11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've been looking for a recipe to use my jar of sauerkraut in the pantry. (HINT: Squish all of the juice out of your sauerkraut by straining through a seive over a bowl-put a piece of waxed paper on the kraut and set a large heavy can or bottle on top for about 10 minutes to help squeeze.) I also used turkey sausage and lowfat Kraft italian shredded cheese. I served mine with baked beans (right from the can) and the taste was surprisingly delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jVo November 16, 2007

I haven't actually made this yet but it looks delicious. It will be made in the next few days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April1 September 01, 2009

Add bacon on top of cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chesonis November 06, 2008

This is delicious and very easy. I followed the directions as written, but used turkey kielbasa to cut down on the calories a little bit. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ September 25, 2008

This was really good. I skipped the sauerkraut, because no one here likes them but me. I subbed carmelized onions. I also used homemade potatoes. Be careful not to oversalt your potatoes. Next time I will use cheddar as well, as the mozzarella didn't add any flavor. Very good overall though.*** 7-10-08 Tried this with PepperJack cheese and holy moly. This was so good. I still skipped the kraut this time. I've had it with the kraut, and it's delish that way too. Upping this to five stars because of how much I loved dinner tonight. I've used this recipe several times. It's fast, easy and YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth July 10, 2008

Oh yum! I used turkey sausage too and only put the sourkraut on mine...also used fat free cheese. I used Country Crock already made loaded potatoes. This was so good! We all liked it. Thanks for posting!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mydesigirl August 22, 2007

It's not often my DH rates a dish as "OUTSTANDING"! This went together in a flash and had plenty of flavor. I did use Turkey Kielbasa and Vermont Style White Cheddar since it's DH's favorite and what I had on hand. Thanks surus for a great tasting, easy and quick one pan meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greffete April 11, 2007

The other night I was trying to figure out what to do with some leftover mashed potatoes and some kielbasa, and ta-da!! I used caramelized onions instead of sauerkraut, and we used cheddar cheese since that what we had on hand. Delicious! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brynnak December 21, 2006

Quick, easy and hearty. Will make again! I used turkey kielbasa and did not boil - no need to reduce fat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA November 11, 2006

I doubled the recipe and used turkey kielbasa. I stuffed half w/sauerkraut and potatoes and the other half w/just potatoes. These were a big hit. My 20 month great-grandson loved 'em too. Thanks for another way to cook turkey kielbasa Surus. PS Used cheddar cheese also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thellie October 24, 2006
Stuffed Kielbasa