9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

my family liked it, but i wasn't too fond of it. maybe it was the cottage cheese, but i found the stuffing a bit runny. i will use ricotta cheese in place of the cottage cheese next time for a firmer filling. overall, my family liked it and it was easy to prepare. i will also replace the ground chuck with ground italian sausage. hint: prepare your shells well ahead of time...speeds up the process.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lulu #280529 October 23, 2006

Really good! I scaled down the recipe for the 3 of us, and it worked great. I made as directed, but I used ground chicken in place of the beef. (it's just a textural thing with me - I like it more than ground beef) We ate it with Italian bread to mop up the sauce. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP January 27, 2006

These are so good. It's a very versatile recipe also. We wanted to go meatless, so I left out the ground chuck and put the crushed garlic in with the cheese. Also, I only had about 1/4 cup mayonnaise, but it still tasted very good. We all enjoyed our dinner tonight, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 January 03, 2006

I loved this! It is so filling! After 3 shells I was full! Had lots to reheat! I will definately make this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kwest82804 September 07, 2005

Another rave review...can't believe how much flavor there is from so little seasoning. I must have stuffed my shells to full because I ended up scooping the tops off the ones I had done to fill the last four shells and I threw in a package of thawed spinach. Next time will add more onion but I like onion.. This is the first time I've ever made stuffed shells so even enjoyed the filling part of it...one time a person sure could use three hands...lol..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SooZee August 19, 2005

"Yum mommy, I like dinner", said my five-year old. I always like to hear that. For me, I like quick recipes (less than 30 minutes)this one took some time, but it was worth it. I used a cake decorator bag to fill the shells: which helped speed things up. I couldn't find 32 oz. jar of sauce at the store, so I used two 24 oz. jars, which probably streched the receipe, but did not make it too soupy--just perfect. As mentioned before, this makes a lot. We had this for two meals and got thumbs up both times. This recipe will definately be used on a regular basis at our house--Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clueless in the Kitchen August 17, 2004

The recipe made a lot. I cooked the shells, made the dish, froze it. It thawed & cooked wonderfully! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Shull August 09, 2004

This was a delicious recipe. I have very picky eaters (kids) at my house and they even enjoyed this. Will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nanomom3 March 18, 2004

This is so good!!!! It's so close to lasgna as I can get by with. My DH doesn't like lasgna but loved this. There's nothing left. Will be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Myrna 2 February 27, 2004
Stuffed Shells