Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stuffed Mushrooms

    Average Rating:

    123 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 123

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2011

      Took these to a wine and appetizer pairing our friends hosted just for fun, and this dish won first prize! I did make several changes based on preference and availability. One guest needed gluten free, so instead of breadcrumbs I added savory thins, reduced to 1/3 cup. I also used a good peppered turkey bacon and cooked it ahead of time. I added red pepper to the recipe, and sauteed it with shallots, extra garlic, and about half the stems (froze the rest for future use) in olive oil and a touch of wine. For the seasoning I used Italian seasoning and a pinch of cayenne. I used smoked gouda for the cheese since I had it on hand. Finally, I drizzled olive oil over the mushrooms before baking at 375 for 15 minutes. Thanks Mae, for an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      Absolutely love this appetizer! The only problem is that it takes me a while to prep and they're gone so fast! I add a little bit of wine to the mix for flavor and use a ziplock bag to stuff. So tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      This recipe is great if you like raw mushrooms. But, if you're a normal person who likes their food cooked thoroughly, you will need to double the cooking time. After 10 minutes the mushrooms are still raw from the bottom up about halfway. I used normal, perhaps even slightly smallish mushrooms, so the size or thickness was not the issue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      This was an easy recipe to follow and I found these stuffed mushrooms to be excellent. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      Made as directed, with the small modification of frying the bacon beforehand as mentioned by another reviewer. These were very very yummy!!! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Really great mushrooms. We were tired of the old crabmeat stuffed mushrooms and found this very rich and very tasty. Borrowed tip from 1 reviewer, which was to cook bacon first and then sautee onions and stems in bacon drippings. Will make again! Posted picture today but it's not up yet. In addition to being very tasty, they are pretty! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      These were good... I made them exactly as stated in the recipe. I used butter to saute and I also used fresh breadcrumbs (french bread in my food processor). I'm not going to say that they were great because I really thought they lacked something. I think they could use a bit more dimension with a richer flavor to add some complexity. I was thinking maybe adding a little sherry to the saute mixture? Just SOMETHING to make it a bit more special. Thanks for the recipe... I'll update if I make any adjustments next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      I had been using another recipe for years and tried this one for a change. My whole family said they were better than the ones I usually make! We used store bread crumbs the first time and it was good, but with soft fresh breadcrumbs it was even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2003

      These little gems are truly wonderful. I made these as you directed except for using olive oil to saute. I added bacon pieces that were already cooked in my freezer. We really enjoyed this great tasing side dish. Thanks, Mae for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      AH-MAZING... These are so good. I think I used more cheese than the recipe called for but you can never have too much cheese right? I will definitely make these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Quite good. Some of my guests loved them, others...well, not so much. I liked them but will do a few things differently next time I make them. First, I'll cook the bacon separately until crispy and then crumble it. Then cook the veggies only adding back in the bacon when the veggies are done. I'll also not cook the stems for this recipe but save them to use in omelets, etc. I ended up with way more stuffing than I needed for the mushrooms and would rather have the stems for other things. But, gosh, they are good and, with these tweaks, I think they'll become a regular part of my entertaining repertoire. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      When I cooked them, they dried out a bit and were bland. Next time, I'm going to try tossing them in olive oil first and add more salt and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2003

      Thank you MaeEast for a much enjoyed recipe! I was searching for a means to use up an abundance of mushrooms and your recipe did the job. However, I will confess to making a mistake. I accidentally added a teaspoon of the oregano instead. I was sure that I had ruined the entire recipe, but, thankfully it was still great! Good job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      I made these for Thanksgiving, I doubled the recipe and I did good get one myself! Wow, are they good. I sprinkled a little parmesan on top before I baked them and cooked them a little longer than suggested. I'm sure I will be making these for Christmas too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      These weren't the best. I used mozzarella with sun dried tomatoes, and maybe that was the problem, I don't know. I think I also prefer mine with sausage instead of bacon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      I love stuffed mushrooms and this recipe is another reason why. This is easy and lots of great flavor. If you can get some really good smokey bacon from your local market it's worth the money on this..major wow factor if your making for company.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      JUST finished cooking for Thanksgiving appetizer... Yum, yum, yum! I think this will be added to our holiday appetizer list from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      My family LOVED these. I do not care for mushrooms at all because of the texture but the smell of these while cooking made me want to try one when they were done! (filling was excellent - still could not get over the texture of the mushrrom though..lol) Thanx my husband has requested these 3 times since I made them!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      I'm not the stuffed mushroom fanatic of the family. My son is... He liked them. I tried one. I didn't have ground oregano so I put about 3/4 teaspoon of dried oregano leaves in there and I thought that it was a bit much and overpowered the other ingredients. I think that they would have been off of the charts had I not put so much oregano in them. Thanks for the recipe! Oh and by the way I threw the bacon, onion, and garlic in a food processor and pulsed it a few times then cooked it about 10 minutes to get the bacon done.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2003

      My wife and I went to a Thanksgiving day dinner at our friends' house. A few of us brought dishes to add to the feast. This was my contribution. I hate to chop, so I diced things up nicely, then plopped them all in the food-processing attachment of my stick blender and cranked it up. The result was a rich paste that I scooted around the skillet for a while and then drained through a coffee filter and a wire strainer. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a 'T'. It was a complete success. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stuffed Mushrooms

    Serving Size: 1 (698 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 18.3
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    53%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 46.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites