137 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

When I asked DH what he would like for desert for Thanksgiving, he told me that if he could have anything he wanted it would be a sour-milk chocolate cake like his mother used to make. After 36 years of marriage, this is the first time he has ever mentioned his mother's cake. This recipe was in answer to a request I posted. The cake was so very easy to make that I was surprised by the result. A lovely dark chocolate color with a very tender, very light and very moist texture. DH's Review: "I feel like a kid again and I feel 10 pounds heavier", this coming after eating 1/2 the cake in 24 hours. Thanks Mean Chef for giving DH a very special holiday gift.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac March 02, 2003

Not quite as chocolatey as I expected, but a fantastic chocolate cake! Next time I'll throw in some mini choco chips (just me though) My Fiance requested a 1 layer square chocolate cake for his friend's "leaving for a new job" lunch. So I made this in a 13x9, and baked about 40 minutes -perfecto! Frosted with chocolate whipped cream frosting (tastes like ice cream with your cake) He came home and actually used the word "phenomenal"!! His boss tried to steal the left overs and sneak home lol But I managed to get a piece. Used strong coffee for the water - that was my only alteration. For those who said the batter is thin - it's normal. I make several cupcake recipes this consistency. I had no troubles with rising and falling. All went great!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma November 08, 2010

My nephew said this was the best chocolate cake he every had. This chocolate cake is moist and full of flavor without being overly sugary like a lot of box cake mixes. I have made it several times and it works great as 2 rounds and also as a 13"x9" or 12" round cake. I found that I didn't need to use the parchment paper. It slides out with just cooking spray/flour applied to the pan(s). Thanks for a great recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sprinkles February 17, 2010

Oh my goodness, it's my cake recipe! I'm so happy to see all these reviews, and so happy so many people are enjoying it. I developed this recipe years ago for a woman (Sue B.) on the old Fine Cooking discussion boards. She had a recipe she kind of liked, but it had problems. I took it and reworked it for her, thus, Sue B.'s Chocolate Cake.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookiMonster January 31, 2014

I have made this cake several time now, and it is quite good. However, unlike the description, I would not consider it a "dense" cake. It is more dense than a box mix by a little, but not as dense as several other home made cake recipes I have tried over the years. It is very moist, and makes a HUGE cake. In fact, I now cut the recipe back to 2/3 of the original volume most of the time. I have also found it takes longer than 30 min to bake. Thanks for a good base recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KD boo-do July 12, 2010

I made this rich, chocolately cake for my son's 13th birthday. I am so glad I chose this recipe! The recipe calls for ingredients I generally have on hand. The recipe instructions are straightfoward enough that a rookie baker can make it with great success. I turned the cake into a 4 layer cake by slicing each round horizontally. I filled AND iced the cake with the chocolate butter cream recipe mentioned above. Thanks for sharing this delightful recipe! I will be sure to use it again. ~~~update~~~ Here we are, on my son's 15th birthday and this cake is STILL the one he requests every year. Thank you, again, for the best chocolate cake ever.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetesNina September 28, 2009

Another great recipe. No wonder your name is Mean Chef. One of my best friends helped me bake this and she was a bit hesitant because it was a fairly runny batter. But they baked up beautifully. They were a nice, dark brown, and had a deep chocolate flavor. I made it for my little cousin's birthday party and everyone loved it. I was a little short on time, so I used the frosting idea from Chocolate Cherry Cake with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting. I'm so glad I had to level the cakes, otherwise I wouldn't have had any to snack on! Awesome, simple, delicious recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caffeine junkie September 11, 2006

This is the first cake I have ever baked from scratch, and it was marvelous! I cut the recipe in half to have a smaller, 3-person 2-layer cake that was more manageable. I also substituted 2% milk with a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar for the buttermilk. The end result was a dense, moist cake that wasn't too sweet and also wasn't too chocolate-y for me (but I'm not a huge chocolate fan). With chocolate icing, raspberry jam between the two layers, and raspberries on top, it was literally the perfect cake. I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klettie February 01, 2015

Kaitie-Pie made this cake for my 32nd birthday. and boyyyy was it yummy! she got the baking powder/ baking soda mixed up and it still turned out great! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes November 01, 2013

This is absolutely the best chocolate cake I have ever had. I just started baking a few months ago and this was the first chocolate cake I have ever made (from scratch) in my life and it was super easy and delicious. I have gotten nothing but great reviews on how delicious it is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamela W. October 05, 2013
Sue B's Chocolate Cake