Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Substitute for Mascarpone Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Substitute for Mascarpone Cheese

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2002

      Do you know how hard it is to find mascarpone cheese where I live? It's easier to find a unicorn! I made a batch of tiramisu this past weekend and used this substitute. Served it to some discerning food snobs, and it got a thumbs up from everyone, and a request for seconds. One friend asked me where I had managed to find mascarpone in our culinary dessert. I just sat back and smiled. This will be our secret, Kevin, thanks! Next time I'm going to try it with a lower-fat cream cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Genius and such a life-saving recipe when the real thing becomes impossible to find! Used it in my cannoli cupcakes and nobody was the wiser. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      Great sub. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Believe me, it's the perfect substitute too! What a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      I live in a small town but love to cook gourmet desserts! So, in a small town we have the regular ole cheese, so finding this recipe has helped me alot because i really wanted to do this recipe that i found on this website, and i looked up the substitute and is AWESOME! i absolutely love it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      This came through in a pinch when I needed Mascarpone for Tiramisu cupcakes. I could eat this all day long. Thank you Kevin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      I've never tasted mascarpone; this worked great in a trifle recipe. I was tempted to make a second batch just to eat :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I halved this recipe and it turned out wonderfully! This is so easy and inexpensive to make and it worked perfectly in my Tiramisu. Thank you for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      Two thumbs up! I could have sworn up and down that I had purchased mascarpone in our store before, I guess not! It can't be found anywhere! I was very pleased to find this recipe here! Super simple ingredients, super simple instructions! Very tasty thanks for posting! Used for practice in RSC#12

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Honestly, I don't know what Mascarpone cheese should taste like so I can't say how close it is, but I needed this for the RSC#12 event and it is absolutely fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      Wow, I am so glad this recipe was available as I needed Mascarpone for the Tiramisu Layer Cake recipe. Since I live outside of Atlanta I thought I'd have no trouble finding mascarpone -- boy, was I wrong! So I moved to plan B -- this substitute -- and it worked extremely well. Very nice flavor and texture!!! What a lifesaver : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      Perfect.. When I first was introduced to mascarpone in Germany- I asked my friends.."what do you use it for?"..Their reply was "for everything!" The last time I splurged for it, it went bad in the fridge. I have made this recipe twice and it works well for me.. Use it in places you would use cream cheese for a more refined flavor. Thanks. 'Nora

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      Overwhelming cream cheese taste. I added 1 tbsp vanilla to change it up a bit, but didn't turn out the way I had expected :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      used this as a substitute since our grocery ran out of mascarpone and had to make tiramisu. Followed your recipe as is and it was good.. There's still a slight difference between the real mascarpone since I could still taste the cream cheese but it does come pretty close, and the tiramisu still came out perfect. Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      Thanks for this recipe saver! I couldn't find "real" mascapone cheese anywhere locally so this was just perfect! Very easy to put together too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      finding mascapone where I now live is almost like finding a goood Chinese restaurant. I used this recipe to make my Tiramisu and no one even DH had a clue that it was not"real" mascapone. Thank for posting this marvelous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      I need mascarpone for Tiramisu Trifle Tiramisu Trifle but I couldn't find any. I used this substitute and it worked beautifully. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2005

      This is a life saver! I have a hard time finding mascarpone here, and when I do find it, I think pure gold is cheaper. This worked wonderfully for making Syrah's Tiramisu recipe (84612). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2004

      I use this same substitute, I am horrified at the astronomical price of Mascarpone. I think the people that pay for it full prce do so just because they are greatful to find a place that sells it! Brilliant substitute! Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      I couldn't believe that mascarpone (at $10.00 for a 500 ml container) was sold out at our market! So I used this substitute to make President's Choice Tiramisu - President's Choice Tiramisu; it tasted just as good as when I made it with the "real thing". Thanx Kevin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Substitute for Mascarpone Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (591 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1271.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1156
    90%
    Total Fat 128.4 g
    197%
    Saturated Fat 73.4 g
    367%
    Cholesterol 414.1 mg
    138%
    Sodium 1028.3 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 11.5 g
    46%
    Protein 19.8 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes