14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were very good. I added some crumbled blue cheese to the cream cheese. It needed to be used up and I thought it might add a little extra flavor. Instead of bacon mixed in we sprinkled Bacos on top before baking. We have some vegetarians in our family. Bacos are made of soy, and the veggie bacon substitutes tend it get soft when mixed into somethings. My daughter didn't care for the cheese topping, but that may have been due to the blue cheese I added. Next time I will make it without and if we change her mind we'll make this a five star rating!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom June 02, 2008

These were very good and RICH! We used baby portabellas, two 8 oz cartons. Used double the butter to saute the mushrooms since we had a bunch of little ones instead of big ones. We also had too much filling, probably once again because of the baby portabella size and shape. I think we could have made half the filling and been fine. Pushed them together and put the cheese on like a layer. Made better individual servings that way, but it didn't cut down on the amount I wanted to eat....YUM...... I think they could be an entree or side, or a filling part of a heavy hors-d'oeuves table, or with fruits, eggs and bread for a breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4theFamily April 27, 2012

Delicious! I added chives in with the cream cheese and topped it with a cheddar/monteray jack mix and baked the mushrooms for 10 minutes. We ate about 1 1/2 each for a meal without side dishes. Quick and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrandBendJen May 20, 2010

Consider this a mixed review. I loved it. DH didn't, even though he's usually a happy mushroom consumer. I used it as the entree; with green beans and red peppers on the side, french rolls, and a salad loaded with extras (olives, tomatoes,beets, garbanzos, etc.) DH didn't go hungry but only ate half his mushroom and when asked if he minded my using the rest for lunch at work made a face and told me he wouldn't miss them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catte Nappe November 03, 2005

Very tasty! I love the cream cheese and bacon flavor mixture. I'm thinking that some green onions would be tasty too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl October 17, 2005

This is a wonderful recipe! I did chop the stems and minced fresh garlic and added to the cheese mixture. Sprinkled with parsley for a grand appearance! :-) Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kerrysdancin October 16, 2005

Wow these are rich and soooo good. Portobellos are kind of the "meat" of mushrooms and with the addition of the cheese and bacon these are very filling. Definitely substantial enough for a main dish. I see no problem if one wanted to leave out the bacon to make it more vegetarian friendly. I was thinking spinach may be an interesting addition to this....hmmmmmmmmm LOL :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Shelly* November 23, 2004

Absolutely wonderful. Had to use a full stick of butter because my mushrooms were huge. Was very tempted to add to the ingrediants, but didn't. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ October 17, 2004

These are addictive! I'm Somersizing & this fit the bill. Tastes like a baked potato with the "works". Will be fixing again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzybob September 28, 2004

Can't believe I just got around to reviewing this...made this recipe for a french bistro dinner back in May or June as an appetizer, and it was just scrumptious. I was doubtful about the cream cheese (seemed like a lot), but all the flavors melded together perfectly. I also used aged provolone, to great results, and made the recipe exactly as written. It's a winner, and one that DH has already asked for again. Note though, that the cream cheese mixture may be a bit stiff - I initially tried to use a spatula, but got better results spreading the mixture into the caps with a butter knife. This is wonderful, and really does not taste as rich as you might think - it is just a nice, deep, savory flavor that would suit a variety of menus as an appetizer/first course. Thanks, Mean Chef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette August 01, 2004
Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms