123 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love to make stuffed mushrooms on special occasions. These are much better than what I used to make. The only change I made to the recipe was fresh grated parmesan cheese instead of the mozzerella cheese. Thank you MaeEast for making our holiday munchies even better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJM November 27, 2003

My wife and I omitted the bacon and used oil to saute. We also substituted fresh shredded parmasean for the mozzarella because we didn't have any mozzarella. We only used eight medium sized mushrooms so we cut down the ingredients but the outcome was wonderful. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David Magazu April 23, 2003

What more can I add? These were fantastic. Will make this many times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka October 09, 2014

I liked it. Wished I'd had bacon. Had to sub pepperoni...then I was thinking chopped sausage may have been a better alternative. I did add a little cooking wine for more flavor. And I'd advise doubling the spices if you're like me. Drizzled with olive oil before cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em January 09, 2014

Made these on a whim after my husband showed up with 2 boxes of mushrooms (thanks to the generous folks at TOJO) a day before our family christmas party. They were beautiful and a big hit. I saved the stems for another use as per other reviewers suggestions. Also as some commented the filling was a bit dry and it did seem to be, I added a smidge of tomato sauce and extra cheese on top before baking. I did bake them a bit longer than the recipe states.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 January 08, 2014

I made it many times already and party guests absolutely love them. I omitted the bacon and instead of bread crumbs, I used Stove Top stuffing. I don't follow ingredients exactly and the flavor always turn out great. Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayarich January 04, 2014

Delicio! We had these with unmeasured amounts of all the ingredients along with cream cheese and they were wonderful. I will make these because all the ingredients are easily found and in the pantry. We all (five of us) loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marymelissamck June 19, 2013

We LOVED these mushrooms. I started with huge mushrooms and not entirely sure how long I cooked them as they were in the oven with other goodies and I just pulled them out when I was ready for them. I wouldn't change a thing except with the bacon rendering I didn't need butter or oil. I used to love crab stuffed mushrooms but these are way better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShelliCanCook June 16, 2013

great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brownstone gal June 10, 2013

The mushrooms turned out great! Crispy and tender. Anyone have a suggestion for reducing the amount of mushroom liquid that runs out though?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monkeyexistent May 28, 2013
Stuffed Mushrooms