Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stuffed Rainbow Trout Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stuffed Rainbow Trout

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2002

      This is a great recipe. This is my first time making stuffed fish, but i received raving reviews. the stuffing was easy enough, and the aroma was wonderful. thx for sharing the recipe! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      This was really good. Had to double the recipe due to 9 trout. They fit just perfect into my glass casserole dish. Added a bit of finely chopped cooked bacon to the stuffing... Five stars from the entire family. BIL said it was the best stuffing he had ever tasted! :) Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      This is an excellent recipe for stuffed trout, I used frozen thawed trout for this, and used seasoned salt and white wine, what a great dinner served with Nimrod's Mashed Potato Casserole (Pam's Mashed Potato Casserole) thanks for sharing this hon, I look forward to making this again soon!...Kitten:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2005

      WELL!!! I am impressed. after years of loving trout and doing the usual: fried, baked with rice, etc etc, I decided to dedicate 3 lovely little trout to this recipe. I didnt have celery, and I dont like parsley, so they didnt make it to the pot. I didnt have italian bread, so I used italian herbs instead of oregano. Did it like the recipe, overlapped the trout on the stuffing, thought the cooking time was way too long: but it wasnt. Used "spek" instead of bacon, (vetspek pets calls it, fairly fatty, but very thin) It was wonderful!!! because of the long cooking, it had a stronger fish taste, and my husband and I both loved it!!! The fishy flavoured bread pudding base was wonderful by itself!! I didnt think it looked that good, as the skin was a little dry looking, but the taste made up for the looks!! I will make this often in the future, thanks Bev

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      I am always looking for different ways to cook trout because I catch a lot of them and too much of anything can become boring. I was expecting the combination of flavors from the trout, bacon, soy sauce, lemon, and spices to be exciting but, unfortunately, was disappointed. The fish tastes great (it's hard to beat fresh caught trout) but we found the stuffing to be too bland for our tastes. If I made it again I would experiment with more spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      I had high hopes for this recipe but it just wasn't to our taste. My husband doesn't eat red meat so we didn't use the bacon.....maybe that's what makes the difference....but it seems to me it should have been good without the bacon and it wasn't. It was just too bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      This was a flavorful dish. The only thing I would do differently next time would be to leave off the flour. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      First I have to say I misread "Italian Bread Cubes" for bread crumbs, so my stuffing came out with a different texture. I had to use a bit of chicken broth to moisten the bread crumbs enough so they wouldn't be dry. Other than that I used the exact ingredients as you listed. I had a 3.5lb Brown Trout I filayed (sp), so Ihad nice big fillets to lay on top of the stuffing. This was rather easy to make. Very tasty. The chabis gave the stuffing a really nice flavour and the soy/lemon mixture along with the bacon flavor paired well with the dressing. There was a lot of flavor going on in this dish. A recipe worth making again, as I have more trout in the freezer. One thing I would like to add is: In the list of ingredients you don't say exactly how much butter. "1/4 butter". 1/4 cup? Stick?. Also the Parsley. 1/4 cup or 1/4 tsp? 1/4 bunch of Parsley. I used 1/4 stick of butter and 1/4 cup chopped parsley. Thank for a delcious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      I used whole trout for this recipe. And because I made more of the stuffing than needed I placed the rainbow trout on the rest of the stuffing. The whole trout on the stuffing made such a nice presentation. My fish was done in about 45 minutes (I remove the cover after 30 minutes). The fish was perfect. The flavours of the delicate fish were not overhelmed by the other flavours. And the stuffing was surprisingly different. I like the "bread" character of the stuffing, but maybe I have used a bit too much bread (forget to measure). But anyway, it was great. Thanks for sharing such a great and easy to make fish recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      This was really really great. My version of it was a bit different though. I started out with a long filet rather than a whole fish. I made the stuffing mostly as directed, but instead of using italian bread, I used a poppyseed onion french loaf. I also had no parsley on hand, so I used rosemary instead. On the fish itself, I had no flour so I used a comination of dried sage, dried thyme, dried marjoram, and ground pepper. I just drizzled the soy/lemon mixture over the filet and baked. The fish came out incredibly tender and the combination of textures between the bacon and trout was unbelievable! I think i probably used a bit too much of the soy/lemon sauce, though, because the areas around the filet itself ended up a bit soggy, so that's something that I'll work on next time. Thanks for the recipe, Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stuffed Rainbow Trout

    Serving Size: 1 (331 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 549.6
     
    Calories from Fat 267
    48%
    Total Fat 29.7 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 211.2 mg
    70%
    Sodium 1116.7 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 51.8 g
    103%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Italian bread

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites