Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stuffed Turban Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stuffed Turban Squash

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2011

      This was very good. A bit labor intensive, but fun for a cool winter day when I wasn't planning to go anywhere, anyways! I made it as recommended but took others' advice and added some herbs and spices. It was very tasty, and I can't remember the last time I wanted to gorge myself on squash! One thing I'm wondering is why it's necessary to put the squash mix back into the empty shell to re-bake it, rather than putting it into a casserole dish or something. It seems like the latter would be less messy, as I had a hard time scooping the leftover squash mixture back out of the shell. Did make for a nice presentation, though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      As with others, my squash didn't cook within one hour. I put it in the microwave for another 30 minutes. This was the first time I've prepared Turban Squash and found it delightful. I added a little fresh rosemary from my garden, as well as thyme. YUMMY! It's VERY pretty to set on the table.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Thanks Sue. I have been looking for something to do with winter squash. This was fantastic! I didn't have the turban so I used a buttercup squash and I used maple flavored sausage. The turban must have a thicker rind because it fell apart and I just mixed it in a bowl and put it in a small cassarole. I did everything else the same. Thank you again I definetly will make this again. Bonnie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      I made this a few weeks ago, because I had bought a turban around Halloween - they are so beautiful. It was so delicious, and easy, that I decided to bring it to Thanksgiving. A really big hit! Even my daughter, who hates vegetables, loves it. Huzzah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      This is the best squash recipe that I have ever had. My wife and I are on a diet and have been eating quite a bit of squash lately. I have been little impressed with the other squash recipes that we have had. This one was great. It didn't have that typical squash flavor to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      This is my two year old sons favorite dish! He has about three helpings every time we make it. We like to add in fresh sage, sometimes even rosemary. We have also modified the "breading" using leftover stuffing (it had celery and turkey in the stuffing). After trying this dish, we've made it about 5 times this winter. I think it might also freeze well, though we never have enough left over to freeze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      This was sooo good! I didn't even buy this squash for cooking, just Halloween decoration, but i decided to try to do something with it. This recipe had to be tampered with a little bit (I added a lot of spices and jasmine rice) and it was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      Yeah, my partner and I didn't get what's all the fuzz about. Thank god I didn't use a lot of kitchenware otherwise I'd be angry to stay and clean a mess after a mediocre recipe. It was ok, nicely presented, but that's all. We used regular pork sausage, but we had to add some nice hungarian hot paprika to perk it up. I would suggest a hungarian "red" sausage instead, with paprika and garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      Everyone was pleasantly surprised. My family doesn't really care for squash but they loved this tasty version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      fabulous recipe, made it as is and it makes an excellent presentation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      This was DELICIOUS! This was my first time cooking any type of squash aside from basic yellow squash and I'm very impressed. It was simple to prepare but tasted as though I'd spent hours on it. I used 1lb of sausage and made my own stuffing, but kept the recipe the same otherwise. I'll definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Great recipe. Took me much longer to cook the squash, much like WI Cheesehead (Go Packers!). Also, don't be afraid to spice it up according to taste--I added coriander, rosemary, thyme, and red pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      I must have had a pretty large squash, bcz it wasn't done at all after 60 minutes. I ended up putting it in the microwave to finish and that softened the skin, so I cooked it in the oven in my cast iron skillet. I used some stalks of Swiss chard for the celery, chopped breakfast sausage and a leek. It filled the skillet and had a nice flavor. Kids recently decided they don't like squash! But I liked it. I guess they'll have to eat sweet potatoes (which they will still eat).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      This recipe both tastes great and looks great on the table and it is not very difficult to prepare. It is a winning combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Try to get veggies in my family any way I can, this was irresistible, it was so pretty it had to be good. "The Tuban"(never squash) is now a most requested dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      This was very good. I didn't cook my squash long enough because of the fact that I got a very large one, but even with that I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stuffed Turban Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.2
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    72%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 56.1 mg
    18%
    Sodium 1017.5 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    turban squash

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites