Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Substitute Buttermilk Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Substitute Buttermilk

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2012

      You can also use 1 cup of milk (not skim, or 1%) and add 2 tblsp white vinegar to it. Stir and then let sit on counter for at least 15 minutes. A very good substitute, and not everyone has powdered milk on hand, but thanks for an alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      This worked great in Toffee Bar Coffee Cake

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      This worked really well for me. I hardly EVER have buttermilk on-hand, so recipes like this are always a lifesaver. It doubles easily. I used it to make Irish Soda Bread for dinner tomorrow and this recipe really did the trick. I will be using this recipe for many years to come, thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I used this recipe for #178757 ihop pancakes this morning..They came out wonderful..Thank U for this recipe..I will use it often...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      This did not work well for me in Buttermilk Dressing. I had to add more mayonnaise for thickening. It would probably be ok in baked goods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      You can also use almost 1 cup milk & 1 T lemon juice. Let it sit 10 mins

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      This is a great sub when you run low or out of buttermilk. Works a treat thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      Thanks for an extremely useful recipe. I couldn't get buttermilk and used this. Worked a treat in Mariealices Ultimate Scones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      I used this recipe tonight becasue I needed buttermilk for my Mouthwatering Strawberry Muffins recipe and I didn't realize I was out. This worked perfectly and came together just like buttermilk. Thanks for sharing this easy substitute recipe! It was really helpful in a pinch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Substitute Buttermilk

    Serving Size: 1 (327 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 424.3
     
    Calories from Fat 205
    48%
    Total Fat 22.8 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 14.2 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 82.8 mg
    27%
    Sodium 323.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 32.8 g
    131%
    Protein 22.4 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites