62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I would give this a 4 1/2 star, but DH overruled me and said 5 stars, 12 month old inhaled the potatoes, which he ususally doesn't care for. I used about a pound and a half yukon gold potatoes I had on hand and about a pound of browned kielbasa sausage. Left the other amounts the same, but added a can full of chicken stock, some garlic and salt / pepper. The end result was good, I think without the extra liquid the sauce might have been too thick for us. As I made it, turned into a nice gravy consistency, was a tad salty for my taste, would probably add low sodium broth/soup and no salt next time. Used some homemade wheat bread to soak up the sauce and garlic green beans on the side. Very good and pretty darn easy! Will make again soon per DH request!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 November 06, 2008

This was very easy and very good. The whole family loved it. As for the saltiness issue, I thought it was fine the night we cooked it, but heated up the next day it was a little salty. I'll just use 3/4 Pkg. of ranch next time. Thanks for a yummy, comforting meal!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kerrywilks December 15, 2010

Just right for a smaller (3 - 3-1/2 qt.) Crock-Pot! I first wondered about the ingredients, but they actually work! I used "lite" cream cheese and low-fat smoked sausage, so it should be less caloric. I'm putting this on my "make again" list!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fred Puhan December 07, 2010

I really liked how easy this was to make. I did add a diced onion and about 4 diced celery sticks to the original along with 1/2 a cup of water to make more gravy. Other than that it was great. Do not add salt to this recipe..it has enough with the soup. A little pepper when done and you won't be disappointed.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
d.houck_4713933 September 12, 2010

I love this recipe. The sauce is divine. I have made this many times, and everyone always loves it. I use about half the package of dry ranch dressing mix, but it is not too salty even using the whole package.
You can also add some chopped onion, a sliced carrot or two, a touch of minced garlic, a couple fresh mushrooms and a dash of red pepper flakes if you wish. I have even substituted the potatoes with turnips or rutabagas. The supreme sauce loves experimentation.
Thanks you, Heather. This is a definite keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmptyO January 21, 2012

I chose to try this recipe for the title, Stupid Easy as that is what I needed. I followed the recipe except to add a cup of chicken broth as suggested in some of the reviews as it really looked too thick. I did add onions and garlic powder and black pepper. Hubby loved it and the recipe used things that I have in my pantry. So for me this was a win win situation.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
livingstonfran November 02, 2011

Pretty Good. Both kids liked it (4 yrs and 2 yrs). I thought it was salty and my husband hasn't tried it yet. I would add onions and less ranch mix next time but it was stupid easy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lasko January 07, 2011

Super Easy and delicious....whole family loved this. Will definitely make this again...I had no issue with saltiness and made it just as directed. Thanks for sharing:)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fighting Irish #7 December 29, 2010

Very good - nice on a cold night. I agree that it is very salty - will use 1/2 - 3/4 of the ranch next time. I added a box of frozen spinach and some chopped baby portabello mushrooms - my husband & daughter both liked it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cgbailey December 18, 2010

This was good! I added frozen green beans last two hours of cooking. It was perfect.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nclpalacios November 30, 2010
Stupid Easy Crock Pot / Slow Cooker Sausage & Potatoes