10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good recipe! I used ground beef instead of sausage. Hubby thought it was worth having seconds! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ July 06, 2011

Loved this recipe...and yep - tastes just like lasagna - only lighter! I have tons of zucchini and this is how I'll be using it! LOVE IT! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieDoll July 26, 2010

This was awesome. I used pork italian sausage and one large zucchini, made 4 portions. Added a little extra cheese. Will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renayda July 31, 2012

Awesome! I made this for supper tonight... My boyfriend and I loved it! What a great alternative to the usual pasta dish. I am not the biggest fan of noodles/rice so this is a keeper! I didn't have mozza or tomato sauce so I used marble cheese and garlic & herb pasta sauce. I omitted the salt since I find italian sausage to be enough on it's own. I also added a few cloves of garlic. Delicious! Next time I'll have to make sure I let it sit for about 5 - 10 minutes after I take it out of the oven. We didn't have the patients so it was a little messy... But that's ok! Thank you :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ardenia March 01, 2010

Yum!! My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe! After buying zucchini at the store, my husband informed me he hated zucchini! I knew that wasn't true, and found a recipe that changed his mind! I accidently forgot the breadcrumbs, used less onion but did add in garlic, a little ricotta and more cheese!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mskitty84 November 04, 2009

Yep! Tastes like lasagna! A great way to use up that garden zucchini! I mixed the tomato sauce into the pan of other ingredients before stuffing the zucchini.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 September 03, 2007

This is a perfect way to satify your craving for Italian food and still eat healthy. I used all ground turkey and just added extra Italian spice and did not miss the sausage at all. Thanks so much for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
E.A. August 23, 2007

I used all ground beef and spiced it up with seasonings to try and get that italian sausage zing. I didn't blanch the zucchini, just removed the seeds, some of the zuke meat then followed recipe directions. My zukes were large and so I wrapped in tin foil and baked them on a cookie sheet. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay September 11, 2006

This was very good. I used 2 very large zucchini. Next time I will add a bit of the sauce to the sausage mixture before I stuff them. I also added Parmesan to the mixture and sprinkled it over the top with the sauce and the Mozzarella. A Keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna's Mom August 22, 2006

Wow, what a delicious recipe - I really wish I could give more than five stars for this one! I used Spicy Italian Sausage and sourdough breadcrumbs and both worked great! The recipe didn't say when to add the cheese but I figured it went on top ot the sauce :). Thanks for giving me my new favorite recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babs7 February 17, 2006
Stuffed Zucchini