14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Divine baked beans to say the least! Made these for a party the other day and they were well received. That said, this makes a LOT of beans. . .I caution that you might want to cut the recipe in half. I served half the batch and then froze the other half to serve at a later date. I will never make another baked bean recipe again. . .this was too delish and easy to boot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride September 27, 2012

These a good beans, I loved the fried-onion crunch on top. Made as written, just decreased the recipe by half. I didn't have crushed pineapple so I minced up some pineapple rings that I had. Made for Help a Naked Recipe Tag in the Photo Forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH September 08, 2012

I have to say, I also got this recipe from foodnetwork.com years ago. These beans have been a huge hit at every party! I am writing this review because I seen this recipe listed on the home page of this website and instantly smiled. Oh yeah, it deserves the front page! In fact, my cousin recently divorced about a year ago and the one thing her ex-husband asked for was this recipe from me! The hardest part for me was finding where the grocery stores hide those cans of fried onion crisps! otherwise a huge hit and well worth making for the Summer BBQ'S!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Rose June 28, 2011

THESE BEANS ARE DIVINE! I got the recipe from the Food Network website years ago. The recipe did not list the hot sauce or garlic powder in their list of ingredients. Hmmmm? Even though I never added those two ingredients, the recipe was fantastic! Also, the recipe instructions didn't mention anything about crushing or not crushing the French Fried Onions. I always break the larger pieces of onion and leave the smaller pieces alone. My set of instructions stated, "Divide the French Fried Onions into 3 portions, stirring only one of the three portions into the bean mixture. Sprinkle the remaining onions on top of the bean casserole befor placing into the oven". I use Bush's brand Original Baked Beans. I think KC Masterpiece Barbecue Sauce is awesome when combined with Bush's beans. Be sure and drain the crushed pineapple really well (I figure out how much pineapple I need, then with clean hands, I take a handful of pineapple and squish as hard as I can until all of the juice has been extracted). When I use half a recipe, I use an 8-inch by 8-inch square baking dish, and I've found I don't need to grease the dish. Thanks for sharing the recipe Koechin (Chef)! ********************************************* GREAT BACON TIP : After you lay the bacon strips in the skillet, take kitchen shears, and going from one of the end of the strip of bacon to the other, in a zig-zag pattern, make about 8 small snips every so often. If any of the strips show signs of bacon fat bubbling up, quickly take your shears and snip the center of the bubble. Your bacon will now lay flat and won't curl up or "pop" as it's being cooked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Kitch April 21, 2010

Good recipe for those who like really sweet beans. I cut the molasses in half and they were still sooooo sweet! I also cut the onion in half but would use all of them if I ever make this again as it would offset the sweetness some more! My family did not care for them only because they were so very sweet....other than that, the flavor was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theresa.pochatko July 04, 2009

I absolutely loved these!!!! Cut in half perfectly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 July 11, 2008

This was good and well received at our family get together. It was too sweet for my tastes and I think I could have easily left out the molasses. The French fried onions made a nice addition

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee May 10, 2008

Delicious beans! new change using crushed pineapple from most baked beans. I added a little brown sugar to the recipe for more sweetness. Sweeter the better is what we like here at our house. I did scale this down for 6 servings. It makes plenty! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. February 18, 2008

So happy these were posted! Made these to go along with pork bbq sandwiches for our Super Bowl spread. I left out the molasses, but put in about 1/2 cup pancake syrup so they were still super sweet. I used 16 oz. instead of 20 ounce pineapple. I didn't put the onions on top until the last 5 minutes for fear of them burning. This is one of the easiest, most delicious baked bean recipes ever! Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom February 04, 2008

oh yum, this is wonderful! I used Louisiana hot sauce but I increased the amount, I also increased the bacon, this makes a ton so it is perfect for a large family or a get together, thanks so much for sharing this great recipe, I will make again soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz February 02, 2008
Sue and Gloria's Baked Beans! (Paula Deen Show)