14 Reviews

Who knew potatoes could be so darn cute?!? :) I was very glad I did a 'trial run' before the holidays. Even though the recipe is basically foolproof, I did learn a few things that may be helpful to other party planners. First, I boiled them 10 minutes. Most were done, but a few slightly larger ones had to be returned to the pot for another minute or two, so it's helpful if they're more uniform in size. My taste testers thought the ones prepared as written were excellent. But I also tried some the way MommiBadami did, including the scooped out part in the filling for a 'twice-baked' effect, and they just flipped out over those. The bite of cracked pepper was a little too stong. (I used a coarse grinder, but will def. do a fine grind next time.) Also, the scooping part was a good bit more time-consuming than anticipated. Glad I know to start this early in the day. Oh, and be sure to cut a thin slice off the bottom if they don't sit perfectly flat or they'll tilt over in the oven and all the filling will slide out. All and all, just a delicious appy that's very, very visually appealing!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton October 04, 2008

I decided to try these for Girls Night and they were a big hit. I followed the other reviewers suggestions and added the scoped out potatoes to the mixture to make mini twice baked potatoes. I also added 2 Tbsp butter to the mixture. I added about 6 pieces of bacon to give it a stronger bacon flavor. Thanks for the suggestion of cutting off the bottoms, really helped to keep the potatoes in place on the tray. Very good recipe, will definitely make again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelamarie5613 July 14, 2011

Now who would have though a potato could make up into an absolutely delicious appetizer, one that tastes terrific and looks so inviting on a serving tray! It impressed. Made this using fresh garden potatoes. I was generous with the chives. I also mashed the centers, seasoned, shaped into balls and heated along side the potatoes. I arranged these on a separate platter with bowl of sour cream. I had no leftovers! Thank you and finedinings for a wonderful new appetizer to be serving my family and friends.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry September 09, 2005

Hi Cheryl(sp?) - I love this recipe! We made this for a party and they were eaten up faster then we could get them out. I topped some of them with shrimp w/tails on & a small pinch of red pepper flakes. They were awesome!! I gave all the credit to you and now maybe we will have some new members. :) Thanks for posting - it's a keeper but worth all the time involved. Hugz, Manami ;)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manami December 20, 2009

I found a bag of mult- colored small potatoes (purple,yellow & red). I prepared all the ingredients together then separated in 3 different bowls so I could use the centers to match the color of the potato. My guests went crazy over these little bite sized morsels of yum! This was very fun to make and my only regret is that I should have tripled the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Desert Foodie June 23, 2011

I've made these a couple of times for holiday parties. This time I prepared them the day before so I only had to pop them under the broiler for a few minutes. Served them as a side to beef filet and salmon, and they were gone in no time. I didn't add the scooped out potato to the mix, but will try that next time. I also like another reviewer's twist of adding shrimp and crushed red pepper on top. Will have to try that too. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas Wine Girl December 26, 2012

Very good thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robynweik June 09, 2012

These were very tasty, but the bacon flavor got lost in the mix, so I would add more of it. Also, at the recommendation of previous reviewers I only cooked 10-12 minutes, but they should definitely be cooked longer. The centers at 12 minutes weren't mashable enough to add to the filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coleen114 May 24, 2011

I'm rating this recipe without having tasted them myself. I made a double batch for a party and these were gobbled up in a few short minutes. I did think they were a little labor intensive or maybe I was just tired from cooking all day. I made them the night before our party. I think next time I'll try freezing them the week before I plan to serve them. I also added some of the scooped potato to the filling as suggested by others. Thank you for this recipe, I hope I can taste one next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview September 12, 2009

Made these for a party...everyone raved. I used the scooped out part of potato and mixed it with the sour cream and cheese and added a bacon bit into potato. Everyone loved them and I am making them for a nightclub opening party...perfect finger food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rene22srl October 24, 2008
Stuffed Small Red Potato Appetizer