43 Reviews

In order for this to taste good, you must puree the chipotle in adobo sauce first (don't just chop it up, I made that mistake the first time I made this), and then measure from the puree. And also, we used fresh lime as opposed to the kind that comes in the little lime shaped bottles. This makes a big difference! We also used a clove from garlic that was bought at Aldi. The amount of garlic they called for in this recipe was WAYY too much. You could get away with probably using a quarter of the amount they say to use, or even put garlic powder (not salt!) in TO TASTE. I tried the original sauce alongside this sauce that I made, and noticed that other than the being much less garlicy, the original seems to be a little redder in color, and a little spicier (maybe you could put in just a tad more of your chipotle in adobo puree, but TO TASTE). But once more, I will warn you, the garlic will overpower everything if you aren't careful! But all in all, it's a good recipe, and it might even be the original recipe Subway developed, but just with fresh ingredients as opposed to using powders, preservatives, etc.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjones8295 February 08, 2010

didn't taste like subway's sauce...or maybe i am a horrible cook lol

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
david5 February 21, 2009

Well, Mean Chef, this is definitly a winner. I left out the salt,used light mayo and used bottled lime juice. I had it on some left over pot roast and it was wonderful. If I had any complaint it would be that instead of tablespoons you used ounces. This may be a little confusing for people that don't know that 1 fluid ounce is actually 2 tablespoons. This will be stocked in my fridge at all times, now.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda in Winnipeg April 28, 2005

I'm glad that I can make my own meatball sandwiches instead of going over to Subway. The key ingredient I needed was the chipotle sauce, and this recipe really did the trick. I decided to blend everything together, as the chipotle peppers needed more than what a knife could do. I decreased the amount of mayo and added a bit more of the adobo to give the sauce a nice, orange color. By blending it all, the sauce came out creamy. However, for those who prefer a copycat version, use a little less chipotle. My sauce had a bit of a kick to it, and some of the other reviewers thought that the original recipe was too spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpatel02004 November 01, 2012

This isn't exactly like subways, theirs is less spicy and more creamy, but it is a good substitute. I add a little ketchup to mine (a tablespoon or two), it helps mellow out the lime/spice & makes the color of it more like subways.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buttterscotch April 17, 2012

I made this today and put it on panini's . It was awesome! I used honey mustard and it was great
Thank you for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nordie1758 May 30, 2011

This is the perfect for any sandwich. You can make it as spicy as you want by adding more or less chipotle peppers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover June 13, 2010

I thought this was great! I added just a touch of honey and everyone who has had it just loved it, It's a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carjam1 May 18, 2010

Delicious!! I make sandwiches a couple times a week and this really spices them up and makes them unique!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homebody13 March 02, 2010

Fantastique on anything, meats, seafood, chicken and mixed green salads! Add 1/2 tsp. or less of smoked paprika far darker color and deeper flavor. a sprig of cilatro makes it southwest authentic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chop-stewey February 23, 2010
Subway's Chipotle Southwest Sauce