123 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks for a great and easy recipe. We really enjoyed this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie December 31, 2008

Great recipe! Other times I have attempted stuffed mushrooms, they came out grainy from the dry breadcrumbs. This recipe was easy, moist, and delicious. I made these on Christmas eve and Christmas day. Thanks MaeEast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crabby cook December 26, 2008

These were really good. I wanted a stuffed mushroom that didn't use cream cheese and this worked out great! I did find that the bacon needs to be browned first before adding the onion, etc. By doing that, I didn't need to add butter or olive oil or drain the mixture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA November 28, 2008

I didn't rate this recipe, because I didn't follow the recipe correctly. Mine looked beautiful, but were too dry to eat. I think the soft breadcrumbs must be the key. I used regular italian bread crumbs from a can, so the stuffing was grain-y. It also might have helped if I had covered them, but I didn't read the other reviews before making them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tolu Girl November 23, 2008

Easy and Delicious! I had a lb. of large button mushrooms so I only got about 10 appetizers. Because they were so large, I cooked them covered for 10 minutes and then uncovered for 10 minutes more. They were perfect and enjoyed by all. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. September 01, 2008

These were very tasty! We had them for dinner last night with pasta and salad. I used smoked gouda for the cheese which worked very well. My family loved it! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forthefunofit August 30, 2008

DS at the Beach this Labor Day Weekend, DH wanted stuffed mushrooms as dinner, our DS has never requested them.....found this recipe - only changes I made were that I used Parm. cheese, panko breadcrumbs and added some of the stems from the mushrooms in the mixture of bacon, onion and garlic. I used pre-packaged baby portabella mushrooms. I used the edge of a steel 1/8th teaspoon to gently scoop out extra mushroom "insides" so I would have more room for the stuffing. DH commented that our DS would love them too. I'll make them for him, just another way to enhcourage him to eat vegetables. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslulu August 30, 2008

This was a lovely stuffing for mushrooms and really tasty and easy to prepare. My only problem was that I used extremely large portobellas and they didn't cook enough. So while the stuffing was golden brown, melted and delicious the mushrooms were still quite raw after 25 minutes. I would definitely recommend button mushrooms or baby bellas. Edited to add: I made this with small button mushrooms and it worked perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook August 08, 2008

Delicious. Wouldn't change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara_hearts July 01, 2008

Made these for a party and they were gone in less than 30 minutes. I had to steal one off someone's plate just to get to try ONE. Yummy! I will definitley make these again and again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
italianscallion June 25, 2008
Stuffed Mushrooms