Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Substitute for Buttermilk Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Substitute for Buttermilk

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2008

      If you warm the milk in the microwave for about 30 seconds, then add the vinegar or lemon juice it will be sour and ready to use immediately :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Used this for Buttermilk Bread-ABM with great success. However, I had to make some modification. First, I used 1% milk with 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice but somehow the mixture did not thicken up like buttermilk should be. So I added 1/2 tsp of white wine vinegar which solved the problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      Yes, my mom taught us this when we were kids. We baked a lot. This is perfect for quick breads like banana or zucchini, any muffin recipes or pancake type recipes that call for either sour milk or buttermilk. The vinegar and lemon work equally well. I think my mom taught us to let the mixture sit for about 20-30 min until we could see that the milk was curdling a bit, that's what you want. This is definitely for baking, not for fresh buttermilk dressings. I love buttermilk on fresh fruit..but I would never even consider this for something like that...only baking, in my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      This works really well! I've made this several times when baking, using 1 tbsp vinegar each time. There's no need to buy real buttermilk when you can make your own. Thanks a lot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This substitution is a life saver with how many times I need buttermilk for recipes! Now I can make them more often thanks to you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      I've used this recipe several times now and it is great, so much cheaper than buying buttermilk and the bonus is you can make the quantity you need so no waste. Thank you KC_Cooker

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Thanks for a great tip! Instead of buying buttermilk I use this now.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      This is exactly the way I make buttermilk, which I never purchase (who needs to with this substitute?!). I like to use fat-free milk and have never had any problems. I always use lemon juice as opposed to vinegar simply because the smell of vinegar repulses me. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2005

      I prefer "real" buttermilk for things like buttermilk pie, but this works wonderfully when a recipe calls for 1/4 c., and I just refuse to buy a whole carton of buttermilk just to toss it out. I never thought of it as a "recipe". lol I've done this for centuries and it works!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2005

      I have to say, I use this all the time because I never have buttermilk around and it works every time!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2014

      I use this every time I need buttermilk. It has always worked for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2014

      I use this constantly and never rated it! I hate buying buttermilk for baking and then always having half a carton left with nothing to use it for. Now I don't bother and just make this! Thanks:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      worked like a charm! banana nut bread, here we come! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      Worked like a charm! Used white vinegar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      Thanks this recipe sure did save me in a pinch. Will use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      I have used this recipe hundreds of times with great success. I always use powedered milk (I never cook with fresh milk due to cost), it still works everytime. I do think room temp. milk is better, but that is my preferance. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Thank you so muchKC.Not only did it work in my dumpling recipe but also saved me money-and no waste(usually i end up throwing out buttermilk because i don't use it very often and i can only buy it in larger quantity than i need).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      I'm sure like everyone else, I was a little hesitant to put vinegar in a dessert. However, it did not change anything in the outcome. Thanks so much for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Bad planning necessitated that I scramble for a buttermilk substitute. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Seems to have worked pretty good when I needed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Substitute for Buttermilk

    Serving Size: 1 (259 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 159.5
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    50%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 34.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 119.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes