10 Reviews

This recipe was a hit at our Thanksgiving dinner and pretty darn good as a leftover. I will definitely cook it again. Next time, however, I will allow more time for preparation. We used skinless pheasant breasts, which turned out just fine and morel mushrooms instead of cremini mushrooms. I was a little unclear about whether or not to fry the bacon prior to wrapping it around the breasts, so decided just to warm it. After eating the dish, I think it was meant to be browned completely. Also, next time, I will crumble the bacon and mix it in with the stuffing. I will also consider reducing the amount of green onion in the stuffing or leaving it out completely- it was a little overpowering, in my opinion. I think the flavor of the garlic and the shallot was lost. Overall, though, very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tori #2 November 27, 2004

I hate to be the one dissenter after 9 positive reviews, but we ended up throwing 2 of the 4 away because they just weren't very good. The recipe doesn't say to use cooked bacon, so we didn't. Unfortunately this leaves the bacon soggy and limp. The sauce itself tasted strangely of olives, I think because of the salty brie. I didn't mind terribly, but my husband can't stand them. The dish was quite a bit of work and we had high hopes, so we were really disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz November 11, 2012

One of the best pheasant recipes I have found! We serve it at dinner parties & the guests are always WOWed! Something a fancy restaurant would serve up. The more you make it, the easier it gets. Have always cooked it w/bacon, but may try proscuitto next time. We have always used skinless meat. I've always heard that lean game meat needs to be cooked w/some kind of fat. Perhaps that is why they recommend with the skin or bacon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heyct January 25, 2011

My boyfriend belongs to a pheasant club and we are always searching new ways to cook the birds. I tried this recipe for a small dinner party last week and it was a huge hit. Several guests said it was the best pheasant they had ever had. The breasts I used were skinless, so I followed the recommendation of one reviewer, and wrapped them in proscuitto. Absolutely fabulous. The meat was tender, juicy, and flavorful. Will definitely keep this as a favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mfreschet February 10, 2010

Made this last night and Wow, was this good. I had Pheasant Breasts without skin so I piled the herb/cheese mixture on top of the breast and then wrapped the breast with proscuitto. I used the imported kind (totally worth it) and then I wrapped the whole thing in a pastry puff. Wow.... Big Hit

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Andrea M. October 29, 2009

Delicious! My friends and family requested we serve this at this year's New Year's Eve party.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joni T. December 30, 2008

Made this and loved it! I didn't wrap it in the puff pastry but in parma ham instead. Very moist, very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tulip-Fairy February 25, 2008

This turned out great! It was my first time making pheasant, and my boyfriend (the hunter)and I were quite pleased. I made a few changes based on what I had on hand: button mushrooms instead of creminis, onions instead of shallots. I also precooked the bacon and sauteed the mixture in the left over drippings. I will definately make this again - even just with chicken instead of pheasant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoctorMel March 29, 2006

We found the flavor of this dish first-rate. The recipe is a little putsy, but worth it. I think the bacon wrap is solely to keep the birds moist while baking. We wanted to make sure that the pheasants were completely done, so we extended the baking time for another 5 to 10 minutes. Very delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky J December 31, 2004
Stuffed Breast of Pheasant En Croute