Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Subway's Chipotle Southwest Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Subway's Chipotle Southwest Sauce

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2010

      In order for this to taste good, you must puree the chipotle in adobo sauce first (don't just chop it up, I made that mistake the first time I made this), and then measure from the puree. And also, we used fresh lime as opposed to the kind that comes in the little lime shaped bottles. This makes a big difference! We also used a clove from garlic that was bought at Aldi. The amount of garlic they called for in this recipe was WAYY too much. You could get away with probably using a quarter of the amount they say to use, or even put garlic powder (not salt!) in TO TASTE. I tried the original sauce alongside this sauce that I made, and noticed that other than the being much less garlicy, the original seems to be a little redder in color, and a little spicier (maybe you could put in just a tad more of your chipotle in adobo puree, but TO TASTE). But once more, I will warn you, the garlic will overpower everything if you aren't careful! But all in all, it's a good recipe, and it might even be the original recipe Subway developed, but just with fresh ingredients as opposed to using powders, preservatives, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      Well, Mean Chef, this is definitly a winner. I left out the salt,used light mayo and used bottled lime juice. I had it on some left over pot roast and it was wonderful. If I had any complaint it would be that instead of tablespoons you used ounces. This may be a little confusing for people that don't know that 1 fluid ounce is actually 2 tablespoons. This will be stocked in my fridge at all times, now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      didn't taste like subway's sauce...or maybe i am a horrible cook lol

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      I'm glad that I can make my own meatball sandwiches instead of going over to Subway. The key ingredient I needed was the chipotle sauce, and this recipe really did the trick. I decided to blend everything together, as the chipotle peppers needed more than what a knife could do. I decreased the amount of mayo and added a bit more of the adobo to give the sauce a nice, orange color. By blending it all, the sauce came out creamy. However, for those who prefer a copycat version, use a little less chipotle. My sauce had a bit of a kick to it, and some of the other reviewers thought that the original recipe was too spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      This isn't exactly like subways, theirs is less spicy and more creamy, but it is a good substitute. I add a little ketchup to mine (a tablespoon or two), it helps mellow out the lime/spice & makes the color of it more like subways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      I made this today and put it on panini's . It was awesome! I used honey mustard and it was great
      Thank you for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      This is the perfect for any sandwich. You can make it as spicy as you want by adding more or less chipotle peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      I thought this was great! I added just a touch of honey and everyone who has had it just loved it, It's a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Delicious!! I make sandwiches a couple times a week and this really spices them up and makes them unique!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Fantastique on anything, meats, seafood, chicken and mixed green salads! Add 1/2 tsp. or less of smoked paprika far darker color and deeper flavor. a sprig of cilatro makes it southwest authentic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      This s%@t is good if you blend the peppers first. Taste very identical with a kick that is more awesome than the subway version. Very yummy. Great on a pastrami sandwich with some pepper jack cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I substituted light mayo and added about 1/2 cup water to make it low fat and give it a more liquid dressing consistency. Also, I put it all in a food processor until creamy, so it is not as lumpy as the photo shows.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This is very good and very very close to what I like at Subway. (I am sure that the ingredients that I picked up made the difference in the taste)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      Delicioius! Made this for sub sandwiches tonight (on Crusty French Bread, Crusty French Bread) and it was perfect! I loved it and it was definately a hit with DH who was worried it might be rationed for the guests coming this weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      I was wary of this recipe but I needed a southwest sauce. It was really really good! My son wanted me to make a mock California Pizza Kitchen Flatbread Melt and so I did. I sauteed up some onion, red and green bell pepper, cooked up some diced chicken (seasoned with cumin, oregano and paprika) and served them with this sauce and mozzarella cheese in a pita bread (didn't find the flat bread at the store). Grilled it in a pan, or microwaved it. It was exceptional! Thanks for the great sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

    • on July 12, 2009

      As a Southwest Sauce ADDICT, I clearly had to try this recipe. I used powdered garlic and pureed the chipotle before measuring. While it did not taste exactly like subway, it had all the same notes and was definitely delicious on my sandwich. It tasted much fresher. Overall a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      The chipotle was a little strong- I would cut back a bit. Maybe start with a half ounce, and move from there. I did puree the peppers before measuring, as suggested by others, which may have made a difference. I think this would also be better with powdered garlic, rather than fresh, in order to more closely replicate Subway's flavor. I started with fresh lime juice, but ended up adding a fairly good bottled variety (“Volcano Lime Burst�- it comes in of those little plastic limes, but it has real lime oil in the cap and a better flavor than most) when I realized I needed more acid since I was feeling lazy and didn't want to juice another lime. I found this actually helped the flavor. As some have stated, this recipe tastes "fresher" than Subway's version, but truthfully, theirs is more satisfying. If you want fresh, use fresh garlic and limes, if you want Subway's, use powdered at bottled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      This is right on the money! Easy to make and delicious on any deli sandwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Subway's Chipotle Southwest Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (22 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 78.3
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    75%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 152.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites