Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stuffed Small Red Potato Appetizer Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stuffed Small Red Potato Appetizer

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2008

      Who knew potatoes could be so darn cute?!? :) I was very glad I did a 'trial run' before the holidays. Even though the recipe is basically foolproof, I did learn a few things that may be helpful to other party planners. First, I boiled them 10 minutes. Most were done, but a few slightly larger ones had to be returned to the pot for another minute or two, so it's helpful if they're more uniform in size. My taste testers thought the ones prepared as written were excellent. But I also tried some the way MommiBadami did, including the scooped out part in the filling for a 'twice-baked' effect, and they just flipped out over those. The bite of cracked pepper was a little too stong. (I used a coarse grinder, but will def. do a fine grind next time.) Also, the scooping part was a good bit more time-consuming than anticipated. Glad I know to start this early in the day. Oh, and be sure to cut a thin slice off the bottom if they don't sit perfectly flat or they'll tilt over in the oven and all the filling will slide out. All and all, just a delicious appy that's very, very visually appealing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      I decided to try these for Girls Night and they were a big hit. I followed the other reviewers suggestions and added the scoped out potatoes to the mixture to make mini twice baked potatoes. I also added 2 Tbsp butter to the mixture. I added about 6 pieces of bacon to give it a stronger bacon flavor. Thanks for the suggestion of cutting off the bottoms, really helped to keep the potatoes in place on the tray. Very good recipe, will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      Now who would have though a potato could make up into an absolutely delicious appetizer, one that tastes terrific and looks so inviting on a serving tray! It impressed. Made this using fresh garden potatoes. I was generous with the chives. I also mashed the centers, seasoned, shaped into balls and heated along side the potatoes. I arranged these on a separate platter with bowl of sour cream. I had no leftovers! Thank you and finedinings for a wonderful new appetizer to be serving my family and friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      I found a bag of mult- colored small potatoes (purple,yellow & red). I prepared all the ingredients together then separated in 3 different bowls so I could use the centers to match the color of the potato. My guests went crazy over these little bite sized morsels of yum! This was very fun to make and my only regret is that I should have tripled the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Hi Cheryl(sp?) - I love this recipe! We made this for a party and they were eaten up faster then we could get them out. I topped some of them with shrimp w/tails on & a small pinch of red pepper flakes. They were awesome!! I gave all the credit to you and now maybe we will have some new members. :) Thanks for posting - it's a keeper but worth all the time involved. Hugz, Manami ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      I've made these a couple of times for holiday parties. This time I prepared them the day before so I only had to pop them under the broiler for a few minutes. Served them as a side to beef filet and salmon, and they were gone in no time. I didn't add the scooped out potato to the mix, but will try that next time. I also like another reviewer's twist of adding shrimp and crushed red pepper on top. Will have to try that too. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      Very good thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      These were very tasty, but the bacon flavor got lost in the mix, so I would add more of it. Also, at the recommendation of previous reviewers I only cooked 10-12 minutes, but they should definitely be cooked longer. The centers at 12 minutes weren't mashable enough to add to the filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      I'm rating this recipe without having tasted them myself. I made a double batch for a party and these were gobbled up in a few short minutes. I did think they were a little labor intensive or maybe I was just tired from cooking all day. I made them the night before our party. I think next time I'll try freezing them the week before I plan to serve them. I also added some of the scooped potato to the filling as suggested by others. Thank you for this recipe, I hope I can taste one next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Made these for a party...everyone raved. I used the scooped out part of potato and mixed it with the sour cream and cheese and added a bacon bit into potato. Everyone loved them and I am making them for a nightclub opening party...perfect finger food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      Delicious - would make a wonderful appy, but we wound up eating them as a side to our entree which certainly added to the "fun" factor due to their size. Love make-ahead appys so this one's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      These were delicious...the only thing I changed was to add the scooped out centers to the mixture and used them as part of the filling...kind of like twice baked potatos....really good!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      What a great recipe! These were delicious! My DH says they remind him of a regular baked potato with toppings. They are very easy made and a excellant snack or a side dish for a meal. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe ncmysteryshopper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2005

      this is my recipe from my website! www.finedinings.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stuffed Small Red Potato Appetizer

    Serving Size: 1 (67 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.4
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    53%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 20.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 84.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites