13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The best soup I have ever eaten...the vinegar makes it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherry1246 December 11, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this soup. It's a bit on the sweet side, and I was surprised when my husband took his first sip of the soup, and didn't add any Tabasco to it (like he usually does when I make soups that have a tomato base to it). Hubby said it was very good made as is. The next day when I reheated the soup, I found I needed to add some liquid to it, so I poured in a bit 'Spicy Hot' V-8 Low-Sodium Vegetable Juice. The small amount I added, didn't make the soup spicy or hot, but it did take away a bit of the sweetness to it. The soup still tasted wonderful, and we certainly enjoyed the leftovers. I did want to mention... when making this soup, I did use 1-lb. of ground venison, 1-lb. (85% lean) ground beef, a mix of red & orange chopped bell peppers (2 cups), 1-(32 oz.) box beef broth, plus I used a 1/2 teaspoon each: table salt, seasoned salt, and white pepper. By the way... I found it only takes 30 minutes to cook the rice, so that's how long I simmered this soup. Marmie, this soup is quite tasty, and I look forward to making it again. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1DomesticGoddess February 10, 2015

I halve the recipe since there are only 2 of us. Making another batch for some elderly friends and my MIL. This is delicious and very easy. It does get better the 2nd day, if it lasts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sal from Maine February 03, 2013

Really good, hearty soup! Definitely use the parmesan cheese - takes it up a notch. I varied the method for the crockpot: mixed everything together except the rice & refrigerated over night, put in the crockpot for 8 hours, then added the rice once the soup was good & hot (about an hour into the cooking time).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb January 26, 2013

This soup was AMAZING! I really made this to freeze for my mother-in-law. She may be lucky to get some now. I didn't have beef broth so I used Better Than Bouillon with water and 2 cans of stewed tomatoes. This is definately a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VASMG November 02, 2011

This is an excellent soup!!! Made it today exactly as written and was very pleased. Makes LOTS of soup, so be prepared to freeze some

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debby H October 09, 2011

Oct.14, 2009. This recipe deserves at least 10 stars. (when I saw it as the Photo of the Day...just had to make it for lunch today!)
On cooking smells alone--it deserves 5 stars. Taste just like a stuffed pepper!!! :) Time shown on the recipe--perfect. I did add a bit more rice, tho. I can't wait until lunch tomorrow for the left-overs. Thanks Marmie, for tempting me with the photo and satisfying me with the soup.
Caroline
UPDATE: It's a cool and rainy day, so what must I have for lunch to warm my soul and feed my tummy? Marmie's fabulousO soup. This time I extracted a serving from Serves 2 size--then added the rice to only a serving and cooked until tender. Will add rice to the other serving for lunch tomorrow, so the rice doesn't soak up too much liquid overnight and get soggy. I'm so glad you posted this GO-TO delight!
October 10, 2010. It must be October, 'cause I had to have Marmie's awesome soup last weekend. So easy to make and, as always, TDF! Comfort food at it's best, AGAIN. :smile:

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks October 21, 2010

Awsome! Sometimes I'll add alittle tomato juice or V-8. But, it's great as it is. We're gonna need a bigger pot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slavamon May 22, 2010

Great soup which we loved! Made as written, except added a few more peppers because we like them. The only thing I will do differently next time is make it without the rice, and then serve over hot rice. We didn't care for the consistency the second day after refrigerating- the rice in the soup made it congeal or something. Will definitely make again with this change. Great flavor- just like a stuffed bell pepper! Thanks Marmie's, for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzTheQ February 26, 2010

I love this!! I haven't made stuffed bell peppers in years because they take too darn long, but I think about them often (ha!). I made the following changes: only used 1.5 lbs of meat, 1/2-pound of which was Italian sausage. Added a couple cloves of garlic, added some Tabasco sauce, and stirred about 1 cup cheddar cheese into the entire pot of soup. Also, I used brown rice. My boyfriend loved it too; he had two bowls after he said he was full.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn's Cookin' December 21, 2009
Stuffed Green Pepper Soup