38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very, very nice! The spices in the meat mixture are just right and the tomato topping is excellent. Next time, however, I believe I will add about 1/3 cup of raw rice, as I found them to be a bit too "dense". The only thing I did different was NOT to blanche the peppers, and they turned out beautifully. I sprinkled the insides of the peppers with a bit of salt and turned them upside-down to drain. I plan on doing this recipe as a meatloaf with the tomato topping. Thank you, Andi, this is an excellent recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwen35 March 14, 2009

Very good recipe. I used the suggestion to substitute 1/3c raw rice for the breadcrumbs since we are eating gluten-free, but next time I think I will use cooked rice for the convenience. With the hamburger mixture left over, I molded it into a loaf and cooked it on the same sheet as the peppers. It turned out beautifully and now I have two meals. Thank you for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crisci October 06, 2010

Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bjoyful10 April 07, 2011

I'm still giving this 4 stars becuase I think the recipe is great. I found the spices (i.e. pepper) to be a little overpowering and I will reduce the amount next time. It was still great, and freezes well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin Riger January 14, 2011

Basically made it as written but used rice as others stated. It was wonderful. I will definately make these again. I will also try to freeze for oamc. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaWeb5ter November 19, 2010

Best stuffed peppers I've made so far! :) The sauce ingredients sounded strange, but it ended up tasting excellent!! I had extra stuffing so I mixed it with the sauce on top and around peppers. Wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wink2124 November 03, 2010

These were great! I had a giant pepper so cut it in half and stuffed them that way, which worked well, and they cooked through fine. Great flavor. The only thing that was hard for me was the number of ingredients - trying to make this with 2 kids running around is a little hard. But definitely worth it! Making up the sauce ahead of time would help - or even making these and freezing for later. Would make the meat/sauce as meatballs or meatloaf again as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jswinks August 23, 2010

These were wonderful. I left out the red pepper flakes...personal preference...they were so good. Better yet, my DH loved them too. :) Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jentry November 27, 2008

Very good, I was surprised at the ingredients in the sauce but I liked it! I did sub the bread crumbs for oatmeal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChiefCook&BottleWasher September 30, 2008

My first experience with stuffed peppers and we loved them. I made everything as directed except I used the whole can of tomato sauce (Didn't want to waste it) Well, and I also used green and red peppers, which is what I had. The flavor of the meat was great and I loved the sauce. Thanks Andi.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ January 04, 2008
Stuffed Peppers