80 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If you warm the milk in the microwave for about 30 seconds, then add the vinegar or lemon juice it will be sour and ready to use immediately :-)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne June 14, 2008

Used this for Buttermilk Bread-ABM with great success. However, I had to make some modification. First, I used 1% milk with 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice but somehow the mixture did not thicken up like buttermilk should be. So I added 1/2 tsp of white wine vinegar which solved the problem.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myoungp November 22, 2009

Yes, my mom taught us this when we were kids. We baked a lot. This is perfect for quick breads like banana or zucchini, any muffin recipes or pancake type recipes that call for either sour milk or buttermilk. The vinegar and lemon work equally well. I think my mom taught us to let the mixture sit for about 20-30 min until we could see that the milk was curdling a bit, that's what you want. This is definitely for baking, not for fresh buttermilk dressings. I love buttermilk on fresh fruit..but I would never even consider this for something like that...only baking, in my opinion.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moramor June 09, 2005

This works really well! I've made this several times when baking, using 1 tbsp vinegar each time. There's no need to buy real buttermilk when you can make your own. Thanks a lot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haven't the slightest December 16, 2010

This substitution is a life saver with how many times I need buttermilk for recipes! Now I can make them more often thanks to you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
random witty name February 15, 2010

I've used this recipe several times now and it is great, so much cheaper than buying buttermilk and the bonus is you can make the quantity you need so no waste. Thank you KC_Cooker

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 14, 2009

Thanks for a great tip! Instead of buying buttermilk I use this now.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcfdwife August 09, 2009

This is exactly the way I make buttermilk, which I never purchase (who needs to with this substitute?!). I like to use fat-free milk and have never had any problems. I always use lemon juice as opposed to vinegar simply because the smell of vinegar repulses me. ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannahactually May 16, 2007

I prefer "real" buttermilk for things like buttermilk pie, but this works wonderfully when a recipe calls for 1/4 c., and I just refuse to buy a whole carton of buttermilk just to toss it out. I never thought of it as a "recipe". lol I've done this for centuries and it works!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ June 21, 2005

I have to say, I use this all the time because I never have buttermilk around and it works every time!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie Lynne June 17, 2005
Substitute for Buttermilk