19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If you're a stuffed cabbage lover, then don't miss this recipe. No need to spend hours cooking the cabbage, rolling the cabbage rolls and messing up the kitchen. This is the closest thing to the real thing with no fuss, no mess, Just the "GREATEST" Try it, You'll love it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rugman7 March 06, 2004

This tastes just like eating stuffed cabbage. I altered it a bit by using ground meat and garlic spices because my family likes to add garlic spices to regular stuffed cabbage and wanted the same taste. This was easy to make and a real winner in our house

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy K March 22, 2003

We also found this a little bland and too sweet, but I think it is a good base to play with. I also used hamburger because that is what I use for my stuffed cabbage. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon December 17, 2009

This really was very good. The only change I made was to brown the meat and transfer all to the crockpot and cook for about 4 hours. It was well recieved by the whole family.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Dragonflyjoy~ January 15, 2004

Wow! This was so simple and easy to make, yet it tasted like something that should have taken hours! A time saver and delicious at the same time - a winning combination!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi Bobeck February 24, 2003

Made this with 1 lb of ground meat because it is what I had on hand. It was really good. Tasted a lot like my mom's stuffed cabbage but in soup form. My hubby liked it as well. This is a keeper. :).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Funkymunky613 December 20, 2013

Yum! Very nice. I cut my stew beef quite small and browned it with a little pepper and minced garlic, used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes, and threw in some left over pizza sauce I had in the fridge (about 1/2 a can of tomato paste, 1/8 cup of red wine vinegar, 1/8 cup of water, and a little Italian seasoning). Also cut waaaay back on the brown sugar - only used about 1-2 tbsp. Tasty/tangy enough for my husband and I, and my 16 month old ate her portion without complaints.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CassiaDawn April 16, 2013

5 stars because my picky husband loves it. However i did change it a bit. here is what i did
1.5-2 lbs ground beef (not stew meat)
1/2 head of med head of cabbage (I bought it cheap around st. patty's day)
I didn't add the brown sugar- mainly because the hubs is a picky eater (gee I wonder where my oldest son gets it)
I also added black pepper and celery salt to taste along with italian seasoning and bay leaf

It tastes great and is nice an think when it is done. especially good if you like casseroley type dishes. if you want it more soupy, add more broth.and/or tomato.

I've actually had this in my play book for quite some time, but just remebered to review it because I just made it twice in the last month.!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlondeChick80 April 01, 2012

I'm not sure if I should rate this as I did change this a lot but I loved it. I used hamburger so I didn't use the oil. I used 35 ounces of water and 2 knorrs homestyle beef tubs. I then used 28 ounces of petite diced tomatoes and 2/3 cups of brown rice along with the coleslaw mix. I didn't add the lemon juice or sugar but did add the salt. I loved this. I ate it for lunch and dinner. Will be eating it for lunch tomorrow too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol February 12, 2012

I added oregano, bay leaf and a dash of olive oil. I used ground beef instead of stew beef since that is what I use for stuffed cabbage. I rated this three stars because my husband and I really liked it, but our children only ate their "try me" bites. Also, it really smelled like sauerkraut when it was cooking- not stuffed cabbage. I thought it tasted better the more I ate of it... sort of like scooping the sauce and any bits and pieces out of the stuffed cabbage pan. I probably won't make it again because of my kids. I was surprised that they wouldn't eat this because they like stuffed cabbage. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stanzacp January 17, 2008
Stuffed Cabbage Soup