilk, and whole wheat flour, plus I added some chocolate chips. Easy to make and really moist, I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      Terrific!!!! Made into cupcakes with White Chocolate Buttercream Frosting and they were fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Needed a cake to impress the boyfriend and his family for his birthday, and this definitely did the trick. Preparation was easy and the cake rose to perfection for a dual layer cake in exactly 30 minutes. Flavor was good (not too sweet), cake was moist, and it turned out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      This is the moistest cake ever! I used coconut oil and baked it in a rectangle glass pan for about 35 minutes. It turned out great. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      The perfect chocolate cake, dark and wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sue B's Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 547.5
     
    Calories from Fat 250
    45%
    Total Fat 27.8 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 83.7 mg
    27%
    Sodium 472.1 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.3 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 46.0 g
    184%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes