Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stuffed Cabbage Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stuffed Cabbage Soup

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2004

      If you're a stuffed cabbage lover, then don't miss this recipe. No need to spend hours cooking the cabbage, rolling the cabbage rolls and messing up the kitchen. This is the closest thing to the real thing with no fuss, no mess, Just the "GREATEST" Try it, You'll love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2003

      This tastes just like eating stuffed cabbage. I altered it a bit by using ground meat and garlic spices because my family likes to add garlic spices to regular stuffed cabbage and wanted the same taste. This was easy to make and a real winner in our house

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      We also found this a little bland and too sweet, but I think it is a good base to play with. I also used hamburger because that is what I use for my stuffed cabbage. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2004

      This really was very good. The only change I made was to brown the meat and transfer all to the crockpot and cook for about 4 hours. It was well recieved by the whole family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      Wow! This was so simple and easy to make, yet it tasted like something that should have taken hours! A time saver and delicious at the same time - a winning combination!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      Made this with 1 lb of ground meat because it is what I had on hand. It was really good. Tasted a lot like my mom's stuffed cabbage but in soup form. My hubby liked it as well. This is a keeper. :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      Yum! Very nice. I cut my stew beef quite small and browned it with a little pepper and minced garlic, used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes, and threw in some left over pizza sauce I had in the fridge (about 1/2 a can of tomato paste, 1/8 cup of red wine vinegar, 1/8 cup of water, and a little Italian seasoning). Also cut waaaay back on the brown sugar - only used about 1-2 tbsp. Tasty/tangy enough for my husband and I, and my 16 month old ate her portion without complaints.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      5 stars because my picky husband loves it. However i did change it a bit. here is what i did
      1.5-2 lbs ground beef (not stew meat)
      1/2 head of med head of cabbage (I bought it cheap around st. patty's day)
      I didn't add the brown sugar- mainly because the hubs is a picky eater (gee I wonder where my oldest son gets it)
      I also added black pepper and celery salt to taste along with italian seasoning and bay leaf

      It tastes great and is nice an think when it is done. especially good if you like casseroley type dishes. if you want it more soupy, add more broth.and/or tomato.

      I've actually had this in my play book for quite some time, but just remebered to review it because I just made it twice in the last month.!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      I'm not sure if I should rate this as I did change this a lot but I loved it. I used hamburger so I didn't use the oil. I used 35 ounces of water and 2 knorrs homestyle beef tubs. I then used 28 ounces of petite diced tomatoes and 2/3 cups of brown rice along with the coleslaw mix. I didn't add the lemon juice or sugar but did add the salt. I loved this. I ate it for lunch and dinner. Will be eating it for lunch tomorrow too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I added oregano, bay leaf and a dash of olive oil. I used ground beef instead of stew beef since that is what I use for stuffed cabbage. I rated this three stars because my husband and I really liked it, but our children only ate their "try me" bites. Also, it really smelled like sauerkraut when it was cooking- not stuffed cabbage. I thought it tasted better the more I ate of it... sort of like scooping the sauce and any bits and pieces out of the stuffed cabbage pan. I probably won't make it again because of my kids. I was surprised that they wouldn't eat this because they like stuffed cabbage. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      This soup was good but it seemed a little bland and missing something.I will definitely experiment with this recipe in the future. Don't know..oregano or a bay leaf..something..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2006

      YUM!!!! I made this just the other night and loved it! I used extra lean ground beef and NO brown sugar to make this a Core Weight Watchers soup. The grocery store had 10 oz bags of shredded cabbage and I had an extra cabbage in the fridge so I cut that one up in to pieces and added it to the soup. I liked that there were the thin shredded pieces and then the bigger pieces. I also used instant brown rice instead of white rice and a 28 oz can of San Marzano tomatoes which I cut up and added with the liquid....SO GOOD and VERY quick and easy!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      This just did not go over at all in my home....to sweet. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      Wonderful soup ! It was easy and delicious. Like Tom Collins, I added quite a bit more lemon juice: the juice of one lemon. I also used what I had (vegetable broth, ground turkey, and pizza sauce) This recipe can't be harmed. The soup is so savory. I will definitely make this recipe again. It tastes just like stuffed cabbage, but is MUCH easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      Everyone loved it. I used ground meat and added 3 cloves of grated garlic to the sauce (is it dinner without garlic??!!). Also, I had leftover rice which I added a bit too much of (should have thought ahead that 2/3 cup raw rice is only about 1 1/3 cup cooked rice) this time. Next time I'll be more careful not to overwhelm it with rice. Even so, it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      Another keeper...I as well used ground beef...I used a can of whole tomatos (chopped) instead of puree...I included 4 cloves of minced garlic...I found the soup to be a bit sweet and slightly lacking in taste, for me, so I added two more TBSP of lemon juice and a small can of tomato paste...That did it for me...Turned out to be a hearty, tasty and filling soup...It won't be a stranger at my house...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      Delicious alternative to all the work of making cabbage rolls. I made it and shared it with my friends and family, and now they are asking for the recipe! Yum. I too, used ground beef instead of stew meat. Seemed to work just fine. I also used the rice that you microwave for 90 seconds, only I just opened the bag and dumped. Really easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      I wish I could give this more than five stars. We made this four nights ago, and every night since then I have dreamed of having it again. The use of the coleslaw mix (vs. chopping up carrot and cabbages) is genius! In fact, I am no longer going to go through the trouble of making cabbage rolls because this had the exact taste as my cabbage rolls with only 15 minutes of actual prep/work time. You can't beat that! One change I made was to use ground beef instead of stew meat because that is what I use in my cabbage rolls and I was trying to replicate that taste. I liked the ground beef because every bite of soup had a little meat in it that way. Also, just to let everyone know...this soup is very sweet..so if you like that (and my family does) then use the recommended amount of brown sugar. If you don't like sweet tasting soups, then maybe cut back on the sugar. I wouldn't eliminate it because the sweet taste really complimented the other flavors in the soup. Either way, I cannot wait to make this again. Thank you SO MUCH for your contribution, Stephanie C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2004

      For stuffed cabbage lovers- a hearty, flavorful soup you can throw together and savor in less than an hour. I made some changes out of necessity, such as using a leaner cut of cubed beef and a shredded head of cabbage and also cut back the brown sugar to just a pinch, which was enough for us. If you don't have cubed beef, try ground beef. Very tasty, Stephanie C, I will be making this one again, winter isn't over quite yet in my neck of the woods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stuffed Cabbage Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (524 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 471.1
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    18%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 72.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1551.1 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.9 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 41.5 g
    166%
    Protein 33.3 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes