Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Subway Sweet Onion Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Subway Sweet Onion Sauce

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2008

      OH MY! My son walked into the house from school & before the door even closed he said, "It smells like Subway in here!" The sauce thickens as it cools. But I would suggest letting the mixture cool before covering instead of going with the directions. I did cover first but it was so hot the steam built up inside & I had an exploding Tupperware lid. LOL A bit messy, yes, but the taste is sooo worth it. Served this to 8 hungry guys along with hoagie rolls, sliced green pepper, red onion, cucumber, black olives, pepperoncini, & shredded lettuce. I did have tomatoes but they didn't look good by the time I needed them so left them out. I don't think anyone noticed. The only complaint was that we all wanted a lot more sauce. I tripled the recipe to feed everyone & added it to the crockpot with cooked & shredded chicken. Everyone liked the shredded meat instead of chunks but in the crock the sauce thinned up again. I am going to buy a squeezy bottle like Subway would use, so next time I can serve room temperature sauce on the side. It's a sticky, sweet & tangy flavor that is probably the best copycat recipe I've tried so far. Just like Subway! Yummm!!! This "baby" was chosen from the PAC Spring 2008 orphanage & all I can say is that I am one LUCKY Mommy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      I used the recipe from Todd Wilbur's "Top Secret Recipes" book. It was identical to this except instead of 'buttermilk baking mix' it used 'buttermilk powder' instead, which makes more sense to me. I also used dried minced onions from the seasonings isle, which I think is what this recipe is meant to use.

      Overall it's got a good flavor, but I can't speak to it's closeness to Subway's Sweet Onion Sauce since I haven't had it in a long while. It comes together well and tastes even better after refrigeration.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      I just got done making this sauce, and it is in the fridge to cool. I have a feeling it's not going to taste like the subway sauce, like at all. First of all, it's WAY too dark to be the subway sweet onion sauce. Theirs is thick, and very light, with tiny red flake things in it. Tastes like purple onions, not white ones. I could just be judging it by the looks and the thought of the ingredients, so I'm not going to rate it until it cools and I can taste it. I REALLY hope that it tastes just like the sauce, because that's my favorite sauce for both my subs and salads!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      Pretty damn good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      this stuff taste nothing like the subways sweet onion sauce, sorry to the creator but it tastes more like a handful of onions soaked in balsamic vinegar! honestly everytime i go to subway the people there are more than willing to give u a plastic cup of their real sweet onion sauce, probabaly just easier that way....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Mmmm this sauce is so good! And sweet! Great way to perk up the flavor of boring reheated chicken for dinner. Shredded the cooked chicken and used this as the sauce.Served it also with tomatoes. Next time, I'll serve it the subway style with all those additional garnishes(olives, lettuce, etc) in the sandwich. Prep time plus cooking is actually less than 10mins as everything's just mixed all together and microwaved for at least 2mins. Thanks! Made for PAC Fall 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Every time we go to Subway my son gets this sandwich. It's offical, the recipe has passed the Bubba(he is very picky) test. Bubba said it taste exactly same. Three cheers. This is a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      taste just like the real thing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      We made this tonight. It's a keeper. I will be making this again. Thanks so much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      My hubby and I both like this sauce. I serve it with teriyaki chicken pitas or grilled chicken wrapped in tortillas with lettuce and green pepper strips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      Just perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      The real thing is by far not as sweet as what comes out of this recipe. It is much more tangy rahter than sweet. Also the calories in the real thing are much lower then this would be if made as listed. After making the batch as written, I cut out the brown sugar and used half the amount of corn syrup, added one teaspoon of honey and it was MUCH better. I also added some red pepper flakes, just a person preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      I hate giving such low ratings, but we did not like this sauce at all. Though I haven't tried it at Subway before either, I decided to give it a shot. It was a matter of personal taste, but this was too sweet for us. Tasted kind of like a sugar syrup coz of the corn syrup and couldn't detect anything else in there. I won't be making this one again, sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      I love this sauce! I used a little of the sauce as a salad dressing and it was yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      I haven't made this yet because I'm vegan. the real stuff is vegan too so why does this have buttermilk in it?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      I like it better than the sauce from Subway. The flavors are more robust than theirs. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      Exellent!! I'm dieting and this sauce makes the chicken/spinach salads taste wonderful. Thank you very much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

    • on December 24, 2005

      My dad adores this sauce at Subway but they won't sell it to him so I decided to make him some for Christmas. He was thrilled to death! A very handy sauce to have around for when you want something besides your usual condiments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      Excellent, love the poppy seeds! Served it on onion rolls with brown sugar deli ham and provolone

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Subway Sweet Onion Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 794.0
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    56%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 642.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 209.6 g
    69%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 77.5 g
    310%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites