22 Reviews

This was a great recipe. The only thing I changed was I used a mixed italian cheese insted of the chedder. I used Borilla garlic and mushrooms sauce, which has outstanding flavor. I also topped with fresh italian flat leaf parsley. I will make this recipe again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady Amazon March 31, 2008

The recipe was De-licious! I added sausage to my spaghetti sauce and fresh basil. I also used a lot more sauce than it called for since I don't pre-cook my manicotti and I don't like it to dry out. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
S-L-P December 27, 2007

This recipe came out very nicely, and my family was pleased with the results! I did double the recipe and add an additional egg since I also added another container of mozzarella since one reviewer had mentioned the lack of filling. It was a perfect addition. I also did add some basil and oregano as well to the cheese mixture and we loved the dish. Very nice manicotti recipe and like a previous reviewer, I would suggest a pasty bag with a longer tip to make filling a lot less messy and less time consuming. Thank you for a great manicotti dish! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*OzMan* August 10, 2007

Made this the other day... ;) it was absolutely wonderful!!! :) An easy and simple way to make original manicotti! :) Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maria Azul January 29, 2007

Big disapointment for us. There isn't enough filling to fill up 12 manicotti. I could only get 8 and they were only half filled. The filling was runny and the delicate flavor of the ricotta was lost among the cheddar.. I don't understand the part about putting half the ricotta on top of the half filled tubes, it just turned out to be a mushy mess, kinda like a cheese lasagna but not enough cheese. The flavor wasn't offensive, but it certainly wasn't the delicious ricotta stuffing I've had before. I double-checked the recipe and I did do it exactly as written. I had such high hopes because of all the previous ratings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Debs of Colorado February 17, 2005

Made this a few months ago and am only getting around to reviewing it now. What a GREAT recipe. This was my first time ever cooking with manicotti and I can guarantee that it wont be my last. My mom LOVED this recipe. I used my oen homemade spaghetti sauce. Using a baggie or a pastry bag to stuff the shells is a MUST. It would be WAAYY messy otherwise. Thank you for such an awesome recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BirdyBaker January 21, 2005

Great recipe!! I left out the cheddar cheese and doubled the mozzarella cheese. The cheddar just didn't make this recipe sound very good to me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawne December 30, 2004

Excellent base recipe for Baked Manicotti! I doubled the recipe as I like to make extra for future meals and just froze the stuffed shells. Only thing I omitted was the Cheddar Cheese as my Italian DH would just die if I ever mixed fresh ricotta with cheddar cheese. I definately recommend if you make this dish, please use fresh ricotta it really does make a difference in taste. I added 1 lb. each of ground beef & pork as my picky DS will only eat stuffed pasta if there is meat sauce. I also added 1/2 tsp. of Onion powder as we enjoy the flavor. I took two pictures of the recipe, one is of the manicotti stuffed and the other is of the dish assembled prior to baking. I forgot to take a picture of the end result as we were all TOO HUNGRY to wait for me to take the picture. Will submit one when I make this dish again and I definately will as this is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chippie1 October 07, 2004

My family loved this recipe. I added 8 oz. of cooked, canned chicken breast (shredded with a fork) to the ricotta mixture before filling the shells. The leftovers were eaten for lunch on the following afternoon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K-Syrah Syrah May 19, 2004

This was a hit with all members of my family. I cooked a package of frozen spinach and added it to the ricotta mixture for stuffing the shells and it turned out great. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mermaid July 21, 2003
Stuffed Manicotti