Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stuffed Zucchini Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stuffed Zucchini

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2002

      Delicious. I had lots of fresh zucchini from my mom's garden and this was a great way to use it. I really liked the meat filling so full of vegetables and seasonings. Topped off with cheese. Yummy good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2002

      I have made stuffed zucchini before but not with a meaty filling. My husband and I both liked your version. The filling was spicy and well seasoned. This is a meal that we think is worth repeating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      We had an abundance of Zucchini (isn't that always the case?) and I just loved this idea. But, my husband wasn't feeling like having an Italian flavored meal. So, we put our heads together and decided to take this idea and turn it Mexican. The only things we changed were the Italian spices and the cheese. We used cilantro instead of parsley, hot Mexican chili powder instead of Italian seasoning, curry instead of basil and added some cayenne and cumin. We switched the mozzarella cheese out for shredded Mexican cheese. It turned out really well. The only change we thought we'd make next time was sprinkle some salt over the Zucchini's before “stuffing� them. We used 4 good sized zucchini's and still had some meat mixture left over. So we added the zucchini “pulp� that we had scraped out, mixed it well (with meat), put it in a pan, poured some spicy Rotel tomatoes over it and baked it along with the others. It came out as a nice hearty, spicy dip for chips. This is a very versatile recipe, can't wait to try the original version – thanks! PS – I always substitute oatmeal for breadcrumbs and did this time as well. It is a healthful swap for those willing to try. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2014

      I cook the meat first, otherwise the texture seems a little mushy. LOVE this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      This was fab!!!! I had an over abundance of zucchini and did some up and froze them. They were delicous as well. The squash didn't have as nice a texture as they did when fresh but the filling was just as good as it was when first mixed up. I'm thinking I'll take advantage of the next big ground beef sale and just freeze filling next time. This is definately a keeper!!! Thanks so much for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      This absolutely wowed my whole family. Because we're all fond of spicy foods, I made one substitution, using "hot" bulk sausage instead of ground beef. It was incredibly flavorful!. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      I have made stuffed zucchini in the past and thought I'd try a new recipe, especially since it had so many good reviews. The only thing I did differently is use fresh herbs (increased to equal the dry amount). I thought the dish was rather plain, despite adding even more mozzarella cheese than listed. I might have been better with spaghetti sauce instead of the tomato sauce. We had leftovers and I was anticipating it to taste even better the following night, as most dishes do, but it was really just the same as the first night. I would not use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      Gave my mom this recipe tonight and she made it. Had to make a few provisions due to what we had on hand. Used only 1/4 salt, thought the rest of the ingredients had enough, used spiced canned tomatoes, drained, had no fresh ones here, substituted green and orange pepper for jalepeno, and used ragu as we had no tomato sauce...everything else we kept the same. I have to say it was one of the best dishes I've ever had. I hate rating recipes with so many changes but I'm sure it was just as good either way. We had leftovers so i can't wait to have it again tomorrow night. Thanks so much for sharing this great dish. I forgot to add that we had some leftover meat mixture that we plan to stuff green peppers with.and I can't wait! Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      A great budget recipe! 4 zucchini were enough to feed 8 people, we enjoyed it with a side of spaghetti mixed with garlic,olive oil and Parmesan cheese. Excellent !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      Made Vegetarian Style- I made these for Easter for our single adult son and a niece. I mention single because the only home cooking is from me. This recipe is a keeper. Wonderful, fresh tasting, moist and juicy made with fresh herbs. Other family member children were eating seconds (had no clue it was vegetarian). I used Morningstar Crumble, 1/2 ea red and green pepper, red and yellow tomato, red pepper flakes, omitted egg and use 1/4 C Panko, also marinara sauce. Reason for omitting egg and using less Panko, Crumble is moist and a soy protein, I didn't want to dry it out.
      Thank you, a very versatile recipe for any stuffing (mushroom, eggplant,squash,tomato), I might try with Morningstar sausage next time. Will post pic soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      I was frantically looking for this recipe because I forgot to rate it after first making it! So happy I found it again. Excellent, loved it, I could eat this every day. My husband loved it too. He inspected the zucchini boat before digging in, always a bit fearful of vegetables. The boats bring a beautiful texture and flavor into the ordinary meatloaf. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Very tasty! I did not use bell pepper - husband doesn't like them. I didn't have cans of tomato sauce, so I used marinara sauce instead. And I didn't use chopped up tomatoes. And I cooked the ground beef first - sauteing the onions along with it . That's just a preference of mine. I like to drain the meat, even when I use low fat meat such as ground round. Other than those four things, I followed the rest of the recipe directions. It was a simple recipe that produces a dish that makes it seem the cook spent hours in the kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      This was really, really good!! I added spicy italian sausage to the recipe and cut the amount of ground beef. Since the sausage was spicy, and kids were going to be eating it, i left the jalapenos out. Next time I will go ahead and add them to the recipe. I also browned the meat and veggies before stuffing it. I may not do that the next time just to see which way i like best. Also, instead of tomato sauce i had a jar of pasta sauce that i used. Very tasty, a must try. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      El Yummo!! Thanks for sharing this recipe. We'll definitely be having this again. I used hot italian turkey sausage in place of the ground beef and added sliced mushrooms and sliced black olives. Fabulous! The recipe definitely makes a ton of stuffing. It was probably double the amount I needed for 5 zucchini but I froze the rest to stuff some bell peppers for dinner next week. Next time though I think I'll half the stuffing ingredients, then pre-brown and drain before stuffing the zucchini, then only bake maybe 20-30 minutes. This was excellent! Another reviewer mentioned this tastes just like a "works" pizza without the crust. I couldn't agree more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      These are incredible zucchini! I followed the recipe exactly, and it came out great. The stuffing definitely makes more than enough for 4-5 medium zucchini, but maybe that's because I didn't scoop out enough of the zucchini flesh. I had a couple very large zucchini, a few medium, and a few small stuffed by the time it was all gone. I also tried it with one yellow squash, and it was also really delicious! This is definitely a great recipe, and I will make it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      I used panko breadcrumbs and tomato paste instead of sauce and left out the tomatoes (used what I had). I had only Italian Seasoning, so that's what I used. Awesome flavour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      OMG! This is absolutely fantastic! DH and I loved it, I will most definitely be making this often. Thanks for posting this winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I served these up with Twice Baked Potatoes and Stewed Tomatoes with a little heat! Great way to change up zucchini! Potzi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      This was SO GOOD! I had lots of zucchinis just waiting to be used so I was dying to try this recipe. They were SO yummy and had so much flavour! It took a bit of work to put together, but hallowing out the zucchini wasn't as nearly as hard/lengthy as I thought it'd be. I had very little tomato sauce on hand, so I decided to try adding some barbecue sauce instead, and talk about yummy! I added extra barbecue sauce on top before putting it into the oven, and topped it off with a mix of mozzarella and cheddar cheese. They were devoured. I still have some extra stuffing, which I've put into some bell peppers that are waiting patiently in the fridge for tomorrow's dinner :) Thank you tons! Can't wait to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      WOW. This was a meal all by itself. My DH took one bite and said, "MMMM, this tastes a lot like supreme pizza." So, now we have a healthy substitute to satisfy those pizza cravings in our home! :) I used just a very few Ritz Crackers instead of breadcrumbs (that's all I had). Other than that, this is a fabulous low-carb choice. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Cheese Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stuffed Zucchini

    Serving Size: 1 (354 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 413.7
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    46%
    Total Fat 21.5 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 134.2 mg
    44%
    Sodium 1171.1 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    40%
    Protein 36.3 g
    72%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites