Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stuffed Shells (with Spinach and Cheese) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stuffed Shells (with Spinach and Cheese)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2007

      Loved it!!! Easy way to stuff shells..put all ingredients in ziplock bag and cut the end...no mess!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Very good! Will make again. I did use a 15oz container of ricotta in place of the cream cheese & cottage cheese. I also used fresh spinach, i just chopped it up and threw it in at the end of cooking the onion to cook out some of the moisture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      Delicious! I couldn't find whole wheat jumbo shells, so I rolled the filling up in lasagna rolls, and it was amazing! The cream cheese took it to another level! I will definitely be making these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      THANK you for this recipe! I tend to follow a recipe exactly as posted before I presume to "tweak" it at all, and this is a recipe I will make again and again just as it is (with the exception of using the cinnamon - I didn't use it - but actually will try it next time). Absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

    • on October 16, 2011

      I used this recipe mostly for methodology, and I love the addition of cinnamon, but I thought the amount of sauce was totally inadequate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      My family LOVED it!!! They ask me to make it all the time now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Wonderful!! DD finished the leftovers by taking them to school for lunch every day! Will make again soon. As promised, I have made this often, we still love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Love this recipe! Family came up to visit and we made this recipe with our homemade canned tomato sauce and they asked for the recipe. Come to find out they made it a couple of weeks later with alfredo sauce because they did not have my spaghetti sauce on hand. The said it was also great that way. Now my plan is to make a batch up, freeze it and use it for a halloween party that I will be holding. I can't wait to share them with the guests. Thanks a bunch!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      Wow. Is this delicious or what? I made this for a dinner party last night, and the shells disappeared in no time. Just a few changes: I used 15 oz. ricotta and reduced the shredded cheese by a cup, and I added some fresh chopped basil to the filling. There was enough filling to make two pans of jumbo shells. I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Very similar to my own shell recipe- I was interested in trying with the cheddar, though. I did sub ricotta for the cottage cheese. Very tasty! I also froze half of the shells (without sauce) and the results were great! Thanks for the variation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This was wonderful. I made it ahead and just put it in the oven when we got home from picking up my DD at the airport. Served with garlic bread and a tossed salad it was a beautiful dinner. My DD ate 5 of the shells! I also froze half of the stuffed shells without sauce and they thawed and cooked with great success. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      I thought I had reviewed this since I've made it twice, but see that I didn't. I am fixing it again tonight and love love this recipe. I'm trying to cut down on the meat in our diet and with this recipe, we didn't miss it at all..although some could be added and be great. I hesitated to make it at first because it seemed to have so many ingredients and somewhat time consuming, but it went together very quickly and the only real work was assembling the ingredients. I would agree that is does make a lot........but the leftovers are great and I had enough to share with my vegetarian GD. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      This was a hit with my vegetarian daughter and her family! Thank you for posting this great recipe. I used ricotta for the cream cheese as it is her favvy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      The whole family enjoyed this, even the picky eaters. I didn't have cottage cheese so I just used an extra 4 oz. of cream cheese that I had left over, omitted cinnamon, and I used a 26 oz. jar of spaghetti sauce instead of making the sauce recipe. Also cooked the whole 12 oz box of shells and had enough filling for almost all of them. Recipe worked out great and leftovers didn't last long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      This is awesome!! My husband is a picky eater, and he loved this! I, too, skipped the cinnamon, and I used sweet 'n low in place of sugar. I also used fat- free cream cheese and fat-free cottage cheese, and it was still delicious! There were leftovers, but I think it tasted even better the second and third day! Awesome recipe that I will definitely make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      Followed the directions exactly (omitted cinnamon) and it was really good. However, next time I think I will make a few changes. I would definetly use ricotta cheese instead of the cream cheese. It was a little bit too sweet for our taste. Also, I think I will half the cheese mixture next time--we ended up throwing a good portion of it away unused. But overall it is a great recipe! Thanks Laura70!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      I wish the number of stars was higher than 5!!! This is DELICIOUS!! Better than any resteraunt can make! Mine ended up making about 30 shells, so I just cooked up the whole box, in case some of them got ripped during boiling. I knew my family couldn't eat the whole amount in one meal, so I fixed ours in a smaller casserole dish, and put one in the freezer for another day! Such a wonderful rich flavor from the filling! I didn't use the sausage, but would like to try that another time! We will make this again! Perfect for company!!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      Yummy! I used another sauce recipe ( Spinach Stuffed Shells With a Mushroom Sauce #116484 ) because I needed to use up some mushrooms, and stuffed some cannelloni (sure i have spelt that wrong :P ) and it was amazing. My husband is a very fussy eater, who is Italian and usually only eats good quality food. This was a two thumbs up - rare - WELL DONE! Thanks for such a tasty stuffing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2004

      Fantastic recipe. The entire family loved it! Made this w/Ricotta Cheese instead of Cottage Cheese and omitted the cinnamon - that's about all I changed. Made about 30 shells and they just barely fit in a 13 x 9 pan. I will be adding this to our favorites! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stuffed Shells (with Spinach and Cheese)

    Serving Size: 1 (222 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.1
     
    Calories from Fat 198
    65%
    Total Fat 22.0 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 12.6 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 88.5 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1068.1 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 17.3 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parmesan cheese

    shell noodles

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites