123 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Took these to a wine and appetizer pairing our friends hosted just for fun, and this dish won first prize! I did make several changes based on preference and availability. One guest needed gluten free, so instead of breadcrumbs I added savory thins, reduced to 1/3 cup. I also used a good peppered turkey bacon and cooked it ahead of time. I added red pepper to the recipe, and sauteed it with shallots, extra garlic, and about half the stems (froze the rest for future use) in olive oil and a touch of wine. For the seasoning I used Italian seasoning and a pinch of cayenne. I used smoked gouda for the cheese since I had it on hand. Finally, I drizzled olive oil over the mushrooms before baking at 375 for 15 minutes. Thanks Mae, for an excellent recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas Wine Girl March 22, 2011

Absolutely love this appetizer! The only problem is that it takes me a while to prep and they're gone so fast! I add a little bit of wine to the mix for flavor and use a ziplock bag to stuff. So tasty!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlechick December 22, 2010

This recipe is great if you like raw mushrooms. But, if you're a normal person who likes their food cooked thoroughly, you will need to double the cooking time. After 10 minutes the mushrooms are still raw from the bottom up about halfway. I used normal, perhaps even slightly smallish mushrooms, so the size or thickness was not the issue.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hiram81 February 26, 2011

Made as directed, with the small modification of frying the bacon beforehand as mentioned by another reviewer. These were very very yummy!!! Thanks for the recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spartanfish September 11, 2010

Really great mushrooms. We were tired of the old crabmeat stuffed mushrooms and found this very rich and very tasty. Borrowed tip from 1 reviewer, which was to cook bacon first and then sautee onions and stems in bacon drippings. Will make again! Posted picture today but it's not up yet. In addition to being very tasty, they are pretty! Thanks for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixie735 August 01, 2010

This was an easy recipe to follow and I found these stuffed mushrooms to be excellent. Thanks for sharing

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erica @ Food.com November 03, 2010

These were good... I made them exactly as stated in the recipe. I used butter to saute and I also used fresh breadcrumbs (french bread in my food processor). I'm not going to say that they were great because I really thought they lacked something. I think they could use a bit more dimension with a richer flavor to add some complexity. I was thinking maybe adding a little sherry to the saute mixture? Just SOMETHING to make it a bit more special. Thanks for the recipe... I'll update if I make any adjustments next time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dans La Lune December 25, 2007

I had been using another recipe for years and tried this one for a change. My whole family said they were better than the ones I usually make! We used store bread crumbs the first time and it was good, but with soft fresh breadcrumbs it was even better.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buddy3229 November 14, 2007

These little gems are truly wonderful. I made these as you directed except for using olive oil to saute. I added bacon pieces that were already cooked in my freezer. We really enjoyed this great tasing side dish. Thanks, Mae for sharing the recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie July 18, 2003

AH-MAZING... These are so good. I think I used more cheese than the recipe called for but you can never have too much cheese right? I will definitely make these again and again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia Cherry Blossom June 06, 2010
Stuffed Mushrooms