Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2008

      These were very good. I added some crumbled blue cheese to the cream cheese. It needed to be used up and I thought it might add a little extra flavor. Instead of bacon mixed in we sprinkled Bacos on top before baking. We have some vegetarians in our family. Bacos are made of soy, and the veggie bacon substitutes tend it get soft when mixed into somethings. My daughter didn't care for the cheese topping, but that may have been due to the blue cheese I added. Next time I will make it without and if we change her mind we'll make this a five star rating!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

      These were very good and RICH! We used baby portabellas, two 8 oz cartons. Used double the butter to saute the mushrooms since we had a bunch of little ones instead of big ones. We also had too much filling, probably once again because of the baby portabella size and shape. I think we could have made half the filling and been fine. Pushed them together and put the cheese on like a layer. Made better individual servings that way, but it didn't cut down on the amount I wanted to eat....YUM...... I think they could be an entree or side, or a filling part of a heavy hors-d'oeuves table, or with fruits, eggs and bread for a breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Delicious! I added chives in with the cream cheese and topped it with a cheddar/monteray jack mix and baked the mushrooms for 10 minutes. We ate about 1 1/2 each for a meal without side dishes. Quick and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      Consider this a mixed review. I loved it. DH didn't, even though he's usually a happy mushroom consumer. I used it as the entree; with green beans and red peppers on the side, french rolls, and a salad loaded with extras (olives, tomatoes,beets, garbanzos, etc.) DH didn't go hungry but only ate half his mushroom and when asked if he minded my using the rest for lunch at work made a face and told me he wouldn't miss them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      Very tasty! I love the cream cheese and bacon flavor mixture. I'm thinking that some green onions would be tasty too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      This is a wonderful recipe! I did chop the stems and minced fresh garlic and added to the cheese mixture. Sprinkled with parsley for a grand appearance! :-) Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2004

      Wow these are rich and soooo good. Portobellos are kind of the "meat" of mushrooms and with the addition of the cheese and bacon these are very filling. Definitely substantial enough for a main dish. I see no problem if one wanted to leave out the bacon to make it more vegetarian friendly. I was thinking spinach may be an interesting addition to this....hmmmmmmmmm LOL :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2004

      Absolutely wonderful. Had to use a full stick of butter because my mushrooms were huge. Was very tempted to add to the ingrediants, but didn't. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2004

      These are addictive! I'm Somersizing & this fit the bill. Tastes like a baked potato with the "works". Will be fixing again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2004

      Can't believe I just got around to reviewing this...made this recipe for a french bistro dinner back in May or June as an appetizer, and it was just scrumptious. I was doubtful about the cream cheese (seemed like a lot), but all the flavors melded together perfectly. I also used aged provolone, to great results, and made the recipe exactly as written. It's a winner, and one that DH has already asked for again. Note though, that the cream cheese mixture may be a bit stiff - I initially tried to use a spatula, but got better results spreading the mixture into the caps with a butter knife. This is wonderful, and really does not taste as rich as you might think - it is just a nice, deep, savory flavor that would suit a variety of menus as an appetizer/first course. Thanks, Mean Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      Just what I wanted to round out my Brunch menu. I used aged Provolone - I like the mild smokey flavor and it is easier to grate than the 2- 3 month cheese. cut back a little on the cream cheese. One person does not eat meat so in her Portabellas I omitted the bacon & added garlic. Worked well but I know the bacon ones were better. Served with individual omelettes filled with Hot Italian sausage, sauted tomato, onion mixed peppers including a little hot jalapeno. crunchy potato patties on the side and fresh hot scones with homemade jam. Thanks Mean Chef for an excellent mushroom recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2003

      Made this as an appetizer for dinner party - folks that would NEVER eat a mushroom were amazed to hear what it was. I like springing things on people to have them taste before they "predetermine" they aren't going to like it. Best recipe I have ever found for Portobello's - Don't hesitate to make this one. Did use 1 stick of butter and 1 cup of cheese (had giant caps).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      I made these this week and got rave reviews. My mom asked for the recipe and said she will be making these for sure. I am on a low-carb diet and will make this as a side to steak. It's like a baked stuffed potato. YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2003

      YUM! The addition of the cream cheese in this recipe made this for me. Love the creamy texture along with the crispy bacon bits. I used mozzarella cheese and will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.2
     
    Calories from Fat 228
    85%
    Total Fat 25.4 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 14.2 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 73.0 mg
    24%
    Sodium 299.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites